We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
463
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfounders campgranite suitessafari experienceplunge poolcamp managerlondolozi familystaff villagesand riverland roveroutdoor showerfinal nighta special placeonce in a lifetimetree housesouth africalife changing experienceevery turn
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Londolozi is like visiting a friend´s ranch, it has a history and it is a place everyone will want to come back to. The lodges are so beautiful on the edge of the river, with incredible views.The people who work there are truly special, they believe in what they are doing, the conservation effort and tourism. The attention to detail is incredible, but it is also very relaxed. The rooms are huge and lovely and you can still listen to hippos even if they are not tents. The food is delicious!
And the game viewing is incredible! The Shangan trackers are just truly gifted and the nicest people and all come from the area so they tell the bast stories. What a fantastic place, nothing compares to Londolozi!

Room Tip: There are options for people who want to be alone as well as for those looking for company, there are several lodges quite close to each other but you hardly notice. It feels like you are the only one in the area, you cannot even see the lights from the other lodges.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ena G,

Thank you for sending such kind words about your stay at Londolozi and about the Londolozi family! It was wonderful to have you with us and we look so forward to your return visit!

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Outstanding, amazing, awesome, jaw dropping, inspiring, relaxing, decadent, delicious, luxurious, charming…..it may be impossible to find the right words to do this place justice. You arrive as guests and leave as family. The lodge and the people of Londolozi will steal your heart. And thats not even mentioning the most important part - the safari!! We saw so many animals. Our tracker and ranger were fantastic - answering all our questions and tracking down silent, camouflaged animals. Thanks you staff of Londolozi (and animals!) for the trip of a lifetime. We will be back!
We went for four nights, which we thought might be a little long. But I wouldn't recommend going for any less than three or four nights. We felt like we were settling into the safari routine by the last day. We saw so many different types of animals each time we went out, and since we had four days we didn't feel rushed to see everything at once.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Chelsea E,

Welcome to the family, it was wonderful to have you with us and we cannot wait to have you again! It is spectacular to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay!

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the most amazing trip I have ever taken in my life. Not only are the staff courteous, helpful and just so pleasant to be around....the camp is just so peaceful to be in. It is the happiest place that I have ever been and I cannot wait to return. I was blessed to have the opportunity not only to visit the village of the staff, but also to go to local village and have a wonderful experience of teaching there. Words cannot express how amazing this place is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Jenni F,

It is spectacular to hear about your Londolozi experience! Thank you for taking the time to write such special words about your time with us. We look so forward to a return visit and no doubt the students will be excited to have you back in the learning centre!

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just came back from a wonderful 3 night stay at Varty Camp. Thumbs up to Ranger Richard and Tracker Richard as well as Will and all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make our stay absolutely awesome. Game viewing outstanding, can't wait to return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 85sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Spent only two nights in Varty Camp with Backroads tour but every minute beyond belief. My cottage, number 5, incredibly comfortable with great views over the Sand River. Marvelous staff from top to bottom. Food, wine, and service impeccable. Jessie and Shadrack top-notch guide and tracker and fun to travel with. Heart- and soul-elating tour of employee village, day-care center, and computer learning center. Particularly appreciate the emphasis on education, conservation, and environment at all five camps. Already planning a return in five or six years when grandson Henry is a bit older.

Room Tip: Doubt if there's a bad room or cottage in any of the five lodges.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear daveinmonument,

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable time at Varty Camp. I will be sure to send your kind words onto Jess, Shadrack and the rest of the Varty camp team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the next few years!

Much love,
Your Londolozi familt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews