We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I stayed at Elephant Plains for three nights in January, first in a rondavel but then the other nights in one of their luxury rooms. The accomodation was plush, immaculate and well tended to during our stay. The rondavel was stunning, we would have been happy staying there for all our nights but we were late booking and were simply thrilled that Elephant Plains had room for us. The luxury room was huge, we loved the large terrace looking over the plains and the outdoor shower.

I had a hard time choosing between Arathusa and EP as both are in the same price range, have great reviews and also use the same tranversing grounds. I opted for EP as I thought the accommodation looked more luxurious and I was not disappointed.

The safari experience was incredible, the trackers and guides all work together to get you as close as possible to the animals without being obtrusive. This includes having a maximum of three vehicles at a sighting, and during a sighting only one vehicle can have its motor on at a time.

We booked with Katherine Terry at Ghecko Safaris, she was a great help in giving us advice ahead of our trip. Good things to know:

- If you are umming about bringing that camera with the big lens, bring it. You will be glad that you did.

- Don't bring clothes that you cannot ruin, the red dust can be tricky to wash out.

- If you are driving to Elephant Plains, the roads are decent until the last stretch where they are not paved. Once inside the private reserve, routes are clearly signposted so you can easily find your way to Elephant Plains. Also, lock doors and have your windows up, you are inside the reserve now and there will be animals about.

- Keep to the speed limits on the motorways, lots of police officers on the patrol, especially on the route from Kruger to Nelspruit airport

- If you want to tip the staff, save up a variety of notes so you can split it up however you wish

Fantastic service at Elephant Plains, we loved every single minute of our stay there (including the 5am wake-up call!).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinhtinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at this lodge for a portion of our South African honeymoon, and it was incredible. We went with the rondavel and can't imagine why anyone would spend the money to upgrade, as it was beautiful! There was a pool about 30 seconds away...
The game drives were fantastic, and we saw the big 5 in the first 3 outings, and we couldn't believe how close we got to the animals! The food was also delicious, there was a huge selection, even for the pickiest of eaters.
If you are planning a safari adventure, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fierykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I can't say enough about how wonderful staying at Elephant Plains was. We saw leopards on every game drive, 4 rhinos ran behind our Land Rover, lions up close and personal, elephants, buffalo, giraffe, zebra and all the other usual safari suspects. Our game drives were incredible, Morne and Prince were the dynamic duo of tracking and finding animals. The lodge is very intimate and peaceful. It is clean and comfortable with a sense of family run closeness that, as a guest, you are included in. The food was good, the day we got home I even requested a recipe for yummy cakes that were served one night, and the next day Daleen emailed it to me. I would have absolutely no hesitation recommending Elephant Plains to everyone, it was a little slice of Leopard Heaven!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5pretzels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Just arrived back from Elephant Plains, I can honestly say its the best holiday I have ever had, the lodge is faultless, the staff are fantastic, as is the food.
The game drives are simply awesome, we saw the big five all in one day! The ranger and spotter were detirmined to deliver the best Africa has to offer - and they did tenfold! If you are a photographer, they got you into the perfect positions for the best shots possible, would thoroughly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants up close and personal shots of African wildlife.
We had the family rondavel which was just fab, two bedrooms one double the other a twin, two bathrooms plus an outside shower, they were luxurious, clean and warm at night, cool during the day. We also had a luxury suite in our group, again perfect, lovely veranda facing the waterhole, with a fireplace which can be lit on chilly evenings.
If you are going during the winter months, take several layers of warm clothing, its chilly without the sun!
Would go back tomorrow and have no hesitation at all in recommending it to everyone I meet!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentishmayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Elephant Plains is really a treat and I can highly recommend it.
My husband and I received a very warm welcome at the Lodge and we were veeery lucky to receive the Honeymoon Suite without having booked it. The Suite was amazing: huge room, huge balcony, private pool.
The whole stay was really a treat: delicious food, very engaged and friendly staff and amazing game drives.
If you ever have the chance: go there!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blume69_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I can't say enough about this place. While perhaps not the most luxurious in Sabi Sand, this is a special place. It is rustic, treehouse-ish, with lots of charm. You sit and eat breakfast on the porch and watch elephants come up and drink from the water hole. We saw the Big 5 pretty much every day...plus giraffe, hippo, baboon---everything we wanted to see. They take you right in the middle of the action. The best thing about Elephant Plains, however, is the vibe. Some places, and their staffs, just have a vibe about them....they radiate that they are happy to be doing what they are doing and feel lucky to be there helping you. This rubs off on everyone. Everyone was in a good mood....the servers, the rangers, the trackers, the guests. The staff went out of their way and were happy about it. Including fixing the flat tire on my car--free of charge. Louis the ranger was amazing....kept everyone calm and led by example when taking us into packs of elephants that looked like they were going to charge at any moment. Elephant Plains is just a special place. It's the intangibles that are hard to describe that make it so special. I will do a safari again and would not consider any other lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearcatMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This was our second visit to Elephant Plains and we enjoyed every single moment of it! It really is a special place and everyone should stay here at least once in their lives!! It is truly heaven!!
The ranges are brilliant (as are the trackers!) and we saw all the big 5 including cheetah which is something we really wanted to see this time as they are rare for this area. The rangers make sure you see as many animals as they can find, as well as any 'special' requests you might have.
The accommodation is amazing..I especially love the turn down..which is a story and a chocolate laid out on the bed which is a lovely touch. The rooms are very clean and the bed is extremely comfortable.
The food has really improved since our first visit and we especially enjoyed the caramel chocolate cake!
All the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble..we even asked to take our lunch back to our room which was not a problem at all.
I highly recommend the massages with Lousie...she is amazing! Best massages I have ever had and its lovely looking out over the reserve with the sun streaming in. Total bilss!
Elephant Plains is a wonderful lodge and is exceptional value for money so I would not hesitate to recommend them and I hope to go back there someday soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
12.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
443 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
9.9 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Plains Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: £383 - £643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Plains Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Plains Game Lodge is situated in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. This owner-run lodge caters for the discerning traveller, with a variety of accommodation options including 5 Rondavels, 6 Luxury Suites and a Honeymoon Suite. Activities include two daily game drives and a bush walk. The lodge also offers a spa, gym, conference facility / TV room, games room, small library and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Plains Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Plains Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Elephant Plains Game Nelspruit
Elephant Plains Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing