We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location in Red River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Rivers Edge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Best Western River's Edge Lodge is the best pet-friendly inn in scenic Red River. The ground floor riverside rooms offer the most enjoyable location with a nice common deck and a lower lawn area with tables/chairs and a fire pit right beside the small mountain stream. The made-to-order breakfast is excellent. The location is convenient to the town center shops, restaurants, bars, and visitor activities. The ski area's main lift is only a short walk away, and it operates as a tourist attraction taking people up to the mountain top during the summer months. The views are always amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriversedge, Owner at Best Western Rivers Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Just the best "pet-friendly hotel" in Red River? There's only a handful of lodges in that category, but thanks for the compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

When my husband and I were planning our trip to Red River, I wanted some place to stay where I could be in the middle of no where but also within walking distance to everywhere. This fulfilled my wishes. It was right by the river so I could go for a morning run by the river, and we could hear the river from our room with the windows open. This is definitely a place for families, so if you don't want to hear kids running down the breezeway, don't stay here! Fortunately most noise stopped at night after 9:00 or 10:00 so I never heard anything after that. The free breakfasts were great - great egg cook who also doubles as the manager. For the price this is definitely a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Try to get mountain side if you want to be by the river. Second floor will have less traffic but sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriversedge, Owner at Best Western Rivers Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

I must agree, I've always found a busy hotel to be louder but more fun than a half-empty hotel - thanks for that viewpoint!

Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is great for families unless you have young children who still need their afternoon naps and don't sleep like a log. The rushing river, although not that big, can still be an attractive nuisance if your parenting style doesn't include direct supervision. There are rooms that face the river which is literally just within a few feet of the rooms (hm... building codes anyone?). In the summer, the outdoor seating is a really nice touch and the hot breakfast is made to order. The rooms that face the side street are extremely accessible for people who don't like steps or walking through flooded areas after it rains. I think the biggest surprises were (1) how up to date the rooms were, (2) how well maintained the rooms were, and (3) how even the TV remote is reported sanitized. The plumbing and air conditioning (heating) unit is on the noisy side. There isn't much dresser space for clothes. Avoid room 117 due to occasional strange bed vibration issues and loud plumbing noises at times. Btw, it is literally at the base of the ski lift and well within walking distance of plentiful restaurants, parks, and other forms of amusement.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TomatoGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriversedge, General Manager at Best Western Rivers Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your very well thought-out review. I apologize for the vibrations you felt in room 117. That room is next to the laundry room, where we recently installed a new commercial washer which produces 350g force during the 5-minute spin cycle. It was mounted on a 20,000 lb concrete slab under the building, but when we put new tile in the laundry room, the tile installer connected the subfloor back to the slab. We have a contractor coming out to make sure the slab is isolated from the subfloor, and we've been assured this will solve that problem for good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Loved everything about it and will stay here again. The kids in our group loved the stream and it was so relaxing for the adults. We sat by it every evening and got to even had a little fire. Everything was so clean and our rooms felt cozy. We like that the parking lot was big and we had enough room for our trucks and trailers, so the guys liked that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriversedge, General Manager at Best Western Rivers Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review, and happy to hear the kids had fun in the river, I have fun in there too...thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I made a reservation here two months before our trip. When we arrived at 7:30pm the office was closed and locked. I called the number posted on the door and when the manager answered he informed me that he was in Taos and had given our room to a walk-in about 6:30. He claimed that my credit card was declined but I used that card 10 minutes later at another hotel and it went through just fine. I think he wanted to go to Taos and saw a chance to sell out and lock up.

I'm not sure what someone staying there would have done if they needed something after he left. The office was locked and there was nobody around who worked there. Guests seemed to be on their own.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriversedge, Owner at Best Western Rivers Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We have been unable to verify that you had a reservation here. If you can provide us a confirmation number, I will gladly send you a gift certificate good for 100.00 at any Best Western in the world, because if this was really your experience then I am truly sorry and need to get to the bottom of what happened. Our office is open every day of the year from 7:00am to 9:00pm, and in July we are usually open later. For late arrivals we always tape the room key in a sealed envelope to the front door. If our procedure was to cancel reservations that have not arrived by the time the office closed, then you would not be the only reviewer with this complaint - we have late arrivals pretty much every night...thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure where else you can stay that has a river right behind your hotel with live music and a fire! Also the breakfast is made to order! Our only hotel for red river! Thank you for a great time and a great place in town that smack dab in the middle of everything!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Shanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this Best Western last week. Our stay exceeded our expectations in nearly all regards! The room was standard Best Western, comfortable, not fancy, with a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The large flat screen TV was a nice feature. The room was clean, the second floor has no elevator. Some of the rooms have a view of the river which runs directly behind the hotel. The first floor rooms have the best view of the river with tables and chairs right outside the room. For those of us without a river front room, there are tables and chairs set up on the grass right next to the river. At night a fire pit keeps things cozy. One of the best things at this hotel is the manager, Mike Patel. He is very personable, works from dawn to dark, and handled all of our requests efficiently. He makes made to order breakfast in the morning and arranged for a local singer to perform behind the hotel at night! I hope one day Mike is in charge of the entire Best Western Chain!
If you should ever be in the Red River New Mexico area I think staying at the Best Western Rivers Edge would be worthwhile and I hope to travel there again soon.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank nelsonr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Suites
Alpine Lodge & Suites
#5 of 9 in Red River
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Bears Lodge
Three Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Red River
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 9 in Red River
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
127 reviews
8.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
157 reviews
23 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rivers Edge

Address: 301 W. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rivers Edge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only franchised lodge in town, the River's Edge Lodge provides several amenities found nowhere else in Red River, such as air conditioning, free hot breakfast each morning, 42" HDTV's & HBO/SHO/250+ HD channels, and the assurance that we are meeting all of Best Western's increasingly stringent standards. We have the best location in town, with the Red River wrapping around the property's quiet, park-like setting (coming within 20 feet of some of the rooms). The Carson National Forest and a nature trail stretching for miles lie just across the river, and the Red River Ski Area's main Platinum chair lift is literally a few dozen steps away from our lobby's front door. The town's only grocery store and most of the best restaurants are similarly located within a very short walk. Come stay with the River's Edge and we will go the extra distance to make sure your every need is met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Rivers Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River`s Edge Hotel Red River
Best Western Red River
Red River Best Western
Best Western Rivers Edge Red River, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing