We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pojoaque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cities of Gold Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pojoaque
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My construction crew begged me not to make their reservations again at this hotel. Our stay was over the course of month and each room was the same. Wallpaper was peeling badly in several places in each room, there were no outlet covers on several electrical outlets and shocked one of my guys, and the showers had mildew in them.

We spoke with the front desk without any response. The restaurant isn't much better and my crew refuses to eat there.

A complete disappointment! Do not stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
9
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The room was dirty--mildew in the grout on the tub and dust and it was in need of repair. The wallpaper was coming off, the HVAC was missing knobs.etc. While the service was good, this place needs a good cleaning and upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LChancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pojoaque hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

This is terrible! I am disappointed ....i don't even know where to start. The place is completely run down. The room i am staying in (yes still here) a disaster. The wallpaper is peeling of the walls the lamp shade looks like its been chewed on by my pitbull, the blackout curtain looks like it has buckshots in it, the arm chair has tears in it, tv is old i asked for a room on the bottom floor as i am disable and they didnt have any...i made a reaervation a few days prior to my stay and was told it was not a problem. Also the walls are so thin you can here the people in the next room and the mattress you can feel every single spring in it.. Had i gotten this room free it would take away just a tiny bit of the eww factor not much but some....however since at check out i am paying for this room only adds insult to injury...harsh? Yes but true...never again will i make a mistake and book at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chryslerlovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have been coming to this hotel for numerous years and have watched it decline I'm quality and service but this time it was "bad". They did not have our reservations, they refused to give us our promised promotional rate and had absolutely no competence at check in. In addition, they claimed we did not inform them of our pets and tried to charge $50 more for the room and asked us to move t a room with ripped carpet chewed walls and poorly cleaned. The lady manager and I'm stretching it to call her a lady claims we lied about the pets. The record of the dozen or so times we stayed before would clearly show that we always had our pets. So we were forced to leave and move to La Quinta in Santa Fe

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bio_Salesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I work in Los Alamos and sometimes stay overnight at Cities of Gold Hotel. I've stayed there about six or seven times so far and it's always been comfortable and clean. The restaurant near the lobby is convenient and has a pretty good menu. I would definitely recommend staying here for anyone traveling or working nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 341220BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Quality room for a promotional rate! Although we booked a non-smoking room we were given a smoking room. Couldn't stay in there (smelled extremely of smoke) they transferred us without hesitation. Small queen beds but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teekcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The place is a little run down, but still quite all right. Rooms are very spacious; beds are comfortable and of recent vintage. Staff is courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: They have a smoking and no-smoking wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pojoaque
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,222 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
887 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,573 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,060 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cities of Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cities of Gold Hotel

Property: Cities of Gold Hotel
Address: 15 Mi North of Santa Fe, Pojoaque, NM 87501
Region: United States > New Mexico > Pojoaque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pojoaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 124

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing