We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!!!!!”
Review of Three Bears Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Bears Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

They were clean, great beds, and the hospitality of the owners goes above and beyond! The snores at night are an incredible touch for the younger kids as well as the older ones! We always stay here when we go to Red River!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-mama2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Three Bears Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I continue to rave about this place, but the raves are well-placed. Love the locale, love the cabins, and love Chris and Debbie. /They always act as though I'm the guest they were waiting to see. every time. Like I'm family. I don't expect Hyatt-slick when I stay here and thankfully, that's not what I get. What I get is fun and clean and relaxing and easy. Northern New Mexico at its best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quaycountygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My family came to Red River, NM to attend Octoberfest and take in the mountains. It was my first time staying at Three Bears and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have stayed all over NM and Three Bears is true to the NM vibe and rustic comfort I've come to enjoy. The owners are incredibly friendly and hard working. The place was very clean and they were very accommodating..

Room Tip: Splurge on the 2 bedroom cabin, its worth it if there's more than just 2 people
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texaswildfires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went up for Oktoberfest 2013. Stayed two nights. Price was good. Floors were slanted in one bedroom, so much so, that our two daughters had to flip around on the second night, with their heads at the foot of the bed. Beds were too small for two people and the mattresses too soft. Simple locks on doors are a pain to open at times, especially for someone with arthritis. Kitchen cabinets were rigged to stay shut. Tons of cobwebs in the corners of the ceilings. First night, had nothing to start a fire with in the wood stove. Had to go to the market to get matches and fire starter. Utensils were small and mismatched. Overall, there was no attention to detail. Walls were paper thin on the south side; we could hear conversations pretty decently. We'll never stay there again with too many other nicer places to stay in town.

Room Tip: Not much good to say about them. Owners are very nice, though.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abqcrutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

With regard to the previous review, we are sorry Abqcrutch did not have a satisfactory experience in our mountain cabins. We would, however, like to address some of the points in the review:

1. We are happy that the price/value was considered to be good.
2. The beds, which were considered to be too small, are new queen beds as advertised. Manufactured by Serta.
3. The cabins each have a wood burning fireplace/stove (in addition to gas heat). Unlimited firewood, fire starters, and matches are available free of charge.
4. We strive to give our guest an authentic mountain cabin experience. Our cabins are traditional "Red River" with logs on the outside and knotty pine on the inside. Recent upgrades include - new beds/bedding, new kitchen appliances, new futons, remodeled bathrooms, flat screen television with satellite, and wifi.

We would like to thank Abqcrutch for their input as we continue to strive to improve the guest experience at Three Bears Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in cabin #5 for four nights. The location was great for walking to restaurants, hiking, and shopping in Red River. We enjoyed making friends with the owners and persons staying near our cabin. It was a very peaceful setting, close to the river and a great view of the mountains. We loved our stay, the friendly folks, the gathering around the pit fire and look forward to a return trip to Three Bears Lodge. Thanks for the hospitality! Gene & Sheryl, McPherson, KS

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railsback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at 3 Bears Lodge in Red River NM for 5 days/4 nights, we had cabin 3 - 2 bed/1 bath. We opted to go during the off season (September 16-20) and were not disappointed. Several reviews and photos promised a quaint cabin in the heart of the town and they lived up to expectation. We have stayed at hotels and cabins in many places (including Europe) and this was by far the most clean. The bathroom shower was the first time I did not feel that I needed to wear water shoes. We were pleasantly surprised at the updated condition of the cabins as well. The beds are spring mattress, so bring a foam topper if you are used to sleeping on a Tempur-Pedic like us. Even though it was off season, little touches such as lighted entry ways, s'mores and flowers were a nice touch. Chris and Debbie (owners) are wonderful people and we enjoyed talking to them. We will absolutely come back and look forward to staying there again!

Pros:
- Extremely clean
- Updated shower
- Fully stocked kitchen (including appliances, dishes, cookware, and silverware)
- Fresh towels/paper products daily (if needed)
- Wall heater & fire burning stove
- Cabin decor/comfy pillows
- Less than 100ft from Ski Lift
- Close to center of town
- Close to restaurants
- Owners onsite
- My husband said "s'mores night was fun"

Cons:
- None

Room Tip: Cabins 2-5 are closer to the Ski Lift.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NealCouple05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My family and I had 4 nights of real enjoyment. My grandsons were within walking distance to fish. The owners are great people . They brought a grill to the cabin for us to use at no extra cost, kept clean towels and just a pleasant experience that you don't get in most places.The price was also reasonable AND WILL DEFINATELY USE THEM AGAIN..COMPLETe KITCHEN,,FURNISHED.

Room Tip: Parking is easy, you can drive right beside the porch . or pull up in front of some .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmybooth1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Booth Family,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our cabins. So glad your grandson enjoyed his fishing. (We would have put them back in the water too lol). Hope to see you again sometime!

Thanks,

Debbie and Chris (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#4 of 8 in Red River
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
145 reviews
13.1 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge & Cabins
Riverside Lodge & Cabins
#7 of 26 in Red River
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bears Lodge

Address: 301 E Main st, Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Red River
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded 1,2,and 3 bedroom cabins located in the center of town. 50 Feet from the river and copper chair lift. Close to all restaurants, bars and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Bears Hotel Red River
3 Bears Lodge
Three Bears Lodge Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing