We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Food”
Review of Joe's Pasta House

Joe's Pasta House
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Rio Rancho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Our Focus is on Quality Ingredients, Great Atmosphere & Personal Service." Voted Best Italian Restaurant Albuquerque 2013, Best Pasta Albuquerque 2013 & Best Dessert: Tiramisu; as voted on in Albuquerque the Magazine, The Weekly Alibi & Best of Taste of Rio Rancho 2014! Serving Rio Rancho & Albuquerque, New Mexico area for over 14 years & reviewed as one of the Best Restaurants; Joe's Pasta House proudly shares with you the traditional Italian American cuisine created with immigration recipes taught to Joe while growing up in his grandmother's kitchen. Working in the family bakery, Joe also learned the pastry trade from his father; but his heart remained in grandma's kitchen. After reiceving culinary training in NYC; Joe started out in the restaurant business as dishwasher, then a cook while also serving & he worked his way up. Being experienced with working with several chefs, he started his first business with Dagwood's Restaurant following with Avanti's Pizzeria & Dakota's Catering. Kassie (KC), Joe's wife, started out as server in her teens, working her way up to food & beverage management by her early 20's; both in restaurants & catering. Together Joe & Kassie Guzzardi team up to serve you with over 50 years combined restaurant & catering experience. It is our joy & pleasure to serve you.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Used to eat here a lot during their lunch buffet, but like most other places now days prices hold me at bay. Food is good, but as other's have stated theirs better Italian food to be found else where. I would recomend it though. And Joe and staff are good folks to meet and converse with.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akane53242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for recommending us. Sorry to hear our lunch buffet price holds you at bay… At $7.99 it is as low as we can go & keep the food we offer on it made fresh with good ingredients & no MSG. Many of our menu recipes are Sicilian (Southern Italian) immigrant based that were handed down from Joe's family and are made fresh with many organic &/or local, as well as some imported ingredients. We do offer a little more than Italian American fare on our lunch buffet because it was requested by many of our daily regulars for a little added variety. Having won Best Italian Restaurant in The Best of the City (Albuquerque the Magazine - voted on by the people of our great metro area), Best Pasta (Western - The Weekly Alibi) & Best Dessert (Best of Taste of Rio Rancho 2014 - Tiramisu) all in this past year; if there is something we are missing that you would like to see us improve upon to be better, please share it with us; we are always looking for ways to improve. We appreciate you recognizing us as good folks; having conversations with our customers is a highlight of our business we enjoy very much & we look forward to the serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    82
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
187 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Italian Meal”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Been going to Joe's for years and love the food and atmosphere. I try and visit at least once a month and now they are having fish fry tuesdays. My normal dish in either the eggplant or lasagna. Service is always impeccable, and you always leave with a full belly, and the New Yorker always comes out when i am visiting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2beonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
It is always nice to receive compliments from a fellow New Yorker; we all tend to have high standards when it comes to East Coast Italian/Red Sauce food - that is quite an endorsement! If we are pulling you between Tuesday night Fish Fry, Eggplant Parmigiana or Lasagna; there are other options if it is a matter of staying home or budget… The Eggplant is always on our lunch buffet & we have a great take out special "Dinner for Four" that includes a choice of Lasagna - it is a great value for family & friends alike. You can check it out on our website under specials (we can't post it in replies, sorry). We love our servers & appreciate you acknowledging them for providing impeccable service. Thank you for being such a long-time, loyal customer & for sharing your perspective of our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“JOE'S PASTA HOUSE IS THE BEST ITALIAN”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a favorite restaurant. The owner is always friendly and comes by and says hello. The food is top quality, plentiful, and delicious. This is far better than any other Italian place in the entire metro area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClassyAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Wow, we couldn't ask for a better review, thank you! Joe & I put in a lot of hours, 6-7 days a week, because we believe it is important to be hands on making sure our guests feel warmly welcomed; like coming into our home. It means the world to us to hear you appreciate our efforts whether it is Joe coming by your table to say hello, the quality, quantity & taste of our food or the service you receive. After winning the Best Italian Restaurant in the Albuquerque Metro area this past year, it appears many locals feel the same as you & we really can't express enough how grateful we are to all of you - we feel it is our customers who are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I dined here for the first time this evening to celebrate his birthday. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. We were waited on by 3 different people and they continuously made sure we had plenty of bread and drinks. Our meal was also very good. We had fettuccini alfredo with chicken and a ribeye steak. They were very delicious. For dessert we had a cannoli. We looove cannolis and thought it was very good. We wish we would have tried the Spumoni ice cream as well. Oh well maybe next time :) We are glad we ate here finally, and would recommend it to others try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldie701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
So glad you chose to dine with us to celebrate your husband's birthday & to hear how much you really enjoyed it! We will be definitely be giving our staff big gudos for providing excellent service & delicious food. They all have worked with us for a long time; we love letting them know how much our customers appreciate them & what they do. When we receive good compliments on our cannolis we are particularly proud because those are made from Papa Joe's recipe (Joe's Dad respectfully). The Spumoni is special ordered to make sure it meets the standards of all who truly know & love it, so hopefully you will enjoy the spumoni as much on your next visit. Thank so much for sharing the dining experience you had with us & for recommending us to others; we are looking forward to taking good care of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The service is excellent, the food delicious, and a value for the money. Most lunch choices are $8, including the all you can eat buffet, and for the menu selections, they are generally large enough for two meals.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
This is a great review for us, thank you. It is nice to see you appreciate the value of the quality & quantity with the different menu options we offer whether it is the lunch buffet, lunch menu or dinner menu. Our serving staff is always happy to hear our guests really enjoy their service. Your comments & the time you took to write them are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Pasta House also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing