We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Rip off rates at Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Rip off rates at Front Desk”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

MAKE YOUR RESERVATION ON-LINE!!! I was quoted $133 when I called from the road, but found the Govt rate of $80 on Apollo and a Sr. rate of $124. So DON'T BELIEVE THEIR LINE that you won't find a better rate on-line!!
While the staff may be Wiley on the rates, they were very nice and attentive when we got there. The hotel is very well decorated. But, the walls in the rooms are paper thin. We could hear conversations on both sides and across the hall. In Rotan, there are 9 decent hotels and this one is by far the most expensive, even if you book on-line.

Room Tip: BOOK ON-LINE or Pay a premium rate that isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
joelinda,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    78
    24
    12
    2
See reviews for
139
101
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed there on Mar 3 on our way home from a 12 day SW trip. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed at the entire trip. We stayed at Holliday Inn Express in Bernalillo, NM (excellent) and Salina, KS. Nothing wrong with the room or service. Just the value. I guess lack of competition holds the rooms high in the area. Another negative, but minor, was the weird elevator location. A positive was the free snacks (ham sandwiches and salsa) provided. If coming out of Santa Fe heading north on I-25, I would opt for trying to find a room in Trinidad, CO. I just can't rate higher due to the value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
gsr,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is hands down the best one I have ever stayed in.

The hotel staff are some of the most friendly and helpful that I have ever encountered and are on par with 4 & 5 diamond hotels. They are friendly, recommend things to do, things to see etc.

The rooms are super nice, and 100% spotless clean.

The breakfast staff are super sweet as well, and go out of their way to make you feel welcome in their small town.

I cannot wait until our next drive through Raton so we can visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brando09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaktovik, Alaska
Level Contributor
212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stay here every time I go through Raton, NM. It is clean, safe, and reasonably priced. The owner and staff go out of their way to ensure one has an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broome2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. The staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. Told us about things to do in the area, how to get there, and tips for when we were there. The breakfast is top notch, much better than anything I was expecting. Overall, I will definitely be staying here again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike762414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is by far the best Holiday Inn Express that we have ever stayed at. The entire staff was enjoyable and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. The young man working the front desk greeted everyone in our family and was very enjoyable to talk with. At breakfast the next day two employees kept everything stocked and cleaned greeting everyone who entered the dining room. As we were leaving our room the housekeeper stopped to thank us for our stay and wish us a good day. Absolutally and outstanding place to stay. Thank You!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

What a treat to find a Hotel that really cares about their visitors. This place is by far the friendliest and very clean compared to what else is out there for the price. They serve a wonderful hot breakfast with fun loving/caring employees! This is not a 5star breatkfast restaurant but for what you get this place is the best. The rooms and entire hotel are very clean. I decided I will only stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotels for my road travels from this point forward. We also stayed in the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Wichita Falls, TX and found it to be the same. Friendly, Clean and resonably priced! Great job they are doing! They are popping up in all the small towns across the country.

Room Tip: The only downside to both of the hotels we stayed in, Raton and Wichita Falls, be sure you call for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmae26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.4 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Raton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
19.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Address: 101 Card Avenue, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Raton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#4 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great hotel in Raton? Enjoy a western experience in Raton, New Mexico at the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton. Located in the mountains of Northeastern New Mexico, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton offers exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable lodging to travelers on I-25 and Highway 87. We now have 34 new luxury suites including two-room Kid's Suites and private spa suites. Our guests are welcomed with a complimentary evening Priority Club social and our indoor swimming pool and hot tub are open 24 hours for play and relaxation at any time. Enjoy the new Express Start complimentary breakfast bar featuring the famous cinnamon roll. Our new meeting/banquet room comfortably seats 40-75 people and we would love to host your next retreat meeting or seminar. Conveniently located equidistant (220 miles) from Denver, Albuquerque, and Amarillo. We are just one and a half hour from some of the finest snow skiing in the world, and the outdoor enthusiasts will love the viewing opportunities for deer, elk, bear, mountain lion and other species. Trout fishing at Lake Maloya in Sugarite State Park is only 8 miles away. Famous Vermejo Park Ranch is only 34 miles west of our hotel. While in Raton it is well worth a stop at our new Visitor's Center and Chamber office located one mile north of our Hotel. Come and enjoy the pure enchantment of our hotel and our wonderful community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Raton Hotel Raton
Holiday Inn Raton
Raton Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing