We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“come as guests, go as friends!”
Review of Tydon Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tydon Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

hey there. we had a great experience in tydon! every guide is unique and we could learn so much about the big 5 and all the other animals, as we could so many during our stay. so friendly and caring people, especially gavin and his family. tydon is perfect located, because of having both: sabi sand private game reserve and kruger park. we like private game reserve much more, because you get closer to the animals. the bush camp is very personal (3 lovely, clean and luxury tents). the cooking was very special, that means very good, because it was original south african farmer's food ;-) like very much. we looking forward to come back (with children;-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing to hear the animals so close, but to glamp in luxury tents with hot showers, comfy beds and a/c. The camp is immaculate, quiet and small with only three tents. Great food and ambience.
The staff, led by Debbie, could not have done more to make our adventure truly wonderful. Their knowledge and passion for the wildlife and their care for their guests was outstanding. If you are looking for a memorable safari experience , choose this organization
From our pick up in Jo'burg to our drop off for our flight, the whole trip was wonderful.
Thankyou, Debbie, Bernet and Jared

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brillo920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

You have to a least spend a night or two or more at Tydon's bush camp while on safari with Tydon. To be able to hear the wild animals so close to you at night is amazing. Staying right in Sabi Sands is the way to go. The camp is small, quiet and very peaceful. The service is the same as what you get at the safari camp as well as the good food. The tents are exactly the same with the same amenities. Highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at both the Bush Camp and the Safari Camp. This review is solely for the Bush Camp. It was overwhelming trying to find a safari camp. Most sites didn't have pricing or didn't get back to you very quickly. Tydon's website was very clear and pricing was listed. Gavin and his wife Vangie responded to our inquiries within 24 hours. They were extremely friendly and helpful. Gavin worked with us in custom tailoring our safari trip. Gavin and Vangie (the owners) personally picked us up from the airport. We happened to have the Bush camp all to ourselves and got a lot of one on one attention. However, since this is such a small camp, I think even if the camp was full you'd still feel very well taken care of. The beds are extremely firm. I thought I wasn't going to like it but my back felt AMAZING in the morning. The tent had AC/heating and a separate private bathroom (in the tent) with a shower. The attention to detail is what really blew me away. In the room, there was water, coffee, towels, shower caps, toiletries, bug spray, and a blow dryer. Everything you could need! We went out on our first afternoon safari drive with Stephen who is phenomenal. He pretty much found us our big five within the first two drives we were there! Each night for dinner, one of the staff members hosted us. So we got Stephen the first night, Gavin himself the second night, and my personal favorite Jared. Aside from a drive into Kruger with Jared, (who is by the way, a gem. Funny, knowledgeable, and sweet) most of our drives were with Lyam. Lyam is an excellent guide. He is so intent on pleasing his group. He REALLY tries hard to get you to see the animals you want to see. As I mentioned, each night we had dinner hosted around a campfire. These dinners were phenomenal. All the food at Tydon is top notch FYI. Some of the food we ate there was better than the fanciest restaurants I've eaten at. The whole experience was, as I said, life changing. Please do not pay attention to the low amount of reviews compared to some of the other camps. You will NOT be disappointed if you pick Tydon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the smaller camp that's actually inside Sabi Sands. You'll never know if a leopard might saunter in for dinner. The fire pit makes for great post-safari drinks and laughs, along with tales of the bush. Having your own shower is a plus, but be careful should you want to take a hike outside the camp to get to the pool without a guide...there are lions out there!

Room Tip: All are great. We had a middle one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicoklanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Tydon Bush Camp in late August 2013 for four nights. We had been on Safari a couple of times before, so we knew how important choosing the right camp, with the right guides was. Tydon bush camp was exactly right for us: all the experience of a tented camp in the middle of the bush but with comfy beds and a perfect hot shower! Debbie was our main guide and her enthusiasm for the wildlife and being a host made our stay an amazing experience. We saw the big five over the four days and had some amazing close up experiences, without at any point feeling we were disturbing the wildlife (I have experienced that elsewhere before, and trust me, if your driver annoys an elephant you'll know!!). The whole setup from first enquiry to the lift back to the airport with Gavin was spot on. Thank you to all the team for making our stay special. Bottom line, don't make the mistake of staying in Kruger, stay here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KeirLivesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and stayed at Tydon Bush Camp for 3 nights-4 days. Tydon Bush Camp is located inside of Sabi Sands Private Game Reserve (part of Kruger national park but you are allowed to drive off-road and get super close to the animals). This tented camp is truly the ultimate private bush experience. With only 3 tents (max of 6 guests), 1-2 guides, and 2 ladies in the kitchen its basically your own private Bush camp. We were there with one other guest and had a blast! The game drives are every morning and evening with plenty of time during the day to relax, read a book, take a nap (nice way to recover from jet lag), etc. Our guide was Debbie and she was awesome! She was super fun and super knowledgable! We saw tons of amazing animals (cheetah, leopard, elephant, rhino, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, etc). The only thing we didn't get to see were the lions- but we heard them growling one morning-so cool!!!
The camp itself is small, but exactly what we were looking for. The tents are fabulous (beds, dressers, nightstand/lamps, fan, air conditioning, tile shower, toilet, etc). It was by far the nicest tent we've ever stayed in! The food was excellent and extremely plentiful- breakfasts included- pancakes, omelets, ham, muffins, fruit salad, toast, etc- lunches included chicken wraps, sandwiches, and dinner was usually meat, salad, 2-3 sides, dessert, and drinks! We were stuffed after every meal:)
Tydon Bush Camp is a truly unique place with wonderful staff! Gavin and his wife, the owners, have thought of everything! From the first email contact I had with them to our drop-off at the airport- everything was perfect. I absolutely recommend staying at the Bush Camp- it was a once-in-a-lifetime trip and the best vacation we have ever had!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
15.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
427 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
520 reviews
12.7 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
342 reviews
12.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
446 reviews
11.5 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tydon Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tydon Bush Camp

Address: Sabi Sand, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: £116 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tydon Bush Camp in Sabi Sand Game Reserve. Tucked away in the southern part of the world-renowned Sabi Sand Private Game Reserve is our exclusive Tydon Bush Camp. The intimate Tydon Bush Camp is located inside Sabi Sand, which shares unfenced borders with the world-famous Kruger National Park in South Africa. This tranquil tented safari camp is ideally situated within one of the best game viewing areas of the prestigious Sabi Sand Reserve. Set within the Greater Kruger Park, our easily accessible, yet private bush camp awaits you. Accommodation at Tydon Bush Camp is in four comfortable tented-rooms with en-suite bathrooms. These semi-luxury permanent tents provide an authentic African bush experience in understated, traditional safari style. Each canvas tent is tucked away in the bush on a raised wooden platform, offering guests privacy. Every tented-room has its own little deck area, featuring a camping table and chairs for relaxing in nature. Guests can choose between tents with double beds or twin beds, all with en-suite bathrooms fitted with a basin, toilet and shower. These air-conditioned tents are equipped with side tables, bedside lamps, hairdryers and tea and coffee making stations. This completely private bush camp features an outdoor dining boma set around a campfire, for lantern-lit evenings under the stars. There is also a thatch-roofed dining lapa for serving meals indoors. The dining lapa is a combination of brick, canvas and thatch, and includes a comfortable lounge area.Guests can relax and enjoy the peaceful natural setting from the viewing deck, nestled in the indigenous vegetation at camp. At Tydon in Sabi Sand we ensure that you enjoy a safe and undisturbed safari experience, by only allowing children over the age of 16 to stay at the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tydon Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing