We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very cool place and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Mountain Cafe

Red Mountain Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pizzas, sandwiches, baked goods and the best coffee drinks for 50 miles! Take out and counter service in a low-key atmosphere. Patio dining and limited inside seating available.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very cool place and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a nice place-great pizza,very nice owner,terrific atmosphere,good music,great baked goods, good coffee,large choice of sandwiches,well placed near the Hot Springs, happy I went!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic, but excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were in town for a soak at the hot springs and were looking for a low budget dinner (compared with the restaurant at the resort), and found a diamond in the rough. Don't go for the atmosphere, but don't miss the pizza. The place is not much to look at and pizza only comes in one size (15"), but two of us 60-somethings didn't have any trouble with it -and we can't normally put away a 12". The crust was thin, crispy, and light - the sauce was really yummy. Previous report of a surly proprietor were not in agreement with our experience. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 113bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fabulous organic pizza and baked treats - so tasty!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were staying at Ojo Caliente spa nearby and stopped by for a bite, and were delighted to find the absolute perfect organic pizza with gourmet toppings, roasted garlic, the lot! The owner is a master baker, the crust and sauce were delicious. And we wound up taking back lots of treats for late night snacking - gorgeous quality brownies and peanut butter cookies all home-baked on the premises. Definitely recommend if you are staying at Ojo or visiting the area -- fantastic pizza!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mama Mia!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The pizza and service was great!! Thin crust and very filling!!! Had enough for breakfast the next morning!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcihawth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Homemade and it shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was our second trip to Ojo Caliente, but we hadn't visited this place before. We decided to stop in and give it a try. It was about 3pm when we came in and wanted to order a pizza. The man running it said that they didn't really start pizza until 4, but we could put our order in with him and come back around then and it'd be ready. So we went for a drive to kill time. Before we left, we bought a couple of his homemade fruit pastries. They were excellent and not too sweet.
When we returned, we ate our pizza out back. There's a little patio with a couple tables. Outside, you can see where the tomatoes and basil were growing and there was a peaceful little creek behind the place. Oh, and it didn't hurt that the pizza was delicious! The green chile had good flavor and decent heat, and the crust was crunchy with a little cornmeal for texture. It was perfect for making two meals.
The next day on our way out... well, we decided we needed to go indulge in more of those fruit pastries for the road. It was only natural. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cordium23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Mountain Cafe also viewed

 
Ojo Caliente, Taos County
Ojo Caliente, Taos County
 

Been to Red Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing