We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Paradise”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

it was our 1st time there, the staff was excellent, the room was beautiful and the whole resort was great. We did it all the private pool, the mud bath and all the other pools, I liked the soda pool. when my husband and I left there it was like we had fallen in love all over again. This resort does have special healing powers. We will be back soon and have told everybody we know to go there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    335
    107
    62
    49
See reviews for
156
609
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

After reading various reviews we were somewhat apprehensive about this place. However, our experience was 100% positive. In terms of accommodations, we stayed in the old hotel. There seem to be other, more upscale types of accommodation available, if you want a shower in your room or something newer. We cannot comment on the quality of those accommodations. The old hotel is basic, with in-room ½ bath, clean, comfortable and atmospheric. Our dinner at the restaurant was very good – even in Santa Fe we would consider it a Southwestern-style treat, and the price was quite reasonable for this type of preparation.

We did not use any special SPA services, but spent two half-days soaking in various mineral pools and luxuriating in the hammocks in beautiful outdoor scenery. The grounds are very clean with nice vegetation and gardens. Other people using the pools were friendly and relatively quiet (not all adhere to “whisper only” signs). Fortunately for us during a May weekday, it wasn’t very crowded but we heard from the local users that at times the pools are too crowded to be enjoyable. We also had the impression from other reviewers that the staff are not helpful nor friendly. We had an excellent experience with the staff, although we did not have any problems for them to resolve, nor any special requests of them.
We think that this is an excellent overnight stop when travelling through New Mexico – we would gladly visit again.

Room Tip: The old hotel is charming and, well, it's old. If you must have your own shower, opt for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMOK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughtful review of your recent stay at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are pleased to know that your experience was a positive one!

It is true that the number of visitors to Ojo increases during the summer months and on holidays. To address this, and to better accommodate our guests, we have plans to build another mineral pool in the near future. In the meantime, we have added new ramadas and 40 new chaise lounges, as well as hammocks, to provide our guests with more space and shade areas in which to relax.

We take our guest comments very seriously, and continue our ongoing projects of improvements and enhancements to provide a truly rejuvenating and healing experience. We invite you to check our website periodically for news of our latest developments.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

AMAZING PLACE!

Came here for our anniversary and it was great! We walked in and signed up for the mid-week special... HIGH DESERT GETAWAY FOR TWO. We received access to all the pools, sauna, steam room, robe, towels, lockers, private one-hour soak, and a 50-minute massage for about $110 each.

The lithium fountain was closed for repairs, but we tried out the following:
* Iron Pool - nice temp at 104F with sandy gravel on the tub floor.

* Soda Pool - cooler, but with a nice shade over it. A very relaxing and meditative pool (our favorite!)

* Arsenic Pool - 103F and it felt like our joints really eased up there.

* Mud Bath - a bit chilly, but really fun to mud each other up and then dry/bake on the lounge chairs. Note - the mud can stain your swimsuit.

* Massage - very professional and OH so needed!

* Private Pool - nice & private, but not a lot of shade there. Got a bit hot for us. But, could see the advantage on that pool in the evening with the kiva fireplace.

Afterwards, we relaxed in one of the many hammocks and lounge chairs under some much needed shade. (The sun was somewhat intense for us at the peak of the day and shade was a welcome relief.)

We didn't have a chance to actually see the accommodations or try out the restaurant. Checked them out later online and they seemed a bit pricey. But hey! They're the only game around.

In any case, would definitely go back for a day visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoBeerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We used Ojo Caliente as our base camp for three days and nights.

Our two dinners at The Artesian restaurant were both delicious and served with friendly service - try the green chili fries!

We had a few spa treatments which were fantastic; I especially recommend the relaxing Ancient Echoes treatment.

DH and I soaked in all of the mineral pools each day, rented a private pool for an hour one night (the kiva fireplace adds extra ambiance,) and thoroughly enjoyed the quieter Kiva pool all three nights.

Parking directly outside our Pueblo Suite was a plus. Housekeeping was thorough. Every single employee we interacted with was extremely friendly and welcoming. The gift shop carries a great selection of offerings - we shopped quite a bit in there!

This was our first visit to "Soak Our Bones" at Ojo. Since we intend to spend more time in New Mexico in the coming years, it is the first of many, many visits!

Room Tip: We loved our Pueblo Suite which came with access to the Kiva pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malibama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I spent a very relaxing evening here, using the pools and getting a massage. I was melted butter after 3 hours and only wished that I'd arranged to spend the night, rather than drive back to my hotel. The relaxing effect still stayed with me all through the night and the next day. The pools are different temperatures and have different mineral content, so you can pick and choose based on your preferences. Staff was tardy for my massage appointment, but I was in vacation mode, so it wasn't as big a bother as it might otherwise have been. If I get a chance, I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is very gratifying to know that you had such a wonderful experience here.

We do apologize that your massage therapist was running late for your appointment. Our therapists know to make up time lost on the tail end of a treatment that may have been missed in the beginning. I trust this was the case with your treatment. If not, please contact me directly so that I can obtain further details about your experience.

Our guest experience is very important to us and I look forward to talking with you.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We chose the resort based on the website content. The resort did not match what the website delivered. The service at check-in was lacking. The cliff suite was really nice for our needs. The mineral waters and access was great. The Artesian dining room had a great menu with better service than what the hotel had to offer. Over priced for the value received on the couples package that we purchased.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your suite and our mineral waters, as well as The Artesian Restaurant.

We regret that you feel Ojo did not offer what illustrated on our website, and we apologize for the less than positive experience you had at check-in. We have a continuing program of customer service training in which our employees are invested, and our Guest Services staff will be advised of your experience.

We feel that we offer our guests a significant value for their money. It may interest you to know that lodging guests who stay with us on a weekend or holiday night as you did receive a value of $96 in springs access for two on the day of arrival and departure, and mid-week rates include a value of $64 in springs access.

I welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you over the phone so that we can correct these problems in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
(505) 583-3221
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We spent 2 nights here in one of the new rooms with a small kitchen and a fireplace. We had a wonderful time relaxing in various pools, feeling silly and wonderful walking around the place in our provided bathrobes. The new rooms are pricey, and I don't think I'd pay that much again. They are elegant but small. I'd try a less expensive older room.
The restaurant is wonderful--good, creative food and good wine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent visit and appreciate your feedback!
It may interest you to know that all lodging rates include springs access every day a guest stays at Ojo including the day of arrival (prior to check-in) and after check-out on the day of departure. This represents a value of $72 for a one-night’s stay mid-week and $112 on weekends and holidays, based on double occupancy. In addition, guests lodging in our suites have access to our beautiful new private Kiva Pool with extended soaking hours.

We are constantly striving to create the best value possible to our guests, and to ensure a relaxing and healing experience here at Ojo. Thank you again for your compliments. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
15.8 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
21.6 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
24.7 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort And Spa New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing