We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very overpriced with code violations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Portales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Portales
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portales
Moriarty, NM
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very overpriced with code violations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went to the website for Super 8 to book a room for graduation. The price was way high, okay, mark up for graduation. I indicated that we would be travelling with one dog. The room was charged as a non-refundable 93+ bill, no pet charge indicated. On arrival, there was yet another 16+ charge for the pet fee. The room, well, they say a picture is worth a thousand words, so here's a red-tag code violation photo of our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie0584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Super 8 Portales, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your recent review detailing your stay at our hotel. Upon researching your reservation stay, it appears that you booked your reservation through a third party company (not Super8.com). That would explain the higher rate (third party booking companies usually add a commision to our rate of the day). We are definitely a pet-friendly hotel (as listed on the third party booking websites); however, our pet fee is assessed at check-in at our hotel (not included in your third party booking rate), and this is why you were under the impression that you were charged twice for your pet fee.

In regards to the smoke alarm issue, I truly apologize for the smoke alarm not being in place during your stay. We really fell short on this occasion. It was noted by housekeeping upon your checkout, and promptly replaced by our maintenance staff.

I sincerely hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    46
    41
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
16
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We checked into Super 8 Portales,NM my 4 yr old and I had to walk a mile or so before a Sheriff officer came to give us assistance and kindly took us to Super 8 right before midnight and there we found the best service. Craig at front desk he knew we were cold and he assisted us from A-Z he provided us w a charger and food for my lit one who was cold and hungry. Best place I ever stayed in and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g81madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Super 8 Portales, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review detailing your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding the friendly, helpful service provided by our front desk attendant (Craig). Your compliments have been shared with our staff. We look forward to the opportunity to provide the same quality service to you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

So I have stayed here several times this fall and it has been consistent. As others have said the hall way is muggy and warm but the rooms are nice. Has been clean every time and the staff is approachable. Simple breakfast is nice. I have stayed in other motels in the area and this is the best value based on clean updated facilities. I would have just put average... as it is a good middle of the road but the consistency gives it more. I never worry about what I will find and I know that if it is out the ordinary... pretty sure they would work to make it right. I'll be back and try to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Super 8 Portales, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to submit your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is nice to hear that your stays with us have been consistant as far as quality and service, and yes, if there was ever a time that you did happen to find something out of the ordinary, we would gladly go above and beyond your expectations to make it right. After all, we strive to give all of our valued guests, such as yourself, the most pleasurable stay possible.

Thank you once again for providing your feedback, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portales
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portales
18.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Clovis
Econo Lodge Clovis
#8 of 13 in Clovis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Clovis
Hampton Inn Clovis
#3 of 13 in Clovis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clovis
20.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clovis
18.7 mi away
Super 8 Clovis
Super 8 Clovis
#2 of 13 in Clovis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portales

Property: Super 8 Portales
Address: 1805 W 2nd St, Portales, NM 88130-9364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Portales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portales 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Completely Renovated and Conveniently Located near Eastern New Mexico University and within a Short Distance of Several Fine Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Portales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portales
Portales Super Eight
Portales Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing