We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ the way it should be”
Review of Smokehouse BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smokehouse BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Afton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BBQ the way it should be”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Excellent chopped pork bbq with a choice of sauces. Blackberry cobbler was very good. This restaurant has been in the same location for 23 years, offers a wide range of meals, starting with breakfast burritos. Its longevity attests to value received.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldfuzzy1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in New Mexico”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Still by far the best BBQ in New Mexico, hands down. Returned to Gary's place after probably a 5 year hiatus (I no longer live in the neighborhood). The sauce is divine, not too sweet but sticks to the meat well. The mac & cheese, mashed taters and cole slaw were good. The peach cobbler topped off the wonderful evening, very tasty. It is worth the drive, leave the others in the dust and give Smokehouse a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midnitesun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
“How are they still in business?”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

If you like getting ill after your meal and being talked down to by management like you're a child, eat here.

If you like hair in your food and little black six-legged table guests, eat here.

How are they sitll in business!

Not only would I not recommed this place to my friends, I wouldn't even recommend it to my enemies for fear of being charged with aiding and abetting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limitless22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
“the Best BBQ in New Mexico”
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Gary West is coming back as Owner of The Smokehouse BBQ Restaurant and i cannot wait to taste that good ol' Texas BBQ again!! As the original owner, of 20 years, he'll be back mid to late June 2010. My mouth is waterin' just thinking about that juicy brisket only he knows how to put the magic in!! We've missed you, Gary, for the past couple of years. Welcome Back!! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat38Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rr nm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste like plastic”
Reviewed 16 January 2010

for some reason their food taste like it's cooked in plastic, and also smells that way, why it has a good local rating for bar-b-que, I can't imagine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sggma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing