We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, abience is good.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Lodge & Cabins
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Location, abience is good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for one night. They normally rent cabins for a few days but allowed us to stay in a large 2 BR unit for one night as they had availability. No tubs, just old showers, and old everything else, but, what you would expect from an old cabin up in the Mountains. Our unit was right on the highway and it was very hot, so we had to keep all the fans running all night until it cooled off, so lots of road noise until we could finally close our room door. The staff was very friendly, beds and bedding and pillows were well worn, but, overall OK.

Room Tip: Get a room off the highway if you like more peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here primarily for Internet- didn't work and staff wasn't very helpful getting it to work. Had to get a another room at another hotel, which had real fast internet service. So, paid for two rooms one night!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranGo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have mixed reviews of our stay here...and I'm afraid my expectations were too high. I have to remind myself that Red River is a resort community and we're not supposed to be spending a lot of time in the condo; we need a clean place to sleep and cook a meal. During our stay, the lodge was not busy...only six cars in the parking lot, and two were ours. We stayed in a 3 br 2 bath condo - linens were clean, and room was tidy. Decor is extrememly dated and dark -- can't even call it "rustic". (I visited Red River back in the early 80's and I don't think the room has changed much!) There were two heat sources - a wall furnace that didn't seem to be working, and a thermostat controlled stand-alone gas fireplace - and we were comfortable at night as long as we kept the bedroom doors open. There was a "wet drywall" smell that was very strong in my room. When we arrived in our condo the sofas were pulled away from the walls and the cushions were lined up along the wall. A manager stopped by to say they had steamed the sofas and cusions and hadn't had a chance to come back and put things back in their place. All in all, our stay was "ok", but we will find other accommodations when we return to Red River.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Room did not get serviced and had to call twice to get new towels. We made our own bed. Manager not very friendly and of course hot tub did not work. Creaking floor above kept us up all night. Would not stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank iamozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at Riverside for President's day weekend 2012. It was also Mardi Gras in the Mountains, so that was fun. Riverside is a nice property and very close to the Copper Lift. The property fronts Main street and backs to River Street. An interesting feature is that all the units seem to face the center of the complex, which gives it a secluded compound type feel. I was impressed by the nice paved driveways and thruways, and the kids play area. We had a 1 bedroom cabin and it was fine. I think it needed a little attention to detail as our bathroom heater and vent were in disrepair, but we managed. The kitchen was small but Ok. There was very little storage in our unit as there is just not that much room. The bedroom contained two metal shelves with hanging rods for your clothes. The only dresser of drawers was in the living room.

Riverside is a good choice for a RR ski trip. You are about a three minute walk to the lift which is across the street and down a bit. And, you can easily walk to a couple of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy4travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Riverside Lodge was perfect for us. we had two rooms in the lodge that adjoined. Its old and rustic but was exactly what we needed. Rooms were clean, more than enough fresh towels daily, kitchen had utensils and dishes. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable. We will be back for more great sking and a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in 7 and 8 in the lodge 7 had 3 queen beds small bathroom and living room. 8 which adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresazj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Our family just got back from a wonderful trip to Red River,New Mexico. The town is a perfect, laid back family ski town with the most wonderful towns people. The Riverside Lodge & Cabins is a quaint, cabin like hotel with a small town feel so if you are looking for a 5 star spa like experience it is not for you. If you are looking for amazing hospitality, cozy cabin like feel, easy and economical access to ski slopes, no crazy college partiers, outstanding customer service and beautiful scenery all around you, THIS IS THE PLACE! Yes, the hotel has an 80's kind of pine knot look but you have everything you need and the staff is incredibly helpful and kind and it is an incredibly affordable ski trip for families.

Too give you an idea of the amazing town and hotel hospitality---While we were there, my father was hospitalized with heart issues. My mother needed to get to Taos from Red River as soon as possible. With a storm on the way, we feared driving in the coming weather. With the help of the staff at Rivers side Lodge and the Marshall/Pastor, we arranged for the pastor's wife to drive my mother safely to meet with my father in TAOS. Which she did! It was amazing how everyone helped out in an incredible stressful situation. I was FLOORED by all their kindness. To top it off, the manager at the Riverside Lodge and Cabin, Patty, called when we got back to see how my dad was doing. She and the whole staff were wonderfully kind and genuinely caring.

We will be going back next year for sure!

Tips on rooms: The 2bed/2baths---12,13,14,15 are more than enough room for 4-5.
The 2 bed/1 bath---3c,4c,5c are what we stayed in and are great for budget travelers. No more than 4 people. Older than the above but still everything you need.

Room Tip: Tips on rooms: The 2bed/2baths---12,13,14,15 are more than enough room for 4-6. It is a 2 story wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HouJoneTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
22.8 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
13.2 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge & Cabins

Property: Riverside Lodge & Cabins
Address: Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Riverside Lodge & Cabins Hotel Red River
Riverside Lodge And Cabins
Riverside Lodge & Cabins Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing