We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Museum”

Chiricahua Desert Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rodeo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful stop along Historic Route 80NM. Open 7 Days a week 9-5pm. Closed only Christmas Day and Thanksgiving Day. Hundreds of Reptiles on Exhibit. A stunning gift shop and two out door desert garden areas complete with a running creek and pond. Photographers delight in the abundance of wildlife. Come see us soon. Adults $7.00 Youth 12 and Under, Seniors 55 and over, Active Military,and First Reponders $5.00 Children 5 and under a free with a paid gaurdian.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Outstanding Museum”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This museum is really incredible and it is clear that the people that put this together spared no expense to make this a showplace in the desert. Many reptiles and some very rare ones call this place home as well as many desert artifacts of the area. I have never seen so many types of rattlesnakes in my life. It has a lovely desert garden outside as well. I think the gift shop should add a few postcards of the museum and its creatures when it has a chance. This museum just happened to be there after we accomplished our objective which was to see the Geronimo Surrender Monument.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chiricahua Desert Museum (CDM)”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Chiricahua Desert Museum is nestled near the beautiful mountains that bears its namesake.

It is a gem. Anyone visiting the region MUST stop by and see this delightful living museum created, owned and operated by Bob and Sheri Ashley. They have a top-notch living collection of plants and animals, mostly reptiles of the region.

The gift shop is outstanding! Besides a wide range of clothing, the book selection is second to none!

I'll be back in July!

Gordon

Gordon W. Schuett, Ph.D.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully laid out and fascinating”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This little gem is well worth a trip if you're in the area - it has one of the best laid out exhibits of reptiles and amphibians I've ever seen, and a collection of rattlesnakes which must rank as among the best in the world. It also has a fascinating and equally well displayed collection of art and some really interesting curios. The gift shop has a nice selection of higher quality items than your usual gift shop fare too. So my advice is check it out - its well worth the modest entrance fee!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiluxsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was really an unexpected delight. We saw this little place on our way through town and decided to stop. I am so glad we decided to pay the small charge for the museum. It is indeed snakes, scorpions and tortoise, but they are tastefully and safely displayed and obviously well cared for. All the other parts of this collection really add something. Seeing practically every rattlesnake themed beer bottle right beside superb pottery and art just seemed to work. The staff was helpful and answered any questions we had. Overall I would say that an hour or so here is well worth the stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rbgrcatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundre, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great overview of plants & animals in the area”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Enjoyed the indoor "zoo" with all its snakes, scorpions, insects, history, etc. Great gift shop. Outdoor garden (being expanded) is really interesting; learned a lot about the various desert plants.

There is charge for the indoor "zoo". Outdoor garden is free.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiricahua Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chiricahua Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing