We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome experience”
Review of Tydon Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tydon Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An awesome experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were two families (total of 9 people) staying at Tydon Safari Camp. We were lucky to have the camp to ourselves From the moment we were picked up from our hotel in Johannesburg until the moment they dropped us back, we had a fabulous time. Jared and Bernette were fabulous hosts, guides, cooks and friends and made our first safari experience a memorable one. Between Sabi Sands Reserve and Kruger National Park, we managed to see the Big 5 and more, including an up close encounter with 9 wild dogs (rare to be seen). All our meals were fabulous, tents were clean and comfy (loving the full ensuite attached!). Gavin was helpful in organizing our trip and popped into the camp whilst we were there. It was easy to see that he and his staff love what they do. Thanks for an amazing experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
123
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo Victoria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Its hard to write anything that hasn't already been written about this fabulous safari camp. Sure, saw all the big 5 plus many others, the accommodation was excellent, as was the food, however the big winner for me was the staff. Everyone from Gavin and Vangie, through the various guides (in particular Jared) and the kitchen and room staff went out of their way to make the experience as enjoyable as possible. I wouldn't say I am hard to please, however I am a well seasoned traveller and know what I want, and I would rate the staff here as equal to or better than any I have encountered. They are down to earth, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. They clearly love what they do, and each of them seems to consider it a lifestyle choice, rather than simply an occupation. Thanks Tydon for an unforgettable trip of a lifetime! I am sure I will have many happy memories for years to come.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saxier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our safari experience at Tydon was superb . The host were warm and welcoming . The food was excellent , especially the potijekos . The trackers were very attentive and proffessional . Everyday was filled with adventure into Sabi Sands . Extremely fortunate to witness a leopard kill on the 1st night of our stay . Got very close to rhinos , elephants , giraffes , hyena , etc . They really go out of their way to find the exotic game . My family loved every moment there .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterborkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited Tydon Safari Camp in April 2014 for 4 days and had an AMAZING time! We were picked up by Gavin at the Outlook Lodge where we enjoyed a lovely meal and night's rest. Our safari experience was amazing, visiting both Sabi Sands and Kruger National Park. Our guide Jared was outstanding, and extremely knowledgeable, and very friendly. We were ecstatic to see the Big 5 during our time there - but he showed us there is more to a safari than just ticking off a list...and we saw so much more. We also experienced the thrill of tracking a pride of lions and a leopard! The tents were luxurious, and food was absolutely first rate, but most of all, we enjoyed meeting Gavin, Vangie, Tyron and Donovan - who truly made us feel part of their family. We enjoyed having Tyron and Donovan as our "trackers" as well! We also quickly made friends with our fellow travelers, making our sundowners and evenings around the campfire sharing stories and enjoying delicious meals so much fun - and we are planning our reunion trip in 2019 :) If you are considering a South African safari - absolutely go with Tydon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I've been dreaming of a safari since I was a young girl....to say that Tydon Bush Camp exceeded my expectations is an understatement. Our group of six had the Bush Camp to ourselves. What a treat. Jacques was our extraordinary tracker...he was determined that we would see the Big 5, and we did....even if it meant he took us out in our pajamas at night to see a male lion! Jacques knows the tracking business and constantly amazed us by showing up at the right place at the right time to spot cheetah, leopard etc. He also has a great sense of humor and had us laughing around the campfire at night. Tyron, also a character, joined us as tracker our last day. The food was delicious thanks to June Rose and Cornelia...come ready to enjoy great good! The tents were very comfortable and the shower was hot! Gavin drove us both to and from the camp and was very knowledgeable about South Africa, which added to our enjoyment. If you want a great safari experience in a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere, I would highly recommend Tydon Bush Camp. Dreams do come true!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I can't speak highly enough of this place.......

We were picked up from the excellent Outlook Lodge - see seperate review, by Jared, who was our guide for most of our trips, the long drive from Johannesburg was broken up well with Jared's useful tips and information.

The luxury tents were very comfortable, almost boutique luxury, meals were excellent, held around the campfire with other guests, genially hosted by Gavin his family, and the guides.

The game drives are split between Sabi Sands and Kruger, and while the Sabi drives are more intimate, the Kruger drives give an opportunity to see game in a much wider area and context.

The standard of guiding was outstanding, and we had sightings of Rhino, Buffalo, Elephants, Lions, Baboons, Vervet Monkeys, Hyenas, Giraffe, and all sorts of antelope.

I would fully agree with the other reviews "You come as friends, you leave as family."

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were treated with such great care and fed with such delicious food. I love, love, love ALL of the meals that were served. The games drives were amazing!! The tent was very comfortable and cozy with flushing toilets. The site was beautiful!! There is not one single complaint about the experience we had at Tydon. I will definitely go back and definitely recommend this place! Our tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and very funny! It was just an absolutely unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
7.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
12.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
12.6 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tydon Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tydon Safari Camp

Property: Tydon Safari Camp
Address: Shaws Gate, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the shade of indigenous trees, this visual oasis of inspirational elements combines to culminate in this magnificent Tented Safari Camp. Intimate and comfortable, yet simplistic combined with excellent service, the Camp creates a traditional African Safari feel to your journey, and you can be forgiven for thinking you were transported back in time to an unspoilt and unexplored Africa. Sharing its borders with the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve which forms part of the Greater Kruger region due to having unfenced borders with the Kruger Park, Tydon Safari Camp offers guests a unique opportunity of staying in permanent semi luxury tented rooms and experiencing wildlife game drives and bush walks in the Sabi Sand as well as the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tydon Safari Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing