We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you'd expect”

Abe's Motel and Fly Shop
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Navajo Dam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe's Motel and Fly Shop
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This place has become synonymous with the San Juan River in Navajo Dam. The motel is exactly what you'd expect for a 50 year old establishment. Everything was as clean as possible, but a bit run down. However, for use as a basecamp for fishing the beautiful San Juan River, it is just fine. The fly shop has everything you need and the staff was very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

The bathrooms are carpeted. Enough said? ...well, if not- yes, it smelled of urine and mold. How could it not?! You just can't sanitize a carpeted floor! Icky. A pro: the rooms are very large and the kitchenette area has a big sink. No frills- what you'd expect.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcat111777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 April 2017

Hello,

Just wanted to let you know that we have replaced the carpet in the bathrooms of many of our units to solid surface flooring material.

If you have any additional questions feel free to contact me directly at

g@sanjuanriver.com

Tight Lines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Just re-opened the resturant and the food was excellent. Rooms are just ok.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Terry34448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Pros: Good base to fish the San Juan River; good value for what you get

Cons: No frills at all. Everything dated and tired. On the other hand, this is what many fisherman including me expect.

Location: Near but not on the San Juan River.

Size of room: Varies from section to section. Room numbers in the 50's large (twin beds) where I stayed.

In room safe: None.

Kitchenette: Stove, oven, frig, and microwave; no utensils, plates, pots, pans, etc.

Beds & Linens: Stiff beds, marginal pillows, passable towels (~ old style gym quality)

Drawers: None.

Closet: None; rack to hang clothes in room.

Mirrors: Single one in the bathroom.

Bathroom: Small but functional; shower like phone booth but has incredible water pressure and lots of hot water; sink not separate from bathroom; virtually non-existent counterspace.

TV: A few cable channels with old TV's (not flat panel).

Cleanliness: Pasable considering this is a fisherman hangout.

Noise: Not a problem.

HVAC: Old style wall heater; no problem keeping room warm; swamp cooler; no smoke alarm or carbon monoxide detector in the room (other members of my party had them in their rooms).

Front desk: In the fly shop; friendly and helpful

Restaurant: Not open except during the summers. Fewer hours than in the past. Very limited eating options around area -- really only one place across the street.

WiFi: Available (free) but lots of problems with connectivity and download speed.

Phone: None in the room. Pay phone nearby. Very spotty cell coverage at best.

Pool: None. This is not a resort. It is simply a place to rest your head after hitting the river.

Parking: No problem; lots of space on gravel parking areas.

Room Tip: Book one of the more modern rooms (this a relative term for sure) away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Rooms are no frills. Shower so small you have to step outside of it if you drop the soap. Large place with lots of rooms, so ask to see another if you get a small room. They do have some good sized rooms which we needed to spread out all our fishing gear. There are nicer places around the area but you will pay more for them. Restaurant here has the best green chile cheeseburger around. Good breakfasts also.

Room Tip: Many choices available. Ask to see another if you are not happy for any reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I've stayed in a lot of rustic cabins in my life-time in Yellowstone, but I was expecting a no-frills room, just a place to lay my head and fish all day. I would put this in the same category, a no frills place to lay your head. Only diffenence is we had a TV and Yellowstone has the scenery. So, don't go down expecting comfort, just fising. Abe's Flyshop and Restaurant is the saving grace, good people in the fly shop and pretty good food for breakfast and dinner. Our room had a swamp cooler, which was actually pretty efficient for putting out the coolness, but noisy as swamp cooler go. So again, go for the excellent fishing and not for the luxury of a 5-star motel. I would bring extra soap and some heavier towels

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Rooms were very big which makes me wonder why they made the bathrooms so small. If you are a big guy you can not fit on the toilet. The toilet is surrounded by walls that are about 30 inches from each other. The shower is so small that you can't clean without opening up the shower pouring water all over the carpet. However designed the bathroom was an idiot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank superbowl3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Abe's Motel and Fly Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe's Motel and Fly Shop

Address: 1791 Highway 173, Navajo Dam, NM 87419-9712
Region: United States > New Mexico > Navajo Dam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Navajo Dam
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe's Motel and Fly Shop has been on the San Juan River since 1958. We also have a comfortable lounge, motel, restaurant, RV / trailer park, boat storage facilities, and a grocery store. We were the first to explore the river for trout fishing, the first to guide on the river, and the first to fly fish the San Juan in winter months. Born 'n' Raised Guided Fly fishing Adventures offers wading or float excursions on the river, for a successful and memorable fly fishing adventure! We are a family owned and operated business ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abe`s Motel And Fly Shop Hotel Navajo Dam
Abes Hotel Navajo Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing