We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stop over for the night - Location & View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Rail RV Park & Campground

Cedar Rail RV Park & Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Rail RV Park & Campground
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stop over for the night - Location & View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is the perfect stop over for the night - Very nice and accomodating owners, never been rude to us at all over the past 11 years we have been going there.
We stay here every trip to Colorado and back
Amazing view and can't beat the location - Right off I-25
Call ahead to make sure they have a spot for your rig.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachtripper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here overnight while on the way to CO. The scenery was really nice, the bath house was immaculate and open all the time. We would stay here again definitely. It is a gravel parking lot, which was fine with us. Be sure and make reservations, the park was full when we were there. Great for a stop over place but not much to do there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LISA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

It is a large gravel parking lot right off of I-25. Bathhouse was clean, as was the laundry room.

When checking in, you are given nothing, no map, no rules, no nothing.

Fine for a night but that's it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyBKDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed there earlier this month in a large RV w/ fours slides. Place was very clean and well taken care of, management stayed an extra hour after normal closing time to greet us and to make sure we found our site. Really loved the location at the top of the pass.

Downside: reserved our site over the internet a month early. Got a call two days prior to arrival and was told we would have to change sites. After we got to the site, we discovered that we were basically on the entrance/exit drive. A large fifth-wheel was on the opposite side of the drive from us. This prevented us from extending our sides on the passenger side of the rig (for fear of them being hit) and preventing access to a number of our drawers, etc.. inside our rig.

BTW, the site we originally reserved would have allowed full extension of all slides, and it was taken up by a 45 footer with towed car.

While we liked the campground, and management went the extra mile for us, I have to question why we got booted from a reserved site and stuck with a too narrow site.

Finally, DO NOT rely on GPS to find the campground. GPS/Google will route you to downtown Raton, or about six miles from the campground.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhotTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch
Level Contributor
219 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

RV section is unshaded gravel. Bathrooms are large and clean. However, the tent camping area was dirt. When we had a long and loud thunderstorm, the whole area turned into a sloppy, muddy mess. We nearly got stuck trying to get out without a 4x4. Our camping gear and cars were covered in mud as were our dogs and our shoes.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Raton hotels

Everywhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

We recently stayed at Cedar Rail Campground up on top of Raton Pass, NM. This was a very nice park with friendly and helpful owners. Everyone affiliated with the office was very warm and always available. The park is well maintained and we appreciated being led to our site. Beautiful view of the Sangre de Christo Mts. off in the distance. Located just about 10 miles south of historic Trinidad, CO and about 10 miles north of Raton, NM makes it an ideal location to take day trips around the area. We stayed two weeks. It was wonderfully cool in August and we enjoyed the fresh air!!! We had deer come through the park and I've never had so many hummingbirds at one feeder at one time. We would highly recommend this campground and will look forward to another opportunity to visti ourselves.

Helpful?
4 Thank katiesmemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raton hotels
12.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
13.4 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Raton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
11.9 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Rail RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Rail RV Park & Campground

Property: Cedar Rail RV Park & Campground
Address: Raton Pass, exit 460 on the I-25, Raton, NM 87740
Region: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Raton
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing