We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can`t get better but it did !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It can`t get better but it did !!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I travel with my wife and another couple and this was our 5 th visit to Londolozi.We had high expectations based on our previous visits and this time it was even somehow better than the previous visits!!We stayed at Varty camp and as always the rooms were spacious, bright,clean and a great view of the sand river.The food was outstanding and they always make a special effort to cater for my lactose intolerance.All the staff at every level were fantastic and the homely feeling of knowing many of the people from previous visits was extra special.The camp managers went out of their way to make this another unique visit and the nightly dinners in the boma were awesome.We also had a special "Savignon Blanc" wine tasting in the middle of the bush just for our vehicle as a" sundowner" with a difference.Sandros was our ranger and he come back from his leave to be with us and Foster was our tracker.They were a magical team and they sniffed out a few leopards and the wild dogs that many would have missed!!Sandros grew up in the bush and has been at Londolozi for more than 20 years so what a treat to have the privledge of his expertise again.As always the game viewing was special and we saw the big five in one morning game drive and except for elephant repeated the big five in the afternoon drive on the same day.As for leopards -Londolozi performed as it always does with 7 leopard sightings in 3 days so an average of more than 2 leopards a day.In addition a fantastic viewing of the Tsalala pride and cubs in the morning and the cubs with blood red faces enjoying an impala in the afternoon and 2 sightings of the wild dogs.Giraffe were plentiful this time and for me personally the birds were amazing especially around the campsite with the striking Scarlet Chested Sunbirds and the beautiful White Bellied Sunbirds.In addition had 2 cheetah sightings as well.If anyone is deciding where to go on safari in the Sabi Sands there is no choice-Londolozi is the best by far.We already have our next visit in May 2014 reserved !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Anthony G,

It was wonderful to have you with us for another visit! Wow, it is so wonderful for us to know that you had a great stay, thank you for the review! I will be sure to send your kind words onto Sandros, Foster and the entire Varty Camp family.

We look forward to creating many more experiences with you.

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
212
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Charming, amazing and exclusive and outstanding experience and we would need some new adjective to define Londolozi appropriately!
We stayed for 4 night at Pioneers Camp, everything was perfect and flawless, the staff was amazing, especially Jeremy who welcomed us after every gamedrives.
Our ranger Andrea was such a enthusiastic and cute girl and we had the most prepared and skilled tracker Bennet, who ensured such unbelievable sights in the Reserve. In 24 hours we had the chance to see all the Big5!
Andrea and Bennett's solicitude in letting us see, and taking good pictures of the animals from the best angle are priceless.
We had the best experience ever in the entire world, we are pretty sure about that.
The Varty Camp is such charming, calm and everything is accordingly well designed and in order not to disturb the wildlife, and during nighttime Londolozi family solicitude is praiseworthy, both towards wildlife and nature (they no to use any artificial light but oil lamps) and with the guests, who are escorted by the staff to their rooms.
A note should be reserve to the food and to the simply genuine dishes they serve at every meals, with a laudable care to local and organic vegs&fruits.
The room are charming and silent, clean and comfortable with everything you can imagine or that you would need.The outside deck offers te most amazing private view of the reserve, as well as some inquisitive monkeys!
Our last night Jeremy and londolozi family surprised us with a private dinner upon our deck, and we are going to recall this night for years!
A special thanks to all this terrific staff who made us feel part of a real family along with the wildlife and the nature.
We are looking forward to be back very soon!

Room Tip: No need to a further advice, be sure that you are going to have the best time of your life there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear barbara235,

It is so wonderful to hear you speak so highly of your stay at Varty camp! I will be sure to send your kind words onto Andrea, Bennet, Jeremy and the entire Varty camp family!

We will hopefully be welcoming you back soon!

Much love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you only ever go on one safari ... make sure it's to Londolozi. We've been fortunate enough to holiday in South Africa before and tend not to return to the same destination - it's a big world out there after all - but we may well be making an exception for Londolozi. The game viewing was exceptional, and thanks to our excellent ranger and tracker we were privileged to see everything we could possibly want. Sitting quietly among a breeding herd of elephant, seeing a cheetah chased by 3 lionesses (and escaping - phew!) and then seeing leopard climbing and relaxing in a jackalberry tree were just a few among the very many wildlife highlights.

We stayed in Founders Camp where the accommodation was 'bush contemporary' and the lodge was African chic and very friendly and relaxed. The food was fantastic, great breakfasts and really substantial boma dinners served by welcoming and friendly staff. A truly amazing experience.

Room Tip: Would be difficult NOT to get a good room as all overlook the river, with the chance of seeing wildl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear jillw0,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at Founders camp. It is really great for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to send your kind words onto the entire Founders camp family.

We look forward to a second visit...

Much love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My friend and I were extremely fortunate to take the advice of our experienced travel agent to spend 5 days at Tree Camp at Londolozi. Every thing at this game reserve screams professionalism and extreme service and quality. Our accommodation was pure luxury, the staff were exceptionally courteous and above all else so professional. We were incredibly fortunate to have such amazing game drives, saw the Big 5 within the first 2 days and were fortunate to see so many leopards. The meals were unbelievable with all food and drinks inclusive. Do not go anywhere else.....simply the best time for viewing, we were there beginning June.

Room Tip: Tree camp was exceptional but also we stayed one night at Pioneer camp. It was also excellent. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Lesley R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. I will be sure to send your kind words onto all at Tree camp.

Much love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had been dreaming of going on safari all my life and Londolozi made all those dreams come true. Imagine watching elephants going to drink at the river, then watching a kudu graze, then hearing it call an alarm and taking off, only to be chased by two lions. Now imagine that you are watching all of this from the deck of your room at Londolozi before even going out on safari! (See attached photo of my daughter watching lions from our room.) But we watched all of this and more from our suite at Pioneer Camp. During our stay, we met folks from the other Londolozi camps and everyone was happy with their lodgings.

Needless to say, we saw even more on safari for three days with our expert guide and tracker, Jess and Jeffrey. They were personable, professional and highly skilled at what they do and a joy to be around. We saw the Big 5 on our first drive and many, many more animals from such a close range that your photos will make you look like an expert photographer. We watched a lion kill, saw rhinos fight, saw a baby leopard. At times the animals -- such as lions and leopard -- were so close to our land rover that I couldn't even get them in focus with a normal lens. They were that close. I never thought I would say we were "too close" to the animals to focus! The South African couple in our land rover had a good laugh over that one. Each safari was a unique experience to savor.

We had special dietary considerations in our family and Petunia and the other chefs at Pioneer Camp cheerfully and creatively whipped up extraordinary dishes each day and night for us that we all delectable. We enjoyed staying at Pioneer Camp, as it was not only luxurious and expansive, but as Pioneer Camp is on the very edge of the 5 Londolozi Camps, it seemed that it was nearer to most of the wildlife that drifted into camp each day. We loved the breakfast on safari our last day and also having dinner in the boma at night. Every meal was festive and special.

What is truly rare about Londolozi is the staff: they all actually seem to enjoy working here and it shows. All five camps are connected by a path and you can wander into the other camps to check them out and when you do, you are welcomed by the staff like a long lost cousin. What is most refreshing is to be able to enjoy the utter luxury in service and surroundings that Londolozi offers minus the slightest bit of pretentiousness that often ruins this type of experience. The Vartys take great pride in their family run business. They are also justly proud of their non-profit operations in education and conservation, so you can feel good about parking some of your hard earned vacation dollars here because they are doing such great work.

There IS one downside to Londolozi: once you stay here, nowhere else will ever measure up.

Tip: If you are going at this time of year (July), it will be really cold in the mornings on safari, so bring 3 fleeces (I'm not kidding) and a hat and gloves. You'll be glad you did.



Tip: Don't overlook the Walking Safari offered each day at lunchtime by your guide and tracker. I was the only one the day I went and we saw many animals not usually seen on safari, such as a fish eagle. We saw it drop the fish it was carrying so we ambled over to look at it and I couldn't believe how massive a fish it was and how large the strong the eagle was to be able to lift it.

We actually visited in July 2013.

Room Tip: A suite at Pioneer is perfect for families as there is ample room (2 full baths, 2 sleeping areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandrasmom817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Alexandrasmon817,

Wow, a year later and the memories have not faded! It is so special to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us at Pioneer camp. We will be sure to send your kind words onto Jess, Jeff, Petunia and the entire Pioneer family. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon!

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The experience was wonderful. We easily saw up close all the African mammals we hoped for and more: lions, giraffe, zebra, water buffalo, elephants, rhinos, impala, etc.

We stayed at one of granite suites, which are private and quiet. The food an service were excellent. The guides were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuavaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear GuavaMike,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Londolozi Granite Camp. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a memorable experience.

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stop searching - as this is the BEST safari experience you will ever have!

This was a bucket-list adventure, a first time safari for me - so there were very high expectations placed on my visit to Londolozi. I was not disappointed - in fact, it exceeded ALL my expectations.

The game drives were amazing - we were blessed to have Boyd and Kate as our amazing head guides and trackers. We saw the Big 5 and soooo much more every day on our dawn and dusk game drives.
-Leopards fighting over a kill they had hanging from a tree branch
-Large herds of elephants and tiny calves peacefully strolling around (literally) our vehicle
-Lions drinking and napping, after gorging themselves on a recent kill
- Hippos playing and breaching out of the water
- Mother and baby rhinos peacefully grazing in the fields,
- Baby leopard cubs playing/jumping on their mother,
- Giraffes awkwardly drinking from a low waterhole,
-Getting stuck in a "traffic jam" of water buffalo
- Cute cheeky monkeys stealing food from our gourmet lunch buffet,
-Hyenas, crocodiles, antelope, wilderbeast, butterflies everywhere, so many beautiful birds, and sooo much more....

We spent hours peacefully observing animals -all of this at unbelievably close range - less than 2-5 meters away from our open vehicle. I could even take wonderful shots just using my iPhone- without zoom ! This was a photographers' dream safari - as the animals were practically "posing" for our shots - it was AMAZING !

I have travelled extensively - and love a good luxury resort. The impeccable & friendly service, AMAZING gourmet food (I am an avid foodie), LUXURY facilities and AMAZING hospitality here were EXCELLENT - absolute world standard !

I stayed in Tree Camp for 5 nights in room 3 - a wonderfully private and stylish oasis (think Ralph Lauren "does safari" ) . I checked out other rooms and Granite suites during my visit- and I must say there is not a "bad" room in the house -every room/suite is uniquely spectacular !

Travelling from Sydney, Australia - I had 14 hrs to read Boyd Varty's new book "Cathedral of the Wild" - which gave me a wonderful perspective on life on Londolozi and the epic journey to create this magical retreat. Great book - even had me laughing out loud on the flight !

If you are after a world class, luxury safari retreat, with once-in-a-lifetime animal viewing/interactions (Big 5 and beyond... daily), excellent gourmet food, and a peaceful oasis & escape from your usual busy world - then you can stop searching - as Londolozi is all this is more!

Room Tip: I stayed in Tree Camp for 5 nights in room 3 - a wonderfully private and stylish oasis (think Ralph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear LuiSydney,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much! It is always phenomenal for us to know that our guests are looked after so well! I have forwarded your kinds words onto Boyd, Kate, and the entire Tree camp family.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
6.0 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Property: Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve | Benmore, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing