We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great dining experience”

Artesian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Just north of Santa Fe is Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs' secluded sanctuary. Deemed sacred by Native Americans of Northern New Mexico, our legendary waters have been soothing body, mind, and spirit naturally for centuries. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Ojo is the only hot springs in the world with 4 unique, sulfur-free mineral waters. The resort is historic, yet modern and fresh with eclectic charm in a relaxed and tranquil environment. The full-service spa offers a wide array of restorative treatments including nurturing massage and hydrating face and body treatments. Don't miss a soak in a private outdoor pool by fire at night or in the seasonal, detoxifying mud pool. We offer an unpretentious and uncomplicated atmosphere with a variety of lodging accommodations, including enchanting suites, charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. All lodging includes access to all mineral pools every day of your visit.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The service was awesome! Our waiter's name was Jesus, our glasses were never empty, and he was very knowledgeable about the menu. I had the grilled trout that had this delicious sauce on top with pinon (pine nuts) and they were also willing to substitute the quinoa with steamed vegetables for me. The coffee was also wonderful! Can't wait to go back! It's a little pricey (although lunch is more affordable), but the food quality is great, and if you include soaking at the springs, it makes for an all-around amazing experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest:
We're so happy to hear that you relished your dining experience in The Artesian Restaurant. Thank you for recognizing Jesus. We do take pride in offering extensive customer service and food and beverage training for all of our restaurant staff. Our menu at The Artesian is special and most of our dishes are house-made recipes created from scratch. We believe this allows us to offer a more unique dining experience – from frying our own tortilla chips, to rolling our own red chile pizza crust, making our own soups and sauces, and desserts and ice cream.

We also source the finest quality ingredients from the best vendors at the most competitive pricing. For example, our seafood is flown in fresh from Seattle Seafood Company and shuttled straight from the airport. Our shrimp are Mexican white shrimp. We use 100% pure maple syrup. Our lamb is sustainably produced from a local farm. We use Harris Ranch beef in our burgers. Our orange juice and lemonade are ultra premium and not from concentrate. Our coffee is fair trade & organic.

Additionally, we have begun the early phases of our farm-to-table program. We have small gardens and a 1-acre farm on property that are currently supplying greens to the restaurant including mustard, lettuce, spinach, arugula and orach. This is a small achievement given our high dessert location and current drought.

Thank you again for your lovely review. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We ate here at dinner and breakfast while we stayed in the rooms at Ojo Caliente Spa and Resort. We would recommend the breakfast because it is not very expensive, and the food had great new flavours. The dinner was descent, but many menu items were excessively expensive (ex: Udon Noodles- $23). Also, at dinner, the service was slow, but at breakfast we had a wonderful server.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TeenCuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our restaurant. Our guest feedback is very important to us and very helpful in helping us continually fine-tune our services. When we are busy it is sometimes a challenge for us to provide the prompt service expected, and we appreciate your patience. We have addressed your concerns with our restaurant manager about maximizing staffing during peak hours.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast. As a point of reference, local and organic products are used whenever possible, especially during the brief but glorious Summer season. All of our eggs are organic, as are the mixed salad greens that are coming straight from our gardens. In short, we use the best quality ingredients available at the most reasonable price we can find, and then combine them in unique and exciting ways to present meals that surprise and delight our guests. We believe this extra effort and cost is worth it, because our guests deserve the best quality we can offer. We are continuing to evolve our menu especially as we expand our farm-to-table program.

Our guest experience is very important to us. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stood outside the restaurant for several minutes before anyone noticed us and got us seated. Where was the hostess?

Our waitress talked to us like we were in a diner, and not in a good way. She flung the plates onto the table and when my friend asked for dessert, the waitress gruffly said, "Give me a minute."

The spinach enchilada I had was good, but not phenomenal. I got the chocolate cigar for dessert, and that was weird. I didn't realize it was literally going to look like a big fat cigar and be served in an ashtray. That turned me off. I will never again order a dessert that might look like something to be smoked. It tasted good, but why would I want something delicious to look like something nasty?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear guest:

We apologize for the lengthy wait you experienced in The Artesian Restaurant. When we are busy it is sometimes a challenge for us to provide the prompt service expected, and we appreciate your patience. It is our mission to provide genuinely gracious and accommodating hospitality and service to all of our guests. Regretfully, it would appear that we have fallen short of this objective. We have addressed your concerns with our restaurant manager about maximizing staffing during peak hours. Our Wine Bar/Lounge is also open for guests during lunch and dinner hours, offering a slightly smaller menu.

We understand that our presentation of the Chocolate Cigar is not for everyone, and we have shared your comments with our chef. We're glad you enjoyed our delectable chocolate ganache and phyllo dough delicacy despite the presentation.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived just in time for an early lunch before an afternoon of soaking in the mineral springs. Although we had been here twice before, this was our first time to be seated in the restaurant. On previous visits, we enjoyed eating at the cozy tables in the wine bar area. We were greeted and seated promptly. Only one other table was occupied when we first entered, but within minutes every table was full and the two servers on duty did an exceptional job taking care of everyone.

We knew we would find some healthy vegetarian choices on the menu, but we were pleasantly surprised by the number of options we had. Our meals had been good in the past, but our food was just top-notch on this particular day - very fresh, colorful, and served at just the right temperature. We both had the roasted red pepper soup and spinach tortilla stuffed with spicy black beans, red peppers, and avocado. The flavors complimented each other perfectly. My husband enjoyed a Rainy Day IPA from the nearby Taos Mesa Brewing and I had a glass of their house-made sangria (it has just a hint of cinnamon). Service was spot on, and although the restaurant was full with many waiting in the lobby area, we never felt rushed.

We will definitely include lunch or an early dinner when we plan our next trip to Ojo Caliente!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ksfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear guest:

Your review is exactly what we love to hear about a guest's experience in the Artesian Restaurant. We're happy to know you enjoyed your meals and libations and have shared your comments with our Restaurant Manager about the exceptional service you received by our staff. Everything you have described supports our commitment to providing gracious and accommodating hospitality to all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

After a couple of hours in the Ojo Caliente pools, dining at the Artesian was the perfect way to end our day. The food and service were excellent. My dining companions had the grilled trout and the chicken fajitas; I had the combo (beef and chicken) fajitas. All were delicious. We also had a nice bottle of pinot noir wine.

The next morning (we spent the night in the hotel) we had breakfast. My companions had the blueberry muffin and the breakfast parfait. I had the house made granola with fruit. They were all quite tasty.

We'll be back on out next visit to Ojo Caliente!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheOwlReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artesian Restaurant also viewed

 
Ojo Caliente, Taos County
 

Been to Artesian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing