We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just what i needed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taos Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taos Trail Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“just what i needed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

was in ojo visiting my mom and was not feeling very well after the drive from my home in chama. the owner was so sweet aloud my dog to stay .the room was so relaxing and comfortable .they also gave me a couple movies to watch .the owner has put her heart into this place and if u are the kind of person who values that u will love it.

Room Tip: this is not a cheep place do stay here if u want new mexico romance for the night.it is worth the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
15
30
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This little lodge was the highlight of my road trip. The owners were the perfect hosts. Placing me in one of the newly renovated rooms. By the time I checked in, I was beat, but was warmly welcomed, I put my stuff down and almost didn't want to get back up again because the bed was divine. But I went down the the cafe and they whipped up a meal fit for a king. The steak was delectable. Their hospitality and attention to detail took the cake. I will surely return every time I make my annual trek.

Room Tip: Ask about the renovations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed in the Albuquerque room which had 2 double beds. The current owners appear to be slowly renovating a once run-down facility. To be fair, we are listing both pros and cons.

PROs
1. Location is excellent just outside the entry to Ojo Caliente Spa.
2. Beds were new and comfortable with very clean linens.
3. Bathroom was roomy with a mini-frig, coffee maker, and a more than adequate supply of towels.
4. Owners were very welcoming and anxious to make guests feel at home.
5. Owner provides a good selection of DVD's free of charge. (TV only plays DVD's - no cable)
6. Motel is pet friendly.
7. There is a nice court yard with a fire pit and wood.

CONS
1. We were unable to get any hot water from the shower after running it for 5 minutes.
2. The shower is a pipe coming from the wall and emits a single jet of cold water.
3. The decor is a mix of grandma's attic and garage sale which is, overall, a bit disturbing.
4. The room was heated with a space heater.
5. The rear of the property is littered with broken furniture, old tools, and other junk.
6. The price of the room seemed high for the lack of amennities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhdo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENVER
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here on 9/5/12. Upon arrival, no one was there. Two hours later, someone arrived. The room was scary. Windows broken, an open hole in the back of the cabin, the keys to every room hanging on another cabin door where laundry was stacked to the ceiling. Big and little bugs abounded. It smelled bad. My travel companions were so freaked they ditched me and stayed at Ojo, but my dog prevented me from leaving too. I made it until 1:30, and then, terrified, I called my friends and demanded they come get me. Worst night I've ever had in a hotel. It's right on the highway, and trucks zoom by, or worse, stop for some unknown reason. I sat with my shoes on, and the flashlight in my hand until I couldn't take it any more. The owners are dangerously lax and this place should be shut down.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JULIE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana K, Public Relations Manager at Taos Trail Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Sorry for your bad experience but at the time you stayed their the new management had just taken over and were in the process of remodeling all the rooms, they needed it badly.
They had been updated for 30 years and you must have gotten one of the old rooms.
The new rooms have had extensive remodel, all the walls, bathrooms, beds and furniture have been replaced with new every thing and no one should have that experience again.
Thank you for your feed back. Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The pace is so much slower. Solitude. And, the newe owners have done a marvelous job in decorating and upgrading. The difference between what was then and what is now is as a pig is to a prairie dog. They are two totally different animals. The new owners have done an excellent job. I see the Taos Trail and Lomita Lodge as what Durango, Co. was about 50 years ago. There was a great restaurant up there by the name of Sweeney's which years ago had the best steaks in the Western USA. Well, now Taos Trail Inn can lay claim to that honor.

Room Tip: Actually they are all very good. Just pick the one that hits your fancy from their website and go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLinden49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corona del mar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

loved the host
loved the comfy beds
loved the firepit areas located around the property
WISH the steakhouse had been open but guess I'll have to schedule an encore trip
the thing that made this the most special was all of the funky art and quirky corners filled with treasures.
i actually had an entire itinerary planned out but the gracious inn keeper gave me so many good local adventure tips: earthship compound (off the grid eco houses), hiking the gorge, hiking ghost box ranch...that I ended up spending less time at the spa across the street (Ojo Spa)...and that was a good thing because the spa is okay but NM is gorgeous and I am glad that I spent less time in spa mud and more time hiking in red dirt.
My room was so interesting. the footboard was actually attached to the ceiling above the bed and I think that this helps to illustrate what a different sort of inn this is. There is a visual treat at every turn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our cabin had nice decor and linens, but they couldn't overcome the poor quality of workmanship in the cabin. Plunger was provided for kitchenette sink that always needed encouragement to drain. Porch light had an electrical glitch and there was exposed copper wire to a heater. Scary. Shower had no light and no place to put your soap/shampoo/washcloth, etc. The bath sink fixture (spout/handle combined) was wobbly and ready to fall off. Beautifuil glass sink needed some CLR to remove its hard water stains. Windows were cracked, filthy, badly painted, and wouldn't lock. Deadbolt on front door wouldn't lock. Brad nails were sticking up on kitchen floor transition. Going barefoot was a high-risk behavior. While there was a TV in the room, there was no cable or satellite--you could only watch movies. Rooms at the spa might be more expensive, but it would have been money better spent. Motel sits 30 ft. away from a 2-lane highway. Lack of exterior lighting made it difficult to see on approach at night. Also, the exterior needs considerable TLC. It has been pretty much ignored. This place needs a lot more work to bring it up to a standard acceptable to most travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
21.2 mi away
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
18.5 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
21.3 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
16.1 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
24.3 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taos Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taos Trail Inn

Property: Taos Trail Inn
Address: 35305 Highway 285, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled!!! New Owners!!! Affordable lodging in Ojo Caliente, NM, the Taos Trail Inn offers a friendly staff, comfortable beds, rooms with a real feel of Northern New Mexico and a restaurant and brewery on site.Located within a 1/3 of a mile to the mineral springs and walking distance to no less than 4 restaurants and shops.Agree with old reviews the place really needed the total renovation it has now. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taos Trail Inn & Lomita Hotel Ojo Caliente
Taos Trail Inn And Lomita Lodge
Lomita Hotel Ojo Caliente
Lomita Motel Ojo Caliente
Taos Trail Inn Ojo Caliente, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing