We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great water, great food, & very nice lodgings”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
West, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great water, great food, & very nice lodgings”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a very nice two-night stay in the north cottages during the week. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean - tranquil music playing when we opened the door.

Restaurant was excellent every time. Try the fish tacos & some green chile fries. Great staff.

Many guests are illiterate & can't read the "whisper" signs, staff should start whacking them in the heads with the signs instead. Except for the idiot who wouldn't put down her cell phone, the pools were very nice.

Well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0ceanView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

While we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed relaxing in our pools and dining in our fabulous restaurant, we apologize that you were bothered by some of our more lively guests. We want to assure you that maintaining the solace and tranquility at Ojo has always been (and continues to be) among our highest priorities. It is indeed one of our biggest challenges, especially during busier times. Please know that we are working continually to provide a peaceful and relaxing experience for everyone to enjoy. We do have a strict policy of no cell phones in the Springs and Spa area. During your next visit, if this is an issue, please do not hesitate to enlist the support of one of our staff members to speak with any guest you find disturbing. Until then, thank for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    344
    111
    64
    49
See reviews for
162
630
71
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I am a regular local visitor to Ojo Caliente and have been visiting for decades. The current experiences is very civilized and high end by my standards, but clearly not by some. The staff are courteous, thoughtful, engaging. The facilities range from the original 100 year old features from when it was first built to very modern facilities being built at this moment.

The negative reviews here say a lot more about the people writing them than about the facility or the service. Yes, Ojo Caliente is very remote to those who expect to fly in and drive to it trivially. Yes, it is a rustic location with some rustic baths and accomodations.

Anyone expecting the same experience they would have in a Scottsdale or Hollywood or Manhattan or Las Vegas spa is probably going to be disappointed, apparently even offended in some cases.

For the rest of you, it is a great experience though your mileage may vary. As a local, I only visit M-Th and not near holidays.. I know it will be busier than average, more kids, etc.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel, though I am familiar with the rooms/cottages. They are all rustic by m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your kind words! It's incredibly rewarding to know that you've always enjoyed our take on New Mexico Enchantment, and we hope that we'll continue to welcome you back for more rest and relaxation for years to come. Until then, thank you for the wonderful review!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Ojo Caliente. The only problem was that it was New Year's Day and the place was very crowded. Early the following morning, the pools were quite deserted, and it was a much more peaceful experience. We stayed in the old part of the hotel, and the room was old-fashioned, but comfortable enough for us. It had a real sense of history. We had reserved for dinner, but ended up going earlier than we'd planned, which worked out fine. We enjoyed a walk around the ruins on the top of the cliff, and another walk along the creek before we left the next day. The new locker rooms were very nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the historic hotel are less expensive, a little spartan, and definitely have the charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linnea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your visit to Ojo. While we're delighted that you welcomed in the New Year with us. It is true during the holidays that early mornings and evening do provide the most serene atmosphere. We do often suggest to our fellow New Mexicans who live closer to Ojo than most, to visit during the Fall and Winter months during with week, outside of holiday periods for optimal tranquility. We're happy to hear that you explored all that Ojo has to offer beyond the mineral pools and restaurant including the hiking trails and Bosque area. For your next visit, you may be interested in staying in one of our Plaza, Pueblo or Cliffside Suites which includes access to the new private Kiva Pool only available to guests lodging in these rooms, and not to day guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Although we only spent one night at Ojo Caliente, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was immaculate and comfortable, and the hot springs and mud were both soothing and relaxing. We had breakfast in the resort's restaurant and it was excellent, although pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Soothing, relaxing and comfortable -- sounds like you had an excellent time with us! We hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay, but in the meantime, thank you for the fabulous review!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ojo Caliente is tucked a short distance off the highway between Santa Fe.and Taos. This wonderful property is on the National Register of Historic Places and has been renowned for the healing powers of its various mineral springs. There are many nice things about this property including a wonderful (and surprisingly affordable) spa, a gorgeous main building and historic inn, a nice bare and lounge area (definitely try the sangria), and a fantastic restaurant. Of course, the main draw are the various mineral pools which are all different and soothing. A must stop for anyone traveling around New Mexico! Be advised however that rooms in the old hotel do not have showers so you will need to shower in the main bathroom - which opens at 8:00am..

Room Tip: There are cabins that we did not get a look at, but the rooms in the historic hotel were nicely appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcmazzit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Yes, that sangria is a must-try! Between that and our pools, it's lovely to hear that you were so happy with your stay. Thank you for reviewing us, and keep us in mind during your next trip to Taos!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed in the historic Hotel and love the ambience. Close to restaurant & soaking. I've been coming to Ojo for 20 years or more and it still offers a wonderful healing experience.
1 complaint: the pillows on the bed need upgrading! Or bring your own. Very tasty meal in the restaurant, poblano chile fries and pork belly carnitas.
Always a must have was a private tub followed by the Milagro wrap.

Room Tip: We liked #40
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TellurideRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your wonderful review and your loyal patronage. Our fellow New Mexican guests are among our most valued. We have shared your feedback about our pillows with our housekeeping manager who has said she will check all the rooms in the Historic Hotel. We're delighted to know you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and relished your private pool. We are grateful to know you enjoy Ojo so much that you keep coming back! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parlin, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was told by many of my dear friends that if I ever went to New Mexico and were to go to Santa Fe that I should stop by the hot springs and sample Ojo. Well they were right it was fantastic. My husband and family loved it as well. I returned again for a second trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbwald56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

We're delighted that you followed your friends' recommendations and chose to visit Ojo, and you had such a fantastic visit! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again. Until then, thank you for the lovely review!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
21.3 mi away
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
15.8 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
390 reviews
21.6 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
160 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
56 reviews
24.7 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort And Spa New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing