We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food and Atmosphere”
Review of Joe's Pasta House

Joe's Pasta House
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Rio Rancho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Our Focus is on Quality Ingredients, Great Atmosphere & Personal Service." Voted Best Italian Restaurant Albuquerque 2013, Best Pasta Albuquerque 2013 & Best Dessert: Tiramisu; as voted on in Albuquerque the Magazine, The Weekly Alibi & Best of Taste of Rio Rancho 2014! Serving Rio Rancho & Albuquerque, New Mexico area for over 14 years & reviewed as one of the Best Restaurants; Joe's Pasta House proudly shares with you the traditional Italian American cuisine created with immigration recipes taught to Joe while growing up in his grandmother's kitchen. Working in the family bakery, Joe also learned the pastry trade from his father; but his heart remained in grandma's kitchen. After reiceving culinary training in NYC; Joe started out in the restaurant business as dishwasher, then a cook while also serving & he worked his way up. Being experienced with working with several chefs, he started his first business with Dagwood's Restaurant following with Avanti's Pizzeria & Dakota's Catering. Kassie (KC), Joe's wife, started out as server in her teens, working her way up to food & beverage management by her early 20's; both in restaurants & catering. Together Joe & Kassie Guzzardi team up to serve you with over 50 years combined restaurant & catering experience. It is our joy & pleasure to serve you.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Moved to Rio Rancho about 7 years ago and found Joe's Pasta House shortly thereafter. The one dish I love is the Fruti di Mari. Don't walk but run and get yours. When going there you will usually find the owner "Joe" there to meet you at the door and while there try a bottle of the Merlot - Luna di Luna wine. buon appetito. They also have a very reasonably priced lunch buffet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Glad you found us! It is so good to hear that you love our Frutti di Mari so much that you recommend others run to get theirs. We believe that in being a family owned & operated restaurant it is very important that we are there to welcome & take care of our guest (in addition to Joe being there to greet guests most of the time, chances are our son has also cooked many meals for you too). Ahhh, the Luna di Luna Merlot is a popular wine indeed; we have many different wines to choose from & this one tops the list of favorites. Thank you for choosing to dine with us (lunch & dinner), as well as taking the time to write & share this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 282 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

It's like visiting your favorite aunts house for family dinner. The atmosphere is relaxed and service is prompt and helpful..The food is superb. We love his sauce and his chicken parmigiano rocks! Bread is delicious especially with the dipping sauce.Try one of the veal dishes you won't regret it. A very affordable restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harveyblaine1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for this incredible compliment & review. We love that you feel dining with us is like visiting your favorite aunts house for dinner; that is exactly what we are aiming for in welcoming our guests to dine with us! I am sure you already know we make our red sauce fresh daily & the Chicken Parm is hand-cut, free range chicken that is lightly hand breaded - made fresh to order. Did you know our Veal is humanely (group) raised? That we can offer this quality of ingredients at a price that you find fare & affordable is an added bonus; we really appreciate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The service,food and decor were great. There was a musician playing a guitar which made for a nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We are very happy that you find our service, food & decor are great; as well as the ambiance. Thank you for joining us & for taking the time to share that you enjoy our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have a very bad allergy to cheese and have a hard time finding anything I can eat at Joe's. I tried
the marinara sauce, but it is so sweet that it is impossible to eat. I have tried other dishes as well, but found nothing that would cause me to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cojp58009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We are sorry to hear you have suffered a bad cheese allergy for years but it is something we can accommodate with most of the entrees we offer on our extensive menu. In addition to offering Steaks, Chops & Seafood - we cook fresh to order; so most of our entrees can be made without cheese (with the exception of Lasagna, Cheese Ravioli Dishes, Manicotti & Pesto... which must be made with cheese to hold the sauce together otherwise it would be very oily & separate). Our red sauce (spaghetti sauce) has no sugar added to it; this is an old family recipe which is made with very specific tomatoes that have a slight sweetness, naturally. Our Marinara entree is a dish we offer that comes with Angel Hair Pasta, ripe plum tomatoes, organic basil & garlic; it is a nice fresh dish that has no cheese, no sweetness (except what might be in the plum tomatoes) & you can opt to have a different pasta if you prefer. Perhaps you would really enjoy this entree or maybe one of our hand-cut, all natural steaks with housemade Klondike mashed potatoes. It is unfortunate that, from the multitude of entree choices on our menu, you have not been able to find anything that would cause you to return; fortunately most of our guests over the last 15 years don't feel the same & we have many lifetime regulars. We would be happy to do what we can, like modifying a recipe to cook to order without cheese when possible, to accommodate your allergies; if you choose to give us the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Whenever we are in the Rio Rancho area, we stop in for a meal at Joe's Pasta House. During the week, there is an all you can eat lunch buffet, which is a good deal for $ 7.99. Dinner is what we usually order, and we've always had a great meal and great service.

We ate at Joe's Pasta House last night. I ordered chicken piccata, and my husband ordered stuffed cannelloni. Both entrees were delicious. Both came with a side of pasta.

The bread prior to the meal was not very good, although the complimentary bruchetta topping was fabulous, as was the vinegar and oil dip. Joe's used to have wonderful garlic know rolls. They were really worth eating! The bread, not so much. It is not a hard crust Italian bread, but soft white, doughy stuff. I wish they would offer those garlic knots.

Everything on the menu was a la carte, so we skipped salad and soup, and just delved into the plentiful entrees. The meal totaled $ 30 for the two of us prior to tax and tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JudyM701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for writing this wonderful review & for choosing to dine with us for both lunch & dinner. It has been years since we have made garlic knots; unfortunately with economic changes & limited work space with a growing menu; we were unable to continue making them. We do make our bread fresh daily, along with the bruchetta & dipping oil; and offer them as a complementary service (1st serving of bruchetta is free, additional orders are only $4.95). While some guests prefer a hard crust Italian bread, many really enjoy our soft, house made bread too & also that our bread service is not something you have to request or pay extra for like so many restaurants have recently started doing. Salads & soup are offered a la carte because some people don't care to have a soup or salad with their meal & also don't want to pay the extra cost, that would be added to/built into the price of the meal. No need to charge anyone for something they don't want. You have obviously been dining with us for many years & we really appreciate that you have been one of our long time regulars. Reading that you have always received a great meal & great service means the world to us; we are looking forward to serving you for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Pasta House also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing