We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better on the inside!”
Review of Hidden Springs Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Reserve B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed one night at the Hidden Springs Inn last week. My room was very clean and well equipped with amenities; don't let the exterior turn you away. The price was fair for the location and quality of the accommodation. This inn is actually a roadside motel and very suitable for a one night stop. In fact, it had the best bed on my entire week long road trip. I would stay at the Hidden Springs again if driving through western New Mexico. The only oddities to the stay were i) check-in is by phone (the proprietor was very pleasant and helpful and gave the combination to a nearby security box that contained my room key - phone check-in is available 24 hours a day); and ii) there is no place to eat nearby. There is a diner right on the property that looks very good, but it was closed in the evening and not open on Saturdays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vabud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I spent one night at Hidden Springs Inn on our way to Albuquerque last August. On our two week vacation in Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado we stayed in modest motels, but highly rated by TripAdvisor reviewers. This was by far the the dustiest, and dirtiest motel we stayed in. The room also had that strong mildew odor that seemed to be emanating from the soiled carpet. It had not obviously been shampooed for a long time. The linens and sheets were satisfactory however, and the dinner at the restaurant quite good, but my wife noted that the restaurant was also quite dirty and needed a good cleaning. We travel this way frequently. My wife says she will not stay there again. This motel is Over-Rated !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Getting checked in was a pain in the [--]. We arrived at the motel about 6:30 pm. The cafe was closed. The phone used to check in, when the cafe is closed, didn't work. Drove around and found a lady walking her dog, Fortunately she told us where the owners lived so we went to their house and they went with us back to the motel and got checked in.

After that it was as good as it gets in Reserve.

As I mentioned the cafe was closed so we were going to have drive back to Reserve to eat. The owners offered to cook us a green chili cheese burger so we wouldn’t have to do that. The burgers were excellent.

We stayed there two nights and all was good. If you require a 5 star hotel this is probably not for you. If you're looking for a clean, quite, place run by some very hard working owners trying very hard to please there customers I would recommend Hidden Springs Inn.

Oh by the way the phone used to check in is now working.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We wanted to get out of our hometown of Tucson and had heard south eastern New Mexico was a great destination. We saw that Reserve sat in the Middle of the Gila National Forest and decided that would be our 'base camp'. We found Hidden Springs Inn to be classy but simple and unpretentious and the cafe next door was friendly and warm with a hot wood stove and recipes that rival any 5 star resort. The entire Inn is surrounded by stunning views of the mountains in magnificent Ponderosa pines.
My wife and I can't wait to go back and plan on visiting every season this year. Jenn was very proactive in getting back via email and phone and making sure we were happy. She was also a great help in giving us some tips on the nearby sites.
Jake and Penny

Room Tip: ask for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejakestershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Reserve NM has had its share of hard-luck with its primary employer (a lumber mill) closing in the late 20th century, and nothing to replace it but occasional tourists and hunters. Jenn and her husband have run The Hidden Springs, (and adjoining Adobe Restaurant - 5 STARS!) for some 10 years I understand. Yes, from the exterior the motel looks like an ugly strip motel and that's what it was before -- but the wind blows constantly in this country and the high desert grit sand-blasts the exterior of everything. Inside, however, the rooms and linens are clean, modernized with laminate flooring, functioning refrigerators and microwaves, and the water is hot (after a while, unfortunately). Each room is decorated differently and the beds are far better than merely functional. If you're ready for a stop The Hidden Springs is recommended.

Room Tip: All are quiet at night -- center rooms are probably closer to the hot water heater -- ask to look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were afraid we were not going to find a motel and would have to drive over 100 more miles, so were hoping this inn would be okay. What a surprise. The room was lovely and as nice as any bed and breakfast we had stayed in. I just loved the decor, and everything was fresh and clean. We had a great nights sleep. The cafe was another pleasant surprise. What wonderful, healthy, and delicious food. Wish we could have stayed longer to try more dishes. We enjoyed visiting with everyone there. Very helpful and friendly.
Thank you so much for being there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love-goats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

You check in at the Adobe restaurant - had go in the side door - the front door was locked although people were eating there - took over 1/2 hour to check in with lots of apologies about the computer and several telephone calls were made. Finally got checked in and went to the room that the check-in person couldn't find (there are only 6 rooms) but, despite that we finally found the room (to be fair, this was the front desk person's first day on the job and she was trying very hard to get things right) - comfortable but aged - clean but needed to be 'perked' up. One dim reading lamp for 2 beds. Unscented soaps and shampoos - nice touch. Water pressure was good. Security lock (the kind that rotates out from the frame to meet with a stud on the door was broken and fell off. Not to worry - there's not likely a lot of B&E in Reserve. Room was quiet but cold and the heater is noisy - we turned it off and doubled up the duvets - great! The second 'B' in 'B&B' usually means 'Breakfast' but at Hidden Springs you'll need to pay - although there is a 10% discount for people using the first 'B" (Bed). The meal was good (try the pastries!) and the restaurant is heated by wood stoves and there is a solar photo-voltaic bank on the roof of the motel. Would I stay here again? - If I needed to stay in Reserve, I would.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vittorio_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hidden Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Springs Inn

Address: Box 2-8 HC 62, Reserve, NM 87830-9701
Region: United States > New Mexico > Reserve
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Reserve
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing