We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$102
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
817
104
21
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
104
21
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury suitewatering holesabi sandsbush walkour honeymoonwild dogshuge deckbefore dinnerhoedspruit airportwater holesafari experiencethree nightsherd of elephantsindoor outdoor showerthe reservefire pitbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Initially we were booked for only one night at Elephant Plains due to itinerary time restraints. However we enjoyed ourselves so much we extended our stay for another night and would have loved to stay even longer if we had the time. On the first night we stayed in the Buffalo room which was huge and had a large deck overlooking the plains. The second night as we had not intended on staying another night we were moved to Room 4 which was the only room they had left. Room 4 was perfectly adequate and still a good size. It was recently renovated and had a small deck near the second pool and overlooking the plains below. The itinerary layout at Elephant Plains is well organised and you don't actually have much time to spend in the rooms if you intend on going on game drives. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly. We arrived later than expected with only half an hour to spare before the afternoon game drive. When I phoned to advise the receptionist she kindly offered to set aside some lunch for us. The food is top quality and there is a wide selection including lots of fresh fruit and healthy salads for those that are that way inclined. The wildlife in Sabi Sands is spectacular and you get very close to all the animals, so close that at times you feel a little frightened. Elephant Plains is great value for money and being a smaller lodge you get a very personal service. On the day we were leaving the staff noticed we had a flat rear tyre on our rental vehicle so they changed it for us whilst we were on the bush walk You could easily spend twice as much staying at other lodges in Sabi Sands but the experience would not be twice as good as Elephant Plains. We saw the big 5 on the first two game drives, an amazing overall experience!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ttooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

This place is fantastic. Game drives are safely run by knowledgeable guides and trackers. The rooms are superb and very clean with amazing views. Food is really great as well with lots of options at each meal. Spoke to friends who stayed at nearby resorts and it doesn't sound like the accommodations were as nice. The game elephant plains has access to is diverse and you should get to see big 5 plus a lot more (they have lots of leopards in their area). Spring for the luxury room, the private terrace and outdoor shower are great to have during down time and star gazing. Only disclaimer is that their access to male lions isn't guaranteed while you are there. 5 large male lions dominate the area and scare away smaller males and if they are in another area close by, you won't get to see them. We did see all of the big 5 though (female lion) and the staff went out of their way over and over again to make it a perfect (but way too short) trip for us. The 2 days I was there were probably my favorite two days on vacation ever. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ajmak2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

I stayed at Elephant Plains Game Lodge for 2 nights at the beginning of February. I have been to South Africa lots of times and usually we do a self drive safari, however this time we decided to combine a bit of self drive, with pure luxury. Elephants Plains was Luxury for a very very reasonable price. It is located in the Sabi Sands Game reserve which is also home to some of the top game lodges in the world like Mala Mala. As soon as you entre Sabi Sands you know you are in deepest Africa, the landscape is amazing and you are so close to nature! Elephant Plains is a stunning secluded lodge with room for 24 guests in total! It has 5 basic rondavals and 6 luxury challets and I would recommend taking one of the luxury challets. We had the Lion room and the buffalo room. They have the foot prints of the named animal in the floor as you entre the room. The rooms have indoor and outside showers, and each room has a differnt bath. There is also a sitting area and huge beds with mozi nets. The rooms have large decked areas looking over the waterhole so you can watch the animals come to drink. There is a lovely horizon swimming pool which we sat in and watched a family of elephants just wander past. The food is great and the evening meal is often round the bomba (fire) outside under the stars. I would reccommend having a massage too!
The game drives are in open top landrovers so take a hat and a thin long sleeve top to keep the sun off you. The cars are incredible they drive over anything that's in the way to get you close to the animals. The rangers are really friendly, fun and knowledgable. We saw leopard and lion everyday, as well as elephant, rhino, buffalo etc. I can't recommend Elephant Plains enough, it is fab. I would also recommend flying to the air strip just next to the lodge rather than driving as the roads are very bumby! We booked through www.travelbutlers.co.uk. Tracey Campbell works there and is amazing. I book all my trips to Africa through her now as she has been to all the camps and knows her stuff! A wonderful holiday, and I can't wait to go back.
If you are looking for another brilliant lodge try Jock's Safari Lodge in the Kruger Park, it is also out of this world!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KCReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Excellent stay, good value for money. Would recommend. Luxury chalet superb.Quiet, peaceful setting. Lunch and dinner food quite heavy, but good. Guides knowledgeable and informative on game, saw everything. Staff and guides could be a bit more personable is only recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RochTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We stayed at Elephant Plains for three nights and did six game drives, all with our four year-old son. They were very accommodating of our son. Game viewing was outstanding. We saw elephant, leopard and lion all in the first evening drive. Added a herd of six rhino and a large herd of buffalo the next morning. All in all, six male lions (no females), five leopards, seven rhinos, and many elephants and buffalo. Also genet and many giraffe.

Food was great, though i could have done without the ceremony of dinner. The schedule was tough on the young one, as dinner rarely ended before 10 p.m, then up at 5 to prepare the next days drive at 5:30.

Orientation was basically non-existent.

We stayed in a basic Rondavel, which was more than sufficient. I do have concern about the number of units being added, as I think that may take away some of the charm. You never have game-viewing to yourself as is, with a number of other lodges having access to the same lands.

I would (will) absolutely choose Elephant Plains again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank QuetzalFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews