We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing short of perfect!”
Review of Cheetah Plains

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cheetah Plains
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing short of perfect!”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cheetah Plains. The entire team made us feel welcomed upon arrival until the sad day when we had to leave. We selected Cheetah Plains as the camp size seemed fairly small and it didn't feel to touristy or commercial rather. Our rooms were cosy and we appreciated the air conditioning. The outdoor shower had plenty of hot water. The food was tasty and of course the drives were incredible! We saw EVERYTHING! Prides of Lions and lion cubs, packs of elephants, cheetahs, giraffes and more! When we weren't on a drive the camp was quiet making a nap around the pool or reading a book in a hammock relaxing and peaceful.

Overall our visit to Cheetah Plains was perfect and I would recommend this special place for anyone considering a safari holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffSeattleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hi Jeff,
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. All of us here at Cheetah Plains really enjoy what we do, and we are always happy to share our beautiful corner of the world with our guests.
Cheetah Plains, is ultimately a traditional bush lodge, and we would like nothing more, than for our guests to experience an authentic safari, with great game viewing experiences, fire cooked meals and great conversations around a crackling camp fire and just relaxing. We are very pleased that that was your experience.
We hope to welcome you back to our lodge soon, please stay in touch
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    34
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
61
106
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It was truly a great experience and I will highly recommend to anyone looking for a experience of a life time with great friendly staff, excellent cooks and extremely knowledgeable rangers. The grounds are well maintained along with great accommodation. I would suggest avoiding rainy season, as game drives are very dependent on road conditions. Also plan for no less than a week to really experience the nature and wild life at its best. I want to specially thank the following folks for making my trip a memorable one.
Andrew for always accommodating and being an amazing ranger with deep knowledge of nature and wild life
Richard for great food
Goodman for night walks and morning wake up calls
Kelly for listening
Candice for my massage
Thank you all!!!.
Simi

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
“Experience of a Life time!!!”
Hi Simi,
Thank you for your kind words. I have shared your review with all the staff mentioned and they were all very happy to hear your feedback. We are very pleased that we could all play a part in ensuring that you have the experience of a lifetime.
You have a very valid point regarding the rainy season. If we had heavy rains for a couple of days, we are restricted with the roads that we can use, and the amount of off-roading we can do. However, luckily we have a very large traversing area, so it ensures that there are enough “hard” roads to also travel on, till the smaller roads dry out again.
Please stay in touch, you are very welcome to share some of your pictures with us on Facebook, we would love to see them.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Cheetah Plains during our honeymoon. We cannot say enough about this amazing experience and the great team that made it all possible.

First, the facilities... Cheetah Plains has impeccably groomed grounds and lodging. We've heard horror stories about some outfits but this team makes sure the grounds, lodging, meal areas, everything is clean, tidy and accessible 24x7.

Second, the safari.... wow. this is different than a Kruger experience where you see large groups of animals far off (no knock on Kruger since game can be close up to). Cheetah Plains has a perfect location with HIGHLY skilled guides that track game ensuring you will not only create the best chance of seeing the Big 5 but they will get right up next to them! I have pictures of lion prides from 7 feet away, a herd of elephant 5 feet away and numerous other species. Their guides will customize to what you want to see that day as well!

Finally, the people... the staff at Cheetah Plains takes pride in their lodge and work. Everyone is cheerful, helps with any and all questions and in general goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy every part of your stay.

I've already referred Cheetah Plains to friends who were in awe of our photos.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
“Lasting Honeymoon Memories!”
Hi Mike,
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. All the staff are very pleased at your kind words, and we are delighted that you enjoyed everything at our lodge.
We all love what we do, and are happy to share our wonderful bush home with our guests. We are honored at we could play our part in ensuring that this special honeymoon trip of yours is more memorable.
Please stay in contact, you are most welcome to post some of your pictures on our Facebook page, we would love to see them. Thank you very much for also referring us to your friends.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Wild wishes
Willem du Toit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have just returned from 4 days in the Sabi Sands , staying at the Cheetah Plains lodge . The staff , accomodation , meals and game drives were excellent . The only difference from previous experiences at other "famous" lodges in the area , was the price which was 50 % cheaper .
I must make a special compliment to Andrew , the Game Ranger , and Michael the Chef .

Room Tip: Room no 8 is bigger , but all the rooms are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andycluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Andy,

thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Cheetah Plains.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Wild wishes,
Amanda Vermeulen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The accommodation is very small and basic (yes I know we are there to see game but compared to other places and the price you pay it was disappointing). The greeting we received on arrival was tired and unwelcoming. The whole place felt like it needed to be managed more effectively. Our driver "Doctor" was the worst we had in our 5 lodges we stayed at. Constantly reversing and attempting to follow tracks which never seemed to bear fruit. He is quite arrogant also. The other terrible (and I mean terrible) thing about this place are the game viewing trucks. Everyone is seated a long way back from the driver so you can't hear what is being said. All the seats are on the same level too which means the back two rows get views of the back of the heads of the front row(s). The swimming pool was uninviting as you couldn't see the bottom due to much cloudiness. At least the drivers could go offroad but still glad we only spent 2 days there.

Room Tip: No room to unfold suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigbruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that Cheetah Plains did not live up to your expectations. We are proudly a traditional bush camp, with standard, comfortable rooms and very competitive rates.

Our staff are warm and friendly, all our guides are qualified and experienced. Your feedback on Doctor, comes as a great surprise to us, as guests who have driven with him in the past, have been complimentary about his communication skills and level of experience, as well as the game viewing opportunities he found for them. In order to find animals it is often necessary to stop and reverse to check tracks, especially if you are looking for a specific animal. Often the tracks are old, in which case you have to abandon them and look for new ones. It is all part of the game drive experience.

We have noted your comments about our game drive vehicles. All our game drive vehicles are new and in a pristine condition.

In summer, when we have rain often, it is unfortunately not always within our control to have a sparkling blue pool all the time, please be assured however, that our groundsmen, clean the pool twice a day, and tests the water regularly to ensure that imbalances are restored as quickly as possible.

Trust this will assist you,
Wild Wishes
Amanda Vermeulen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hahei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was an amazing experience with , great staff who loved to share their love of the game park. We were made to feel very welcome and would certainly love to go again, and we recommend if you want to go to a game park in South Africa to go to Cheetah Plains..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
==============================================================

“Game Reserve Experience”
Dear Maureen,
Thank you for your kind review. I are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we also hope to have you back for another visit sometime in the near future.
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I don't know where to start.
The food? Outstanding. i'm an adventuresome eater; I'll try almost anything at least once and everything I tried at Cheetah plains was simply outstanding. What was more remarkable was that I was travelling in the company of 3 more conservative eaters and everyone agreed that each menu item from the Ostrich and some antelope (which I tried and loved) to the omelettes adnpizza (which tempted our teen-aged sons to have second and third helpings ) were better-then-delightful.

The rooms were more comfortable than luxurious but I loved the ambiance. I was a tad nervous about the semi-outdoor bathrooms but by the second day, I appreciated the cleaver design which assured privacy while giving the impression of being out in the open.

Internet access Totally flaky but what ware you expecting in the middle of a game reserve in the middle of the African bush?

Game drives? Outstanding. Just unbelievably good. In our first game drive, barely 2 hours after we arrived, we'd been thrilled by the presence of a coalition of four cheetah brothers. Within the first 24 hours, we`d seen all the `big 5`. Up close and personal. Thanks to our amazing guide and tracker - Abel and Ranson. By the end of the second day, we`d see it all several times over, Giraffes, buffalo, impala, birds of every stripe, hyenas, you name it.
I got a special thrill from going on the nature walk where we saw ans smelled and touched all the smaller things that most safari visitors simply drive by.

I would definitely stay at this camp again. I understand that it`s been renovated since our stay. I didn't find it deficient in 2010 and I would imagine that the recent improvements only make it a more desirable location.`

There might be more luxurious or more well-know camps and lodges in the area but for hospitality, food and game-viewing, I think Cheetah Plains matches any location and probably beats most..

Room Tip: This is not y our location if you`re seeking a completely sybaritic experience. If you want to eat w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
“Best. Trip Ever.”
Dear Deji,
Thank you for your great review and for sharing your beautiful pictures with us. We were pleasantly surprised by your review, as you’ve stayed with us a while ago already, but you will be very pleased to know, that everything you commented on is still exactly the same as when you visited us last, so you might as well have stayed with us yesterday.
The lodge was renovated in August 2012 to give it a fresh look, but the style is still an authentic, traditional bush camp, where you can enjoy superb food, in the company of great, friendly staff, with accommodation, which is more comfortable than luxurious. Cheetah Plains is 100% a lodge where the emphasis is on offering an outstanding game viewing experience at an affordable rate.
I hope that you will be able to come visit us again soon.
Wild wishes
Willem du Toit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
2.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.7 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
10.9 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
13.2 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheetah Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Property: Cheetah Plains
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Mpumalanga, South Africa, Kruger National Park 1383, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheetah Plains is a small, authentic bush camp in the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve, with 500 hectares of privately owned land & another 8000 hectares of additional traversing - you can be assured of exceptional game viewing - especially leopard and the rest of the "big 5". Cheetah Plains has only 8 traditionally thatched rooms - set amongst indigenous gardens - creating a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.We focus on freshly produced meals in wonderful surroundings - complementing the friendly and attentive service from all at Cheetah Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to our special bush home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheetah Plains South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing