We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic mineral springs - best massage ever!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic mineral springs - best massage ever!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

What a way to spend a day! We went back twice. Lovely setting with a mountain backdrop. Nice chaise lounges, hammocks and even outdoor fireplaces. One large lukewarm swimming spring and six smaller springs - arsenic, iron, soda, etc. and a mud bath. Only $18 for weekday or $28 for weekend. Added a massage and reflexology and received free admittance and a robe. Gwynn gave the best massage I've ever had, by far. Quaint restaurant and prices seemed very reasonable for hotel rooms. Great, great experience. Just one hour north of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JudyM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    352
    112
    66
    50
See reviews for
168
638
71
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espanola, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife placed reservations over the phone after finally getting through to someone after about 1/2 an hour. She left two voicemails prior to that, but they didn't return her calls. She requested a certain package, which was confirmed by her before hanging up. We get to the springs to find out the person making reservations did not enter the right package. We were left with what was entered because the placed was fully booked that day. Also I've had better massages for a lot less. You would think the pool areas would be included in the massage but wasn't. You had to pay extra for that and depending on the day of the week will cost more or less. One desk attendant did try to make things right by giving us a voucher for the pool areas but I was disappointed with the overall experience, especially for the money we spent. Good luck and hope your experience is better if you go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hmmm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the confusion you experienced with booking your package and your disappointing spa experience during your recent visit to Ojo. For guests spending $100 or more on spa treatments Monday - Thursday, we do offer complimentary entry to the Springs plus a complimentary robe and locker amenity. The same complimentary services and entry apply to guests who purchase $150 or more in spa treatments Friday - Sunday and on holidays.

It appears since the package you originally booked was not entered correctly you may have received an individual massage treatment that cost less than $100. That said, due to our error, we are gratified to know that our front desk staff offered you and your wife access to the pools regardless of your expense.

Please be assured that we go to great lengths to provide the best customer service possible to all of our guests at all times. When we fall short, every effort is made to rectify the situation.

Additionally, we pride ourselves on having some of the best licensed massage therapists in Northern New Mexico, all of which go through an extensive training and certification process. Your experience here was highly unusual, and we sincerely apologize again for your disappointment. We would very much like to speak with you to resolve the matter, and ask that you contact me directly at (505) 583-3221.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We drove up from Sante Fe and joined our dear friends for a wonderful afternoon relaxing and visiting, all the pools were wonderful, did not do the mud bath but would love to try it next time we are in the area.
Front desk was fine, our friends had booked us a massage at 6:30pm and thought it might be a bit late as we were driving up to Taos after, Tried to cancel and get a refund but that did not work, so we got a massage and it was wonderful...both of us enjoyed it...Slept like babies that night after the road from hell back to Taos.
We did enjoy the restaurant, Service was great, we sat at the bar and it was very friendly.
This place is wonderful and a lovely treat. will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review! We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa so much, and were able to enjoy all that Ojo has to offer.

We regret that you were not aware of the need to cancel your spa appointments more than 24 hours in advance to avoid a charge to your credit card. This policy is necessary as the majority of our spa treatments are booked well in advance. This policy allows us 24 hours to re-book a cancelled appointment. Our cancellation policy for lodging and spa treatments is detailed thoroughly on our website and printed materials.

We were also sorry to learn of your difficult drive back to Taos from Ojo. In the "Directions" section of our website, we detail the route from Ojo to Taos via the newly paved Rim Road, which is about a 45-minute drive. Due to the rural nature of the area, some of these roads are not well lit like traditional highways. During daylight hours, the drive to Taos from Ojo is a glorious one with stunning mountain views particularly as you ride over the breathtaking Gorge Bridge which is our version of a mini Grand Canyon. There is also a map provided for your convenience. This information can also be obtained from our front desk staff.

Your review and recommendation are greatly appreciated, and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon and indulge in the mud pool, along with our healing mineral waters. You may wish to check our website for seasonal specials and packages.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place is a must if you ever get close. We stayed one night and had a great time relaxing in the different mineral pools. The mud bath was fun and we had the best massage ever! You can stay for the day or if you get a room you can stay the day you check in and the following day until closing. We eat at the wine/sports bar and everything was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblinman6655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Ojo Caliente is a beautiful, quiet place to get away from it all. We stayed for a weekend and it was a wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the mid-priced north cottages which were comfortable, clean, and included a well stocked kitchenette. It even included a wine opener which we had forgot to bring! After looking at the menu options and prices online, we decided to bring our own food for breakfast and lunch. It was really nice to enjoy our morning coffee on the quiet back porch of the cottage. We made reservations for dinner ahead of time and were seated at a table right away. Dinner at the artisan restaurant was delicious - I highly recommend the New Mexico pot stickers! If you get tired of lounging in a variety of hot springs and pools, there are some good hiking trails nearby. Beautiful area in the high desert!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abq_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We Native New Mexicans " rediscovered " this local highlight for our recent anniversary celebration getaway. We stayed in the " new " casitas which were quiet and comfortable and share a separate soaking pool. The facilities were clean and the staff was helpful and courteous. Some reviewers have faulted the restaurant, but we found the food and service were both very good although the place is not cheap; what is ?
There are separate soaking pools for different needs as well as a mud bath section which we enjoyed quite a bit. This is NOT a party destination but it is a great place to get some peace and quiet in northern New Mexico's beautiful mountains. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Civlitig8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After reading of this place ,We stopped by during a recent road trip.It was very nice place to spend some time .We learned about the different waters that are natural to this area ! very Interesting ! We ended up Renting a private pool w/kiva fireplace,and soaked away the miles! would have liked to do this at night ..the fireplace would have been great ..but as it was,the pool was very nice,your walled in on three sides/with locked entry gate and open to the desert scene on the 4th side. Very private,Relaxing ! will be back again,and again ! Thanks OJO

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickHawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
15.8 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
393 reviews
21.6 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
21.5 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
57 reviews
24.7 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort And Spa New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing