We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scattered ashes”

Sugarite Canyon State Park
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kaktovik, Alaska
Level Contributor
210 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Scattered ashes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great park with fishing and lots of trees. Close to Raton, New Mexico and all the amenities of a town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank broome2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy camp with an amazing view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I loved this place. It was clean, the camp host Mike and Dee were very hospitable. This is remote from Texas and surrounded by gorgeous mountains. There are tons of birds.
The only thing we didn't care for was that where we camped (Lake Alice) the camp toilet was a very built bathroom...which housed a hole in the ground and toilet to sit on. It was a soupy, swamp of icky stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Remote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Very small, remote campground full of wildlife. We saw about 10 deer within two hours of our arrival. We did not see any bears, but the camp host had just seen one on a trail before our arrival. There are special bins for keeping your things locked up and away from the bears. Mike and Dee, the camp host, were so friendly and helpful!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetie1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place to camp. Camp hosts were very helpful. Facilities clean, but showers required traveling to the camp entrance. Hummingbirds were everywhere, and we enjoyed an abundance of other wildlife from our campsite. Follow the instructions regarding bear safety, and watch out for the poison ivy. Ouch!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WonnieWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
510 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the lower campground. It is a popular destination and the spots are in demand, so get there early. Most of the campsites are nicely shaded and protected from the view of neighbors. Just make sure you communicate your plans with the campground host; we left to explore for the day and our spot was given away!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarite Canyon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Sugarite Canyon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing