We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hot pools and hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have been going to Ojo for years: at first when I was just visiting New Mexico and then several times since I moved to Santa Fe. It is an amazing place. If you want some extra privacy, choose one of the Cliff Side Suites (they each have a private tub in your back patio area), microwave and small fridge, kiva fireplace and lots of comfort. All of the main pools are amazing - take your time and enjoy. If you want to be there when it's less busy to soak, start soaking early am because later in the day many locals and other tourists come just to soak so it gets a little busier.
Anyway, it is hands down one of the most relaxing place I have ever been and coming home from there, I continued to be relaxed and continued napping :) (I will say that I prefer massages at 10,000 waves in Santa Fe but their other treatments are great.)

Room Tip: Cliff Side Suite have their own tub for late night soaking or private soaking for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hellafab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent visit. We are thrilled to hear that you feel Ojo is "hands down one of the most relaxing places you have ever been!" We hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come.

Regarding your massage experience, we pride ourselves on having some of the best licensed massage therapists in Northern New Mexico, all of which go through an extensive training and certification process. That said, I welcome your feedback about your massage so we can better understand what we could have done differently to make your spa therapy a more enjoyable one. Please contact me directly at 505.583.3221.

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ojo experience!
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our second time going to Ojo Spa, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Plaza suites, which are very nice. The Kiva pool was awesome because it kept you from the crowd, which wasn't that big anyway. The scenery is amazing, the pools are great. If I had one complaint it would be how loud the rooms are. We could easily hear our neighbors tv and every time the door opened. I might stay in the cliffside suites next time to see if that makes a difference. That being said, Ojo spa is our favorite spot for a romantic getaway. The spa services are great, and the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: The suites are great and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest:

We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your getaway and especially the Kiva Pool that is available to guests lodging in the suites. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by room noise. The wall systems in these rooms are designed to absorb sound. We hope you took the opportunity to alert the front desk. If we have availability, we are always happy to try an accommodate a room switch if needed. In the meantime, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back for more relaxing soaks soon!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Loved every bit of Ojo Caliente! We stayed in the historic hotel - may need to upgrade to the newer accommodations next year…. but we were happy with the entire stay… an amazing oasis. My spa treatment was Ojo Dreaming - 2 hours of bliss!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colorado4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest:

We couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your visit!

As you may know, the Historic Hotel was built in 1916 and has the charm and character of an older building including many original architectural features. For your next visit, you may wish to lodge in one of our beautiful suites which feature large flat-screen televisions, kitchenettes, and access to our beautiful new Kiva Pool. Our Pueblo and Cliffside Suites offer Kiva fireplaces, and the Cliffside Suites feature private outdoor soaking tubs.

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words, and keep us in mind next time you need to unwind!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were staying nearby in a vrbo, and enjoyed the springs a lot. Very clean, well maintained, peaceful, nice variety of pools. We did one of the hikes and soaked afterwards and that was really enjoyable. Brought our own food and picnicked, which helped with expenses.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest:

What a lovely getaway! We're glad you enjoyed soaking in our pools, and we hope that you'll keep us mind next time you need a little relaxation and fresh air. Until then, thank you for taking the time to sing our praises!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We really enjoyed our time here although it was very busy and commercial, it is beautiful and there are many options in the way of hot springs. We just loved the town so much and this was a sweet asset to it. I would say get a private pool-that was our favorite part.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ZenMama9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Although we are delighted that you were able to get some much needed rest and relaxation, we are sorry if you felt our property was commercial. It appears your visit was during our very busy recent Spring Break season where we experienced a very high level of guest visitation. Given Ojo's 146 year history, we make every effort to honor the legacy of this sacred destination and provide the most authentic, natural experience for our guests, so we'd love to hear any further feedback you have in that regard. In the meantime, thank you for the wonderful rating, and we hope to welcome you back for another rejuvenating soak next time you're in New Mexico!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Visiting from New Orleans - I found Ojo Caliente refreshing and somewhat healing. We went on a Tuesday, hoping it wouldn't be too busy, but it was. Very crowded. Because I'm visiting friends who live in the area - we only did a day pass.

I walked away feeling 100% renewed.

The mineral pools were small - but pleasant. Soaking, while looking up at soft dirt cliffs was a little slice of heaven. With a cold breeze on my face - I couldn't have asked for much more.

I paid for a 50 minute massage. The price was fair. The massage was decent, but nothing to write home about.

Overall, the view was delicious. Exposed wood beams, tiles and earthy abode structures. Very chill and inviting.

Why didn't I give Ojo Caliente 5 stars?

One of the pools was cold and half full. One of the pools was under construction. Cleanliness was an issue. It wasn't that clean from appearances.

The restaurant was ridiculously over-priced for the portions. Good food, don't get me wrong - but really over-priced.

Gift shop had a lovely variety of items. $62 for a tee-shirt is out of my range.

The staff wasn't as "zen" as the atmosphere would suggest. Most of them seem really busy and annoyed.

While we were soaking - a staff member came by with a sign that stated we needed to be quiet. I got that - as there were signs posted everywhere to be quiet. But with so many people and kids - it's little hard. The male staff member walked by, holding the sign and oddly nodding his head in a repeated motion. It was overkill.

With all that said, would I go back? Yes, yes I would...I would just lower my expectations. And next time I do visit - I'd like to check out the hiking trails.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sistersherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for you wonderful review. We love to hear it when our guests feel 100% renewed from their Ojo experience! It appears you may have visited us during our busy Spring Break season. Some of our guests who seek a more peaceful and tranquil experience like to visit during our winter months from November - February (excluding holiday periods) when we are less busy. Soaking in 104 degree healing mineral waters when the weather is more cool is truly an exhilarating experience. We also wanted to mention that we do carry a wide range of Ojo logowear in our Gift Shop including our t-shirts that start at $26, plus several different lines of clothing like PrAna and Sense that indeed have a broader price point. Our aim is to offer our guests a variety of options to choose from. We hope you had a chance to explore all that we have to offer in our El Mercado.

You'll be happy to know that in addition to the many options offered in the restaurant, we will be adding more "grab-and-go" food items in our Gift Shop as well for those guests are prefer a "light bite" during the day rather than a restaurant dining experience.

We also very much appreciate you sharing your observations about the pools. Water cleanliness is one of our highest priorities. We pride ourselves on maintaining a very stringent quality control of the water in all of our pools. We drain, scrub and clean each pool 2-3 times per week depending on guest visitation. It's possible we were just refilling one of our pools that you saw with a lower water level during your visit. These legendary mineral springs are our most precious resource and we make every effort to maintain the integrity of these sacred waters every day.

Thank you again for your feedback. We're thrilled to know that you're already thinking about your next visit. In addition to the 1100 acres of Ojo property, there are thousands of acres of hiking and biking trails to explore. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had an incredible two night stay at Ojo. Enjoyed a private pool, hot stone massage, reflexology, facial, soaked in all of the pools, slathered mud on, ate, drank, laughed, cried, took in the beautiful views. What more could I ask for on a girls weekend! Very cool, chill spa for people looking to unplug, unwind in an unpretentious environment. Highly suggest!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Sounds like a perfect weekend with the girls! Thank you for unwinding with us, and for the fantastic review. We can't wait to welcome all of you back again!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
21.4 mi away
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
15.8 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
409 reviews
17.3 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
167 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Mystica
Hotel Luna Mystica
#5 of 15 in Taos
8 reviews
21.6 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range: £82 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort And Spa New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing