We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Run, Nice Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This place is dated, but that's almost all ski resort areas. We got the cheapest room, so it was VERY small, but we were creative and used every inch of space. Quick walk to lifts, private hot tubs which we LOVED, great location to food, drinks, etc. The bed is a little hard for my taste and the bathroom was small, but for the price/location, it was a great deal. Front desk was very nice and offered great suggestions of places to eat, things to do, etc. Will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texastraveler0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandJWalker, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We actually do have some brand new units which will be in use soon. (They will be the newest rooms in Red River having never been slept in). These will be very upscale but still with some definite European influence. We are also in the process of remodeling some of our larger cabins but are going for the rustic feel with these (Most of our guests prefer the 'mountain' look and not so much the new and modern). Most of our smaller units have been getting new tile work, new bathtubs, new bathroom fixtures and new flat screen TVs. (We hope to have all of these done by the end of the year). We have been getting some feedback on the new beds we have been buying as far as them being a little on the hard side. We have done surveys and the vast majority of our guests prefer firm beds. Glad you liked the private use hot tubs. We are the only lodge in Red River with two hot tubs so it does allow us to offer the 'private' time use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

First time to this little mountain town. We were impressed by the scenery and the people. Our room was spacious and nice. It had the basics, was decorated nicely and the fireplace was an added amenity (we paid a little extra but it was well worth it) Everything was very clean. We loved our view and the staff could not have been any more polite and courteous!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXGman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Extremely Clean Room, Affordable, Courteous Staff, Beautiful Grounds and Picture Perfect Views! It made for a very enjoyable stay! My husband and I would hike each morning (our favorite was Middle Fork Lake), come back to town and eat at Mountain Treasures cafe and then back to the Alpine for a siesta. We really appreciated that our room was always freshly cleaned with the bed made - it always made for a nice afternoon. We mainly stayed on the property in the evenings and enjoyed the park and the campfire. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests and finding out where they were from and what all they liked about Red River. We will recommend both the hotel and the town!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevensonClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I stayed here and paid almost 200$ a night for a bike race. I checked out at 10am (their checkout time is on the early side) and at 11 they didn't have a bathroom I could use and the woman at the front desk was not helpful at all. She told me to walk to the community center. If I paid 90$ maybe I wouldn't mind but 178$ I could stay at the Ritz for that much.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Here's what we look for in a 'Quality" stay at a hotel and how we would rate the Alpine Lodge in Red River, NM: Overall Appearance of Property? Impressive and very well taken care of. Friendliness and Efficiency of Staff? Front desk person was very nice and friendly but she did not go overboard-she provided us with the essential information and then got us to our room (we had had a long day and were in a hurry to get settled) Cleanliness and Feel of Room? Very clean, new look but still a very warm and comfortable feel to it. Quality of Bedding? Clean bedding and very firm mattress. Type and Quality of Amenities? Loved the park setting along the river, hot tubs were well kept (clean and hot), used the bbq grills each evening and really enjoyed the nightly fire. Our rating of this stay? 9.9 out of 10. Would we come again? Absolutely! Will we recommend to friends and family? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolltide66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We just returned from our 4th visit to Red River. We have stayed at the Alpine every time and it just keeps getting better! The management has added a fire pit to enjoy in the evenings and we loved it. The private use of the hot tub was also appreciated. The location of the Alpine can't be beat; right on the river. All of the employees at the Alpine are friendly and conscientious. The only dissapointment is that they don't allow pets and don't have free wi-fi in every room, only in the office.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I've just returned from my one and only stay at the Alpine Lodge. We attended with a large group, that most likely occupied the majority of their rooms. One reason the hotel was selected was the pavilion. However, after arrival, we were told we could not use the pavilion for our group event. The management was also very unaccommodating when we requested to adjust our stay by one day (rooms were available). I find it interesting that online booking is available, yet our entire party was required to pay in cash three months in advance with absolutely no changes or refunds allowed.

As far as the room goes, most of it was acceptable. We selected a room with one bed and a fold out couch for our two kids. The fold out couch was absolutely horrible. It had a nice big bathroom. However, nothing was replenished during our stay, such as kleenex boxes or plastic cups. Thank goodness we didn't run out of toilet paper.

The only plus is the location which is within walking distance to most everything in downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stegallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 9 in Red River
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Bears Lodge
Three Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Red River
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
150 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
105 reviews
23 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: £80 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River
Alpine Lodge & Hotel Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing