We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner.”
Review of Trading Post Cafe

Trading Post Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Both times we have eaten there, food and service have been excellent. Nicely decorated and quiet place. Food is a little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    35
    10
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
rinconada, NM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place for lunch”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I had lunch here with a friend; delicious pasta, good service, and nice environment. We'll go back again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
283 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a brief visit in Taos (visiting my wife's aunt) and had lunch here on our last day. I had their daily special salad, Mozzarella Salad and my wife had their Tuscan Sandwich. Both were beautifully presented and were delicious. The restaurant is nicely decorated and has lots of artwork on the walls representing the work of local artists. We would welcome the opportunity to return to try other items from their menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great and Consistent”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We always head to the south end of town when we are taking guests out or want a break from the kitchen. Excellent menu and service, nice ambiance. Always a huge selection of daily specials and cannot beat the fresh bread with olive oil and balsamic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude hostess starts off the evening poorly”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We just moved to the Taos area... We where told about this restaurant and that it was a great place to enjoy dinner. My partner and I where not dressed up because we had been moving in all day.. We had jeans and button shirts...hardly scrub attire though. The hostess immediately gave us a look then asked if we wished to "Sit in the Bar"... We said "No"... She said that their where very few available tables and that we would need to "Sit in the corner". We then entered the dining room to see MANY open tables. Shortly after another casual couple received similar banishment to the back of the restaurant in a corner. The waitress on the other hand was very nice. I'm vegetarian and found the menu to be limiting to my dinner choices. I was charge $4.00 extra to LEAVE OFF a sauce with chicken stock. My partners dinner was good but not great. My ravioli was average at best with very little mushroom & cheese in it. Spent $60.00 total to be insulted, sit in the corner and get average food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trading Post Cafe also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Ranchos De Taos, Taos
 

Been to Trading Post Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing