We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Gila Mountain Inn(Silver City)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest(Silver City)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Silver City)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Silver City(Silver City)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Manor Motel(Silver City)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Hotel(Silver City)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Murray Hotel(Silver City)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
79
21
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
21
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilver citybuckhorn saloongila cliff dwellingsnatural wooddish tvmining townthese cabinsrustic settingnew mexicobedroom cabinfull bathcheck in was easywi fihot tubevery eveningbusiness triproad trip
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we spent 3 nights in cabin 8. great place. very clean, good Wi-Fi, tv worked well (had dish) but we didn't watch much. everything was supplied and the people in the office were very nice. comfortable, quiet place out in the woods. ate at the buckhorn which was close and pretty good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judy525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We tend to be finicky and opinionated about everything. But we are not snobs. As world population explodes, and everyone goes anywhere, and crowds turn secrets into fads, there are fewer and fewer places of any kind that totally hit the mark and (don't tell anyone) Bear Creek Cabins is one of them. If you make it to Silver CIty to start with, you are something of an adventurer. Pinos Altos is a tiny, old western mountain town high above the Silver City flats. Nestled among the lush evergreens, the dozen or so cabins of Bear Creek are beautifully crafted from local materials and well equipped with small kitchens and all the necessary amenities. They have everything you want for privacy and comfort, and the location is a great base for exploring the fascinating environs of Silver City and beyond. There is an impeccably clean, hot tub cabin with tinted windows for privacy. Owners Arturo and his son Daniel are remarkably accommodating. There is no cancellation policy (we cancelled three times before we finally got our act together and made it down) and Bear Creek is totally pet friendly, with a nice pet enclosure behind cabin #8. You won't believe how cool the "town" of Pinos Altos is, with its historic Buckhorn Saloon and the original old Opera House. It's all so authentic, you can't believe it's real.

Room Tip: All cabins looked great, but we think 7,8,9 and 10 are good bets. There were two floors in cabin 7 where we stayed, so there are fairly steep stairs to navigate.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterG343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been staying here for over 10 years. We have 'our' cabin, which we rent every stay. Unfortunately I'm not going to say which cabin, as we don't want it to become popular, but all of them are wonderful. Different cabins can handle couples to family reunions, so the choice is yours.
The setting is in the area of Pinos Altos "Tall Pines" for us white folks due to the abundance of Lodgepole and Ponderosa pine, 15 minutes north of Silver City, New Mexico. Wildlife is abundant, and it's not unusual to see herds of deer, elk, javalina, and others crossing the property. The elevation is around 7600 feet, so snow in winter is almost a given. Four wheel drive is not required, as the roads are paved to the property. The driveway is rather steep though, so use caution when ice is present.
Internet is present, but somewhat spotty as Bear Creek covers a few acres. Only local TV stations are available, so this is a great place to disconnect and unwind. The staff is, and has always been pleasant and accommodating. An abundance of trails await, and a hot tub soaks away sore muscles and worries.
While not on the property, there is an excellent restaurant within walking distance, which used to be an opera house. Each cabin has a fully-featured kitchen, fireplace with chopped wood delivered, and complementary newspaper, if you manage to care about the world outside of Bear Creek. If you somehow become bored, Silver City is a few minutes away. You may decide to pick up some hamburgers or steaks and grill them yourself on the grill located just outside the front door of each cabin.
The design is rustic, but you'll be far from roughing it. Beds are comfy, with extra blankets for the cold nights. For couples into snuggling, there's no better place to stay.
In conclusion, l can't speak highly enough of Bear Creek Cabins, it has become, and remains our favorite getaway, truly a diamond in the rough.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We choose The Cabins from Tripadvisor listings as a "halfway" meeting place for a family get together and access to the Gila and Silver City. We had excellent service making the rez, but somewhat disjointed communications process. On arrival we were helped in every way, getting settled, finding eateries and info about the are. The cabin (cabin three) was huge and perfect with two bedrooms upstairs and a large kitchen and living room area combined, complete with slight smokey aroma that let you know you were in the 'tall pines". There was plenty of firewood available for indoor and outdoor warmth and cooking) The cabin access was a long walk way that felt like you were entering a tree house (well protected walk and porches for children and pet safety). The porches put u squarely in the pines! Access to the bedrooms were fairly steep stairs, carpeted with good handrails. There are a number of these cabins in the area yet they stay very much individual and fairly private. The cabins are pet friendly. All in all a wonderful retreat in New Mexico.

Room Tip: Cabin three was the largest and excellent for two couples.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESMotteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in cabin 9 in early October. The setting is beautiful if you like the forest and outdoors. There are 2 beds upstairs and a large (for a cabin) living room downstairs, bathroom, and shower. There is a fireplace, and plenty of dry firewood provided in a wood box on the front porch, alongside the picnic table. We had a roaring fire going in no time, and it really added a special touch to our night in "the cabin in the woods". The area is landscaped very nicely, and the general location is very quiet. Rates are fairly stiff, however, as I think our bill came to $132.00, probably due to the proximity to the Gila Cliff Dwellings. I would definitely stay here again, however, and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in this area. The quarters are spiffy clean, and the manager was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews