We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Northern New Mexico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raton Pass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raton Pass Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Magdalena, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of Northern New Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Raton Pass Inn was well reviewed but didn't really say how wonderful and comfortable facility it really was. Clean, interesting, great breakfast and coffee. Right on the Pass Road. It should be your first choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeeScholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
46
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Quick overnight stay while on our way to Yellowstone. Pictures don't do the interior justice and the shower was better than anything I've had in 5 star hotels with multiple heads. Jan the owner is extremely personable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Like staying with family & the price is amazing.

Jan is a doll. We were coming over the pass and lost the call but she was there when we got to the other side and waited for us to arrive even though she was closing for the night.

The room was cozy & super clean. 102 had a huge king bed homey furnishings not like those cookie cutter chains. Loved the vanity/closet. Only draw back: bad pillows double up or bring your own.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarrieSuzieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Traveling between Tucson and Denver, I decided to spend the night at Raton Pass Inn after reading good reviews. They weren't wrong. It is an old motel gradually being renovated by the attentive owner about 1 minute off I-25. She even checked the room for me to insure that everything was in order. Everything I needed was there--microwave, small fridge, TV. Handing me a map, she recommended places to eat in town, and the next morning offered a very nice breakfast spread with cereal, muffins, yogurt, waffles, juice, coffee, etc. You should call first since she closes for some of the winter months.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGB1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Very clean and friendly hotel with easy access to Interstate. Excellent breakfast. This is the best place we stayed while on a Colorado vacation. We would definitely stay there again. Don't be put off that this is not a corporate establishment. It has a personal touch that makes it special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and one of his buddies were traveling to Colorado to play golf. Raton was the perfect place to spend the night and I found the Raton Pass Inn on TripAdvisor. My husband and his friend said it was the cleanest place they had ever stayed. Jan was everything that I had read about her. After I called and made a reservation, I felt as if I had a new best friend. I cannot wait until we head to Colorado in the fall. I want to experience the Raton Pass Inn for myself. And the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Jan at Raton Pass does what she does very, very well. For the price of a modest motel you get a bed and breakfast feel to your experience, with wonderful attention to details. Friendly, well-appointed with everything you need, tastefully decorated rooms, personal attention, very comfortable beds, yummy simple breakfast, quiet, and a gorgeous view when you step out the door. Sadly, there were no milk chocolate kisses mixed in with the dark ones waiting on your dresser. Nice, nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bessieT-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.7 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Raton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raton Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raton Pass Inn

Property: Raton Pass Inn
Address: 308 Canyon Dr, Raton, NM 87740-3717
Region: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#5 Family Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Raton Pass Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Raton Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raton Pass Hotel Raton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing