We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time”

Pappas' Sweet Shop Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Raton
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Description: Family owned restaurant in business since 1923. Our sandwiches are still served on our homemade bread. We have expanded the menu this year to include more home style favorites like meatloaf with homemade mashed potatoes, and spaghetti. We have kept our local Mexican food favorites such as our pancake style enchiladas, stuffed sopapilla,and fajitas. We also have beer and wine to accompany your meal.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I'm at Raton native...once upon a time, this restaurant was a good place to go to. While its got a nostalgic charm, a restaurant is for eating...the food, at best, is mediocre...the service is painstakingly slow. Sad but true; I'll likely never eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 215lovestoeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raton, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boring and slow.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The place has an old folks home feel to it and the wait staff is s,l,o,w,,,, The food isn't anything to write home about either. It's not bad, it's just not very good. The hours are kind of strange and the name says it's a sweet shop. But it's not. It's just an old boring restaurant lacking any energy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hamm0ckjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice surprise.”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Restaurant is old - for me, an enjoyable place. The interior is dated, which I found charming. Stroll around and check out the photos & stuff hanging on the walls while waiting for your food...The waitress was super fun - friendly and personable, and that always makes me enjoy a place. The food had a "home made" taste; desserts were wonderful! I enjoy supporting the locally owned small businesses and will eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dark and dated”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Long-time family owned restaurant. My husband and I ate there twice during our stay in Raton. We were the only couple in the place, but we eat early (around 6:00-6:30). The restaurant is old, worn and dark. Looks like it used to be a fairly large supper club with a long bar. The food was average. The waitress was friendly. We had the chicken salad sandwich, which was actually one of the better ones I’ve ever had.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, locally owned restaurant!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great green chile cheeseburger and french fries. Nice to find a locally owned restaurant in the midst of all the chains here in Raton.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GailGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pappas' Sweet Shop Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pappas' Sweet Shop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing