We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ryland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ryland
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Great hotel, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had a great visit to this wonderful hotel. The staff were warm and friendly, and my visit was just delightful! Would definitely recommend to my friends and family when they go to Red River, New Mexico to visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    20
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our 7th time in Red River to ski. This place was definitely the most fun we've had. The cabins were being upgraded, and our room was very nice with a full kitchen, flat screen, even new paint. They have a big courtyard right on mainstreet where we grilled out and had a bonfire while the kids played on the playsets. The new manager came out and got the bonfire going and gave us stuff for smores! A bunch of guests came out and and we had a great time. They have bikes and sleds that they let us use too. It was cheaper than the other hotels we've stayed at in town and a lot better. This is our second time staying here and it's gotten a lot better. They've made a lot of improvements and have a new manager. We'll be back!

Room Tip: tell them if you want to have a bonfire, and they'll hook it up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Went to red river and checked into Hotel Ryland, the room was better than expected! The customer service from the staff was great! When we needed anything they were very easy to get a hold of and had plenty of suggestions for things to do while in town. Best hotel I have stayed at in a long time. They are on top of everything all the time it seems like and I will definitely be staying here again when I return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

When we arrived at Hotel Ryland there was no staff on duty of any kind. The keys wre left on the tablein the rooms. Only one of the rooms had heat on. We had to start our one heater and turned on the gas fireplace. We went to have dinner and when we came back the co2 deterecter was going off at which point we called the management who never called us back. We then called the fire dept. They came and cleared the suite and checked 3 of us for co2 poisioning. The manager finally called and we were told to take another room, which we had to clean ourselves(make beds, replace towels etc...). The fireplace in tht room wasn't working, had to fix it myself to stay warm. After threatening to sue the hotel refunded our money. My son-in-law, who was present also wrote a review but it was taken down because the rooms weren't rented in his name. So this is our first hand experience. I promise you we will not be returning to the Hotel Rylan if we ever return to Red River.Thank you Anthony Phelps!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed during spring break (March 2014). The Gibson cabins were recently re-done and were very clean and updated. Nice linens and amenities. The staff was courteous and always available and were seen around the grounds cleaning and making sure we had everything we needed. Will definitely be back to the Ryland!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

FYI - The guy that worked at the front desk informed me that this hotel was put under new management a year ago, and is now called the Hotel Ryland. Reviews from before probably do not reflect the current management. We spent just one night in Red River, and absolutely loved the Hotel Ryland! The rooms are very cute, clean and comfortable. The staff is incredibly friendly, helping with directions and even giving us ice when we needed to fill our cooler. It was also really affordable. We would stay there again in a heartbeat! Wonderful place, highly recommended! Our room had a king size bed in the bedroom part of it, and then had a separate "living room" part with a huge TV and a fold out futon. The bathroom was also very clean and looked newly renovated. Very affordable and very friendly staff!

A couple words of feedback: if possible, it would be nice if the fireplace in our room worked. Also, check-out time is 10 am, which was pretty early for us. When I asked if we could stay until 10:30, they were totally fine with that, so that's good, but the set check-out time of 10 am was a little on the early side in our opinion.

Room Tip: 113 has a king size bed and a pull out couch. Cute room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrrhine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent just one night in Red River, and absolutely loved the Hotel Ryland! The rooms are very cute, clean and comfortable. The staff is incredibly friendly, helping with directions and even giving us ice when we needed to fill our cooler. It was also really affordable. We would stay there again in a heartbeat! Wonderful place, highly recommended!

A couple words of feedback: if possible, it would be nice if the fireplace in our room worked. Also, check-out time is 10 am, which was pretty early for us. When I asked if we could stay until 10:30, they were totally fine with that, so that's good, but the set check-out time of 10 am was a little on the early side in our opinion.

Room Tip: Room 113 was nice. King size bed with a pull out couch as well. Could sleep 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrrhine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
13.0 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
22.9 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryland

Property: Hotel Ryland
Address: 505 E. Main Street, PO Box 836, Red River, NM 87558 (Formerly Lazy Miner Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your Red River vacation at the Hotel Ryland. Under new ownership, our historic Red River hotel is nestled in the heart of Red River. You will love the hotel suites, cozy cabins and the fabulous location near restaurants, shops, galleries and Red River special events. Close enough to crawl to the local saloons, live music and dancing. In town for skiing? The Red River Ski Area slopes are located one block behind the hotel and the hotel offers a free On Demand Shuttle to any of the 3 Red River chair lifts or anywhere else in town. AT A GLANCE: Situated on Main Street in the center of downtown Red River, New Mexico. TheHotel Ryland offers guests a budget friendly and stylish place to say during their Red River vacation. This boutique Red River hotel is conveniently located in the middle of historic Red River, near the river, Copper chair lift, shopping, great dining, shopping and night life. The budget friendly hotel suites and cabins are ideal for an extended stay, weekend ski trip, romantic getaway, family reunion or any special event. Feel at home in the cabin inspired design, rich earth toned color scheme and comfortable furnishings. Enjoy separate living and sleeping area's. Relax and enjoy a movie on the flat screen T.V. Or indulge in the luxurious triple sheet bed linens and the premium bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Miner Hotel
Hotel Ryland Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing