We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper King Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copper King Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the lodge the week after the ski season closed. Our stay was amazingly relaxing and peaceful. The staff is excellent and friendly. Audie was extremely helpful and friendly. He gave great recommendations for places to eat and fish. We caught our limit in trout!

We will definitely stay at the Copper King Lodge on our next visit to Red River.

Room Tip: Ask for a river front unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
126
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at Copper king lodge. The couple that owned it were so friendly and helpful. They helped us find some town attractions and even drew us out a personal hiking map. I will be coming back to this lodge and this lodge only!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in their efficiency room for a second year and it is just a perfect room for us. The small kitchen, no stove, is just enough along with the free access to grills to cook for ourselves. Assigned parking is an added touch. Room is relatively quiet, everything was clean, functioned well and there was plenty of hot water. Ski in/out from the copper chair is absolutely a big plus. If you do not have kids whom you need to take to the main lift, this is the perfect place to stay. Short drive if desired. From looking at all of the other options in town, I would recommend Copper King is placed at the top of your list.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Red River NM in the last 5 years. Ski in/out was great, location was close to everything in town, clean rooms and customer service was exceptional, which started even before we arrived and after we left. CKL is the place to stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: upstairs # 18 or #19
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Perfect. The Copper King has the location, location & location. Great service, quality is everywhere, from front desk, to housekeeping to the feel of the Lodge. Right next to ski lift, has a hot tub, river out your door, ducks and deer, playground, grills and so much more. Walking distance to most everyplace in town. Rooms, clean and rustic, yet with all the modern conveniences. Just doesn't get any better than the service and accommodations at Copper King. At the Copper King Lodge you will find the friendliest people in town.

Room Tip: Call early if you want to have any opportunity for a selection. They are the best in town and as su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jc1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

CKL was a great place to stay! Adorable and the kitchen was FULLY stocked. The front desk and the maintenance guy were the bomb....couldn't ask for better customer service, made us feel so welcome! Beds were comfy and the whole cabin feel was perfect! Easy access to everything, hot tub was great after skiing all day. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a perfect place to stay while skiing!! Best customer service ever. I left some valuables in room and they called me a few hours after I left. They went above and beyond to mail me my stuff that same day!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
13.1 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
22.9 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Lodge

Property: Copper King Lodge
Address: 307 E. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper King Lodge is your mountain home for skiing and winter fun, summer vacations, and spring/fall get-a-ways. We are on the river in the heart of town next to the Copper Chair Lift. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copper King Hotel Red River
Copper King Lodge Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing