We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for Red River lodging w kitchenette” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Shadows Lodge

Mountain Shadows Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Shadows Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for Red River lodging w kitchenette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The property is in great condition, well-maintained. Our room was exactly as shown in the photos on their website - knotty pine interior and small kitchentte area. Beds and linens were comfortable. Towels were better quality than any hotel. They were having a bit of a heat spell when we arrived at 7 pm on a week night, and 2 fans had been placed in our room to cool things off. Warning - Air conditioning seems to be rare in Red River, but apparently it's not often needed...sleeping was delicious with 40 degree air coming in the windows. I liked that this lodge is a bit away from the center of town where the few shops etc are. It was not riverfront. You can walk down the drive to the river, but for some that may be an issue. The best part of our visit was that the owners actually came to our door at least once a day to make sure all was well and find out if we needed anything. They shared their charcoal fire with us for grilling one evening, and produced a large kitchen knife quickly for our watermelon. Very fiendly folks and a meticulously cared for property; we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions carefully, or call the woners for help in picking the best room for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixie19_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

My husband and I have been going to Red River for 15 years and stumbled upon Mountain Shadows Lodge 9 years ago after a rafting trip in Colorado and stayed the weekend. We enjoyed the quaintness and comfort of the rooms so much that for the next 3 years after that, we gradually increased the number of nights we would stay at the Lodge. For the past 5 years, we have spent our entire vacation there and thoroughly enjoyed it. Terry and Larry, the owners, have invited us into their home for home cooked meals. Larry is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Red River and how the town came to be and loves to share these stories which has made our visits to Red River even more enjoyable. Terry is extremely friendly and helpful and respectful to all of her guests. They have told us about many scenic routes to take in and around Red River and none have disappointed us. The rooms are decorated by Terry in a way that makes you feel right at home. It is a great place to stay if you are ever in Red River. Be sure to watch for the hummingbirds right outside the room and the deer that roam in the field across from the Lodge. Gorgeous Scenery!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dionne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

I have to say that I stayed here for the first time in July 2009. I went with my parents on vacation to Red River and we stayed and Terry and Larry's lodge for 2 weeks. Not only are they friendly people and take care of the room reservations, but they also treat you like family. I honestly felt like I was a guest in their home rather than a "number" staying in a hotel. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The room was great with just the right amount of room for the 2 week stay. I love the kitchen/dining area. It is very cozy. One of the things I enjoyed most was sitting out on the deck and watching the hummingbirds on the feeders and watching the deer in the field across from the hotel. This is really a beautiful place to stay for a mountain getaway and the staff is very friendly and will get you anything you need at any time.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkitchens79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texico, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

This lodge is situated just off a river with all the beauty of mountain living. My husband and I go every year and often multiple times a year as life allows. Its well worth the drive as the town has lots to offer. The inn keepers (last name Pattersons) are absolutely wonderful. Larry guides fishing and even took us on a four-wheeling trip up Greenie Peak. His wife, Terry is also great. She is generous and the last four times we have stayed there, she has offered to have us join them for dinner--often something we wouldn't cook ourselves. Our last stay was during Labor Day Weekend. We were able to take another couple who was equally pleased with our "treasure find." The lodge is clean and each room is themed. Even down to the bath towels, nothing is bland--every room we have stayed in has colorful towels to match the decor (not the plain jane, white, scratchy towels you find at other places in Red River). We often choose a kitchenette for the ease of having a place to store sodas and bottled water, however, the smaller units are great as well. We personally have stayed in rooms 1, 10 and 7. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a quick weekend trip, a longer stay, and definitely over the holidays. You'll be pleased to find the service, rooms, and staff personality exceed your expectations!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bodydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

After reading the webpage on this inn, I decided it sounded nice. When we arrived Terry stated we were not scheduled to arrive until the next day. When I produced her confirmation letter, she retracted her statement and stated this was the 3rd time that day she had written down the reservation wrong for a room. Lucky the room was available and we were able to check in. .

Upon looking around for the smoker/grill that was advertised on the deck, we found they have no grill and the deck has no chairs or tables to use and is about to fall down. Not what twas stated on their website.

The room was small but ok. We did have a coffee maker, but only enough coffee for two pots and we were staying 4 nights. We we ask for more we were told she had ran out and gave us one filter and enough coffee for 1 more pot. She made no effort the rest of the stay to buy more coffee for the rooms. Several of the guests I spoke to commented on this. If you stay here and want coffee I would suggest bringing your own.

Each morning you will have no hot water, meaning no water from the hot faucet at all from about 6am until 10am. We were told it was due to each room taking showers?? If you want to shower here, get up early or stay past checkout at 10am, which you will be charged for late check out.

We were also informed at checkin in a written letter, tthat even though we were paying for a room at this property, they owned it and lived there, so we were only visitors, not guests. I have never stayed at any property that the owner or manager had an attitude as here.

I did not have a problem with no room service, as I really prefer not to have maids in the rooms.

Lots of other options in this great little town, but I would not recommend staying here. At $162.00 per night you can do a lot better.

Helpful?
15 Thank dynaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
1.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
12.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
22.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
12.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Shadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Lodge

Property: Mountain Shadows Lodge
Address: 1301 E. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 328
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Lodge Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing