We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Bears Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Bears Lodge
Holyoke, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GREAT place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My granddaughter & I stayed here for 5 nights on a grandmother/granddaughter trip in June, in a 2 bedroom cabin. We LOVED it!! The cabin was super-clean & comfy.....the owners go above & beyond the call of duty, even came to our cabin & figured out how to set my TV to close-captioned option so that I could enjoy TV in the evenings. 2 nights a week, they have a s'mores roast on their huge nice deck, everyone can bring drinks or food, or nothing, just join them. The cabin entrances are located at the back of the Main Street lodge office, so it's very quiet. There are flowering plants on each cabin deck & also chairs, so it's a very enjoyable experience, we had an AWESOME time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie_1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin,Tx.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed three nights in an efficiency unit. Very clean, nicely decorated, all the basics, microwave, coffee maker and mini frig. Great water pressure and lots of hot water. Very comfy bed with nice soft linens. Great dinner advice from Chris, Sundance, wonderful food and service! Weather was cool, cloudy and wonderful, the reason we went! To get away from the 100 degree heat

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed one night in one of the efficiency units. It was absolutley charming. The lodge was very peaceful and you couldn't ask for a better location. the Queen size bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. If you have time for a walk, take advantage of the route next to the river, which is close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for 10 days in July. We were lucky enough to have Cabin 1, with 3 bedrooms. The owners Debbie and Chris live on site and make sure that you are treated like family. Their daughter Jenny is also working there and can provide childcare for guests of the Lodge. Since buying the Lodge a couple of years ago they have added all new beds and updated the rooms. While we were there they were expanding the Wi-fi availability for the Cabins. The kitchen had all of the needed equipment and Debbie even brought us an iron one day to get ready for our family photos. They have also created a wonderful outdoor area with seating, a swing and a fire-pit. They have also added some outdoor games for families and kids. At least three days a week they invite all of the quests to the pit for s'mores. They take the time to know all of the guests and are more than willing to spend time with everyone. Do not miss the opportunity to sit and talk with Chris and Debbie (you will also enjoy their British flair). If you really want to make an impression, bring Chris a Boddington's! We felt at home with our stay and would not hesitate to highly recommend (and have) this Lodge to friends and family. We have been going to Red River for the 4th of July for 6 years and this was absolutely the best stay we have had. We have already booked 2014!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CowboyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

What's not to like? We stayed in cabin 5, closest to the river. It was clean and easy to spend 5 days in. We had 2 bedrooms, a bathroom (small shower but only got in the way on shaving day!), a full kitchen and eating area, and a comfortable sitting room. There is a small porch to relax on and listen to the river go by. There's no way a review for this place can leave out the owners, Debby and Chris, whose personalities and friendliness really make your trip complete. The s'mores on the deck at night are such a nice way to top off the evening.

While in town, I checked out the other places we could have stayed, and none were better than Three Bears. We're planning another trip back soon, hopefully we'll get cabin 5 again!

This was our first trip to Red River, and we didn't know what we were missing. What a laid-back, quiet town. Being from Colorado, we're used to small mountain towns, but so many of them in Colorado have turned into tourist traps. Red River is authentic. The people are down to earth, the town itself is charming. The weather can't be beat (70s in July?!) and there is so much to do in the mountains. The 4th of July parade can't be beat!

Room Tip: Cabin 5 is closest to the river and has the best view from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_C9232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

This lodge is the best little place to stay if you want to be treated like family. If you need something that's not in your "home away from home" just ask and you shall receive it if at all possible. The cabins have great beds and "bug free" so stay here and you will have a great stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Debbie and Chris are superb hosts and make every guest feel at home. The location of Three Bears makes it perfect for a summer vacation or a winter skiing trip. You will not be disappointed with Three Bears Lodge as a place to stay while in Red River.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waggonerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
13.1 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bears Lodge

Property: Three Bears Lodge
Address: 301 E Main st, Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Red River
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded 1,2,and 3 bedroom cabins located in the center of town. 50 Feet from the river and copper chair lift. Close to all restaurants, bars and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Bears Hotel Red River
3 Bears Lodge
Three Bears Lodge Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing