We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An experience beyond compare!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An experience beyond compare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

Three and a half days of an up close encounter with the great animals of nature. Stayed at the Varty Camp and were treated daily to a parade of different animals outside our porch and plunge pool. Accommodations and service that definitely could spoil oneself.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver206110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
110
186
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

it had not rained for a very long time when we arrived. So the first view of the surroundings looked a bit sad. But the extreme high standard of the lodge, excellent service and both, ranger as well as tracker very well informed about the games mad us forget the dryness. At the end we saw the big five plus ...... and really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: same standard for all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kh_cg_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

We completed a lot of research before choosing our safari and decided on Londolozi Founders Camp for our honeymoon. Knowing its 90 year history and Relais & Chateaux affiliation, we expected the service to be top notch. But even with that, our expectations were greatly exceeded.

Londolozi is more than a place to stay and see animals; it is a culture and way of life. One that as you settle in after your first day, you begin to understand what makes it so special and why you don't want to leave.

The 200 employees, most of which are original tribe to the land, live on site. We learned a lot about how they live and its history during the village walk, how Mandela visited shortly after being release from prison to see its way of life.

The service is warm and highly intuitive. It's almost as if they know what you want to ask even before approaching the team. The proactive service is very refreshing and rare as most luxury hotel brands are reactive and overbearing.

Days start with a 5 am wake up and three hour game drive, breakfast upon return, down time (pool, yoga, etc.), lunch, afternoon three hour game drive,and dinner. It is a pretty set schedule and again, once you get into the Londolozi schedule, it is wonderful.

Londolozi sits at the "end" of Sabi Sand, a privately owned reserve adjacent to Kruger National Park. I point this out because it allows for them to explore the land and look deeper than any of the properties in Kruger. The land owned by the Varty family is vast, however, they also share driving rights with nearby Singita. On any given drive, you will not see more than one other vehicle, and Londolozi has a policy that they will not allow more than two vehicles at any given sighting.

Londolozi might have the largest population of leopard in the world. Our sightings were amazing. We saw all of the Big 5 on the first day. We saw leopards with cubs, lions with cubs, leopards eating, lions eating, a pack of 20 rare wild dogs, and were caught up in the "middle" of what was almost a lion kill of a buffalo.

I would recommend a minimum of four nights at Londolozi. Founders and Varty are the most social but still very small at 10 rooms each. Tree, Pioneer, and Granite offer an even more private and higher end experience. However, whatever you choose for your price point, you can't go wrong.

Where we really lucked out was having Sandros as our guide. I believe he is the longest running employee a Londolozi and couldn't imagine a more seasoned guide. He embodies Londolozi through and through. He joined us two nights for dinner, and it was a great time speaking with and learning from him. In addition, our tracker Joy was amazing. He will surely follow in Sandros's footsteps and be a world-class guide.

At the hotel, the managers and staff were exceptional - particularly Kelly, Cry, and Vusi.

I have traveled a lot, operated great hotels, and stayed at even more great hotels. Londolozi is so much more. And I am very thankful to have experienced it with my new wife.

Room Tip: No bad rooms - at Founders would request 5, 6 , or 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

I didn't know what to expect. Beautiful accommodation and tasteful open common space. We could hear the lions roaring at night and the baboons outside. We stayed 4 nights and went on 2 safaris a day led by a professional ranger and local tracker in a six seater open vehicle. Mostly off road and went anywhere that animals could be found and we saw them all in their natural habitat and learned much about them - up close and personal. They are magnificent creatures. It was unforgettable. Thank you Londolozi for protecting the future of these amazing creatures.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickandTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

We are two couples that stayed at Pioneer Camp 4 nights in October. In my opinion, pioneer is the most attractive of the 5 camps. Of course, that is like saying one of Monet's waterlilies paintings is best- all are terrific. It is understatement to characterize Pioneer Camp as luxurious. The three "rooms" there are expansive and beautifully decorated. Actually, each unit has several rooms, all large and all with huge windows opening to the river bed frequently occupied by various animals. The bath is enormous, but if you feel crowded, you can use the outdoor shower instead. There is also a plunge pool on your large porch. The overall ambiance is incredible. The common areas are similarly decorated to the hilt. The meals are to die for; plan to gain weight. The guides and trackers are very knowledgeable and professional, and they- along with all the staff- are super friendly. There are surprise dinners, extensive activities, educational facilities (especially for photography), super massages, and on and on, and the staff (especially camp manager Tayla) works hard to see that you are occupied and happy. The game drives are great, and the animal sightings extensive. We saw leopards mating, lions feasting on their kill, mother/child interaction by several different species, and all of the Big 5. Guide Sean and tracker Elmon are the best. Truly, there is so much to see and do, and so much is offered, that only a study of the Londolozi website and blog can give you the full picture. This is truly a special place. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beneasterlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Breakfast offered so many choices ,all freshly prepared and excitingly served. What a lovely experience to sit on the deck overlooking the river and seing the occasional elephant romping with her off spring .An out of Africa experience to wonderful to be able to describe adequately.

Room Tip: All rooms are like self contained cottages to luxurious standard. Totally private and set amongst b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 320alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Excellent service, excellent safaris, excellent food and beverages. We were in Founders Camp Room Nr 4 and very satisfied with this room. I can recommend Londolozi Founders Camp without any limitations.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schweiz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
12.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
10.3 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reser...
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
7.9 mi away
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Property: Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and South African Hotels so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing