We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay the night and enjoy soaking two days...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Salida, Co. USA
Level Contributor
249 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stay the night and enjoy soaking two days...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hey there. We enjoyed just one night here at Ojo and two days of soaking. The restaurant is really quite good, I suppose I was surprised, but then they are just an hour away from SantaFe...The pools are getting a slight make over, mud pool being moved and such, and sure, they could/should do something with the Soda Pool, it's getting a bit long in the tooth, but that doesn't mean the water and soaking experience in that specific pool isn't fantastic. My/Our fav...I'm not going to mention how fun their new Kiva Pool is because I'd like to keep that for myself. Sad...listen, you anti up for a more expensive room, and then you get access to this Kiva Pool, quite swank, with not all that many people in it. Sure hope that doesn't change.
Also, try the blue corn and pine nut pancakes, Yikes are they good.
Enjoy, Salida1048

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Yes, our blue corn pancakes are divine! Between our dishes, our pools and our rooms, it sounds like you had a lovely visit. We're thrilled you were able to enjoy the new Mud Area, and you'll be happy to know we just put a new roof on the Soda Pool last week! The new enclosure will be finished soon, and then the new Lithia Pool will be open at the end of May. We've been hard at work in the off hours so we do not disturb the tranquil guest experience while we create these exciting enhancements. Please know that it is our honor and privilege to protect the integrity of this sacred place for a broad range of guests to enjoy, whether just for the day or overnight. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    327
    105
    60
    49
See reviews for
148
598
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Camped here one night. Campground on side of river with little elevation change. Signs of flooding in trees way over the top of Motor Home. Not someplace I want to be when spring rains come upstream. Could be fatal!
Ate in the Spa restaurant that night. Good food but somewhat high priced. Might make a nice romantic getaway. Extensive wine list.
Paid $18.00 per person for the hot spring pools. Expensive fee for three hot pools for only two hours! pools were nice, especially the Iron Pool which has a natural gravel bottom and is 104 degrees. You can smell the minerals in the water and it's relaxing. never saw any of the rooms so can't comment on them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. Although it seems that you enjoyed most of your visit, we are happy to address your concerns.

As you mentioned, we have had floods, as most campgrounds in the area have experienced this past year. That said, these floods are quite rare, and to protect the safety of our guests, we will always close the campground if storms threaten our area. You'll be pleased to know that we are nearly finished adding restrooms to the RV Park as well as enhancing the RV spots.

We're not sure why you were only able to soak for 2 hours, as the hot springs are open from 8 am - 10 pm every day. Additionally, we have 7 public pools including the Large Pool, the Arsenic Pool, the Iron Pool, the new Mud Area, the Soda Pool and the two Cliffside Pools. We just put a new roof on the Soda Pool and the new Lithia Pool will be opening at the en d of May. We also offer 3 private pools that can be rented by the hour for an additional cost and a beautiful Kiva Pool available to our guests who lodge in our suites.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit overall and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon so you can explore all that Ojo has to offer.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I must first say that as someone who has visited many times, this last stay was phenomenal.
Usually I am skeptical when renovations start .... but they have done such beautiful work on the restoration and refurbishing.
This last couple of years especially, the new growth and hammocks, taking the time it takes, there is a real attention to the sacred and beloved nature of the place, even the new additions add to the tranquility, the private pools cliff side are great.

I Just want to shout out to the staff, They were so friendly and willing to help, it let me truly relax.
The food at the restaurant and wine bar were fine. Again the redo just makes sense and everyone was very friendly.
These Kaftan Sisters will be back again,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albuquirky_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Kaftan Sisters:

"Phenomenal" is a word that we love to hear! We are delighted that you were so pleased with your visit, and that you were able to absorb the tranquility we strive to create for all of our guests. Thank you for sharing your kind words about our enhancements. You'll be happy to know that our new Lithia Pool will be open by the end of May. Please let us know if we can do anything to make your next visit more memorable!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have been going to Ojo for years: at first when I was just visiting New Mexico and then several times since I moved to Santa Fe. It is an amazing place. If you want some extra privacy, choose one of the Cliff Side Suites (they each have a private tub in your back patio area), microwave and small fridge, kiva fireplace and lots of comfort. All of the main pools are amazing - take your time and enjoy. If you want to be there when it's less busy to soak, start soaking early am because later in the day many locals and other tourists come just to soak so it gets a little busier.
Anyway, it is hands down one of the most relaxing place I have ever been and coming home from there, I continued to be relaxed and continued napping :) (I will say that I prefer massages at 10,000 waves in Santa Fe but their other treatments are great.)

Room Tip: Cliff Side Suite have their own tub for late night soaking or private soaking for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hellafab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent visit. We are thrilled to hear that you feel Ojo is "hands down one of the most relaxing places you have ever been!" We hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come.

Regarding your massage experience, we pride ourselves on having some of the best licensed massage therapists in Northern New Mexico, all of which go through an extensive training and certification process. That said, I welcome your feedback about your massage so we can better understand what we could have done differently to make your spa therapy a more enjoyable one. Please contact me directly at 505.583.3221.

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ojo experience!
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our second time going to Ojo Spa, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Plaza suites, which are very nice. The Kiva pool was awesome because it kept you from the crowd, which wasn't that big anyway. The scenery is amazing, the pools are great. If I had one complaint it would be how loud the rooms are. We could easily hear our neighbors tv and every time the door opened. I might stay in the cliffside suites next time to see if that makes a difference. That being said, Ojo spa is our favorite spot for a romantic getaway. The spa services are great, and the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: The suites are great and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest:

We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your getaway and especially the Kiva Pool that is available to guests lodging in the suites. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by room noise. The wall systems in these rooms are designed to absorb sound. We hope you took the opportunity to alert the front desk. If we have availability, we are always happy to try an accommodate a room switch if needed. In the meantime, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back for more relaxing soaks soon!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Loved every bit of Ojo Caliente! We stayed in the historic hotel - may need to upgrade to the newer accommodations next year…. but we were happy with the entire stay… an amazing oasis. My spa treatment was Ojo Dreaming - 2 hours of bliss!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colorado4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest:

We couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your visit!

As you may know, the Historic Hotel was built in 1916 and has the charm and character of an older building including many original architectural features. For your next visit, you may wish to lodge in one of our beautiful suites which feature large flat-screen televisions, kitchenettes, and access to our beautiful new Kiva Pool. Our Pueblo and Cliffside Suites offer Kiva fireplaces, and the Cliffside Suites feature private outdoor soaking tubs.

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words, and keep us in mind next time you need to unwind!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying nearby in a vrbo, and enjoyed the springs a lot. Very clean, well maintained, peaceful, nice variety of pools. We did one of the hikes and soaked afterwards and that was really enjoyable. Brought our own food and picnicked, which helped with expenses.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest:

What a lovely getaway! We're glad you enjoyed soaking in our pools, and we hope that you'll keep us mind next time you need a little relaxation and fresh air. Until then, thank you for taking the time to sing our praises!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
15.8 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
21.6 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
24.7 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort And Spa New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing