We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners are great people!!”
Review of Three Bears Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Bears Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The owners are great people!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This place is great! I've stayed here two times in the last 2 years and the new owners are amazing people!!! They have redone all of the cabins, excellent location, lots of fun, and Chris and Debbie are great people!!!

Mr. Wiggler

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misterwiggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Mr. Wiggler ;)

Thanks so much for coming back to stay with us! We really do appreciate you taking the time out to write a great review! Thank you so much! See you next time!

Chris and Debbie (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Chris and Debbie are absolutely wonderful owners! They made our first stay at Red River a great one. Smore's night (Sunday, Tuesdays, and Fridays) are great and really allow you to get to know them and some other guests. 3 Bears Lodge is the place to stay at Red River if you want to feel like you are a part of the family and not just a guest!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT-AC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We really enjoyed our time with you at the firepit! Good luck with school and hope to see you again sometime!

Thanks,

Chris and Debbie (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa Park, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had an amazing, much needed vacation in Red River. 3 Bears Lodge are hands down the best looking cabins in the area. The cabin feel is so much better to that of a hotel or condo. We would stay there again. The only negative is that our neighbor was a chain smoker. 9 out of 10 times that we tried to enjoy our patio we had to come inside because our neighbor was smoking. So although the cabins themselves are smoke free the outside amenities are not. We did call the office but nothing can be done if someone is blowing their second hand smoke on us outside. I wish there was a designated smoking are. On that note, the owners are the sweetest people ever and will try their best to accommodate you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza N Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Liza and Don,

Thanks for the review! We appreciate it very much! We are sorry if the gentlemen smoking on his porch affected your trip. As you pointed out, our cabins are strictly non smoking. We have built decks, patios and picnic areas where smokers and non smokers can enjoy the facility. Our intentions are to accommodate all of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future!

Thanks,

Chris and Debbie (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

For the second year in a row, we met for our family reunion at Three Bears in Red River. Folks came from Texas, Wyoming, and Arizona. We truly relaxed and enjoyed our time together. Debbie and Chris were away, but Jennie did an excellent job of taking care of everyone and making the kids feel extra special. (thank you for making sure Jackson washed his hands before helping with the s'mores!). The rain held off til the end of each day and the mountain thunderstorms were spectacular! While the beds are very comfortable, the cabins were built many years ago and the rustic charm is accompanied by creaks. We agree with others that there is not a better place to stay in Red River!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pm512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3BearsLodgeRR, Manager at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time out to write a review! The kids were so much fun... especially when we renamed the cats! Jackson was a ton of help with the smores! Hopefully see you guys next summer - same time!

Jenny (Baby Bear)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garwood, Tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Seeing snow just doesn't happen for us around here in Southeast Texas. So during the Winter Break we headed north. Three Bears Lodge was perfect for our family. As soon as we checked in and our boys played in the snow for the first time, the deer and the ducks showed up for some snacks. I got some great pictures. The cabins were clean and cozy. I planned all of our meals beforehand. We made a quick trip to the local store to get our cold stuff. We wanted to save money by cooking most of our meals. I brought a small Christmas tree and all of our Christmas presents. We woke up to our first white Christmas ever! It was beautiful! For once nobody cared about the presents. The skiing was great and we even took a picture with Santa. Red River is a perfect place to learn to ski. Our boys were zipping around within 2 days of lessons. JImmy was their favorite instructor. What a memorable holiday for our boys. We had to skip last year, but have already booked our trip for this Christmas. We can't wait to get back to the mountains especially since while I'm writing this it is 100+ degrees outside!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZ1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks for the review! We love the photos you shared! Christmas is such a great time up here in Red River!!! See you next time!!

Chris and Debbie (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyoke, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My granddaughter & I stayed here for 5 nights on a grandmother/granddaughter trip in June, in a 2 bedroom cabin. We LOVED it!! The cabin was super-clean & comfy.....the owners go above & beyond the call of duty, even came to our cabin & figured out how to set my TV to close-captioned option so that I could enjoy TV in the evenings. 2 nights a week, they have a s'mores roast on their huge nice deck, everyone can bring drinks or food, or nothing, just join them. The cabin entrances are located at the back of the Main Street lodge office, so it's very quiet. There are flowering plants on each cabin deck & also chairs, so it's a very enjoyable experience, we had an AWESOME time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie_1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin,Tx.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed three nights in an efficiency unit. Very clean, nicely decorated, all the basics, microwave, coffee maker and mini frig. Great water pressure and lots of hot water. Very comfy bed with nice soft linens. Great dinner advice from Chris, Sundance, wonderful food and service! Weather was cool, cloudy and wonderful, the reason we went! To get away from the 100 degree heat

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
139 reviews
13.1 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Lodge Red River
Deer Lodge Red River
#15 of 26 in Red River
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bears Lodge

Property: Three Bears Lodge
Address: 301 E Main st, Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Red River
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded 1,2,and 3 bedroom cabins located in the center of town. 50 Feet from the river and copper chair lift. Close to all restaurants, bars and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Bears Lodge
Three Bears Hotel Red River
Three Bears Lodge Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing