We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a refreshing break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a refreshing break”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I drove down to Ojo Caliente for a couple days and we were very happy with our stay. The resort is small and can get very crowded with day visitors to the springs. However if you are staying there you have access to a smaller private pool and it is very nice. We also had massages and an hour in a private pool and they were both wonderful. Especially the private pool which was a wonderful, luxurious, treat. The food in the restaurant was great and the mud bath was fun. The walking trails are not particularly scenic or challenging but still nice. The room was a bit sparse but in all fairness we booked late and got the last available room on the end which is specially outfitted for handicapped persons. It is a good value and I would visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 755JLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We are happy to know you were able to find a room on such short notice! It's lovely to hear how much you and your friend enjoyed our pools, especially our new Mud Area. We can't wait to welcome you back again, but in the meantime, thank you for reviewing us. Your kind words made our day!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    335
    107
    62
    49
See reviews for
156
609
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spearman, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We visited during the week and found it a wonderful,relaxing experience. There was a group of women with giggly teenage daughters that needed to tone it down. My husband and I had massages and enjoyed the pools. The cliff side background was a nice backdrop for our private pool hour. We split lunch with 2 sides and it was plenty. It felt funny wearing a robe to a restaurant. Don't expect clear pools, after all it is mineral water! Lodging is available. Something that I would enjoy as an individual retreat. A very serene experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wbwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Yes, the cliffs are the perfect backdrop to a relaxing soak! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope you'll have another chance to visit us again soon. Until then, thank you for the lovely review!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a beautiful, sacred place and we had an extraordinary time. We stayed in the old hotel which had a nice historic feel. The room was small but cozy with very comfortable beds. The pools were lovely, a little crowded on Sunday when we arrived but much better that evening and the next day and sitting in the pools under the moon and stars was magical. The locker room was immaculate, towels big and fluffy and nice robes. Friendly courteous service. Great, well curated gift shop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucypower48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Relaxing in the pools under the gorgeous New Mexican night sky -- it doesn't get better than that! Thanks for relaxing with us, and for the lovely review. We can't wait to have you back again!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were very regular overnight visitors at Ojo until recently. Sometimes we splurged for a Cliffside room and other times stayed in the Historic Hotel. We have always found the food and service to be excellent. What is happening it that the place is getting too popular. There is the summer influx of Texans who have no idea what a "whisper zone" is. The attitude is "I paid good money to be here so I will talk as loud as I wish and my kids can play Marco Polo in the pool". The pools are so crowded that it is uncomfortable. I don't want to be a foot away from someone. I truly feel sorry for the management as they try to respond to each person bent out of shape because their kids were disciplined. Then there were the complainers from San Francisco who were upset that Ojo is "in the middle of nowhere and late night room service isn't offered". Are you kidding me ? This a sacred place and most of us come for peace and quiet. Sorry folks but it was never meant to be a place for kids...take them to a water park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peggy2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. It appears that our guests have different ways of relaxing, and we do our best to facilitate this by keeping the noise level down. Please know that maintaining the sacred and tranquil nature of the Ojo experience is one of our highest priorities. I welcome the opportunity to discuss this further so you can be assured of our commitment to honor and protect all that is special about this sacred place. Please call me on my direct line at 505.583.3221. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If we had it to do again, we would have limited our visit to a day at the mineral springs. Our room was beyond spartan. It had all the ambience of an army barrack. Our bath consisted of a toilet and sink. No shower or tub. No closet or even a hook to hang things and no phone to dial the front desk. This was to be the highlight of our New Mexico holiday and we were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fremd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We were sorry to learn of your disappointing visit to Ojo recently and welcome the opportunity to address your comments.

As you may know, the Historic Hotel was built in 1916 and has the charm and character of an older building, including many original architectural features. The hotel rooms are our entry level to our many lodging choices and do not have the same amenities as our newer units. In an effort to keep the price point lower, these rooms do not have amenities that many of our well-traveled guests expect.

All of our Historic Hotel rooms feature the original 1/2 baths, and guests shower in the main bathhouse in the Springs' area. Showers or tub/shower combos, kitchenettes with microwaves, mini-refrigerators, in-roof coffee and tea, and satellite TV are provided in our cottages and suites. Throughout the process of renovating and expanding our facilities, we have been careful to maintain the historic nature of the hotel and springs, and to provide a wide variety of lodging price points for our guests. For your next visit, you may wish to lodge in one of our beautiful suites, all of which feature large flat-screen televisions, kitchenettes, and access to our beautiful new Kiva Pool. Our Pueblo and Cliffside Suites offer Kiva fireplaces, and the Cliffside Suites feature private outdoor soaking tubs.

Complete descriptions and pictures of our different lodging choices are available on our web site, and we invite you to access this information. We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your visit and thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. Please know that they will be seriously considered as we plan future enhancements.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
554 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in one of the cliff-side units, with a private spa and also access to the non-public Kiva pool that serves just the overnight units in the immediate area. The whole visit was a very calming and soothing experience. Accommodations were appropriately rustic but comfortable; we would want to stay more than one night next time. In the main activity area that is available to both overnight guests and for day use, there were three types of pools that we could find: iron, arsenic, and soda; will did not locate the lithia spring. Tried them all out but like the Kiva pool best. Nice shop in the main building and an excellent restaurant with very good service, food and prices.

Room Tip: The rooms that have the limited access to the Kiva pool are worth the extra cost, in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest:
We're so happy to know you enjoyed such a lovely, relaxing visit with us! We agree the Kiva Pool is a wonderful added amenity for guests staying in our suites. We're so gratified to know you relished every moment. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Tranquil, soothing, serene, peaceful...does Thesaurus have more words to describe this heavenly place ? From the moment we stepped onto the grounds, we were transported back in time to a less hurried, more relaxed place. Even the staff spoke in soothing, quiet tones. So helpful & friendly. The pools were amazing. My friend & I tried them all, like multiple times, all afternoon. The mudbath is a wonderful way to detox. We got a massage each, so soothing, followed by more soaks in all the pools. A couple of the pools were nearly too hot, but it was a brilliantly sunny day and the large pool is wonderfully cool to chill out in. Love the lounging chairs and hammocks all over the place. I enjoyed all the drinking water with sliced lemons made available everywhere. The No Whisper Sign lady is a great nonintrusive way to remind everyone to keep quiet. And the cliffside view from every pool...ahhh ! Beautiful, clean shower rooms, with the great idea of providing/dispensing Ojo's own shampoos, etc. to use. And get this: you are allowed to go to the (delicious, though pricey) restaurant & Wine bar in your robe ! What a brilliant idea ! Fabulous service everywhere. My skin glowed for days afterwards. I live in Albuquerque, and went w/ a friend from Phoenix, but now that I've finally gotten to Ojo, I can't wait to come up again with my husband and rent a private soaking pool, au naturale under the stars ! Thanks for a wonderful experience. You've got a really unique treasure going on.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank idealist_in_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Owner at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest:

We're thrilled to hear you had such a serene and tranquil visit! It sounds like you made lots of lovely memories with your friend, and we're thrilled to be a part of them. Thanks for reviewing us, and we look forward to hosting you and your husband soon!

Warm regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
15.8 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
21.6 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
24.7 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort And Spa New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing