We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve(Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve)
US$2,371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$2,266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Londolozi Private Game Reserve(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,865
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,847
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Umkumbe Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ulusaba Safari Lodge(Ulusaba Private Game Reserve)
US$1,194
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$2,348
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve(Inyati Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Simbambili Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands River Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
244
11
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
11
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssabi sabiwatering holesafari experienceoutdoor bathgame drivesindividual hutswonderful experienceprivate patioearth lodgesmall lodgeincredible knowledgeintimate experienceoff roadsouth africaon a daily basisknew howwalking safari
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at Selati For two nights after spending two nights at Little Bush Camp. While we preferred Little Bush because it was more intimate, Selati was very beautiful and we loved our time there. The deck looking out on to the water hole was special and we enjoyed watching the animals. We especially want to thank Craig and Zeb for making our game drives such a wonderful experience. We got to see all the animals we were hoping to see plus many more.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JessSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hands down, by far the most amazing and intimate experience you can have among people and animals. I went 7 months ago and still can't stop talking about it. I took over 4000 pictures, saw amazing animals thanks to our guide (can't recall his name sadly) and tracker Mike. I learned so much, the food and entertainment was spectacular, the lodging was beautiful - canopied beds and outdoor showers with an old rail road theme. But the people who worked there and the animals we saw were incredible. To experience them here puts every zoo to shame. There are literally no words to describe it. I came here as a client incentive trip w my best friend but already returning in a year later. All the lodges in Sabi Sabi are great and they co-mingle staff for events like Bomas and to help everyone see as many animals as possible.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank JReyna09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here in June 2013 for two nights in group of 6 family members. This was our one and only safari camp in South Africa, and our 4th safari camp on our trip, and we loved it. The cabins were quaint, British style with colonial decor. Bathrooms large, but not very updated or well lit. We were used to "tented" suites, so this was different. There was wifi in the common area. I liked that the camp was small and doesn't get huge groups on tours like its sibling, Sabi Bush camp, but Bush camp looked a lot more updated and had a nice gift shop if that sort of thing is important to you.
Food was terrific here. Best granola in all of southern Africa is made in house. Great breakfasts, continental type spread plus eggs and more made to order from menu. Great dinners! One night we dined outdoors in a covered area at a long, group table with the few other guests who were there and two of the guides and the manager. The chef made a terrific meal. Guests choose their entree. It's chilly at night in June. There is a pool, but the water was too cold to swim in June.
Guide Zwa was very, very knowledgeable. We learned a lot from him. We asked lots of questions, and he was great answering them for all age groups in our family group, from 12 to 75. Plenty of cheetahs in Sabi, which we hadn't seen in Botswana or Zambia. We ended up skipping our sundowners one evening to keep watching a young female leopard unsuccessfully chase guinea fowl up trees, hunting. Then we stayed with her after dark watching her hunt other animals. Beautiful terrain in Sabi area with elevation changes unlike Botswana. Great to be able to go off road, which is not allowed in most national parks such as Kruger, I'm told. We didn't visit Kruger. In Sabi, the guides make sure there aren't too many vehicles crowding around a site, which is good. Some huge elephants here, and big cape buffalo. Saw a white rhino while driving from air strip to camp with our guide. Saw another the next day on a game drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmbdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Selati Camp is one of the camps in Sabi Sabi Game Reserve. Each camp has it's purpose. Selati Camp is a small camp, but that does not mean that it is not on a 5 stars level. Food, beverage, service and installations are on a 5 stars level. It is small and calm. I think it is one of the most authentic safari experiences. We were there with 12 guests in total making 2 jeeps for safari. These 2 jeeps don't drive together. There is WiFi near the outside lounge, bar, terrace. No TV and that is for me quiet positive. Children permitted from 12 years onwards and for me also that was one of the reasons to choose this camp. Bush Lodge although is a lot bigger with TV and children permitted. Bush Lodge is the 5 stars with bigger installations.
Dinner is organized in the Booma, romantic seated by 2 on the terrace or all guest around a common table with the rangers. Like I already mentioned; The food is outstanding. Most beverages are included : Lots of bottled water, soft drinks, wine of the house, beer.
Also de anti mosquito spray is available and included. It is really one of the best and we didn't used our private spray.
We made safaris with 6 guests/jeep. The jeep is really very comfortable, but of course you do go off road. We saw the big five from the first safari onwards, but it should be a shame to only point that out. We saw a lot more of animals; wild dogs ( very rare to see ), wild beast, impala, hyena, kudu, some precious birds, etc ... Our rangers, Michael and Donald, were outstanding. Not only in searching for game, but explaining things about nature, open for each question, good guides.
The Spa installation are in Bush Lodge and a 10 minute drive will take you overthere.
We also did the savanna walk. Organized with 2 rangers for 6 people. Really advice able to do so. Also the ethic village trip is interesting with a visit to the school, which is sponsored by Selati Camp, so part of our payment for the trip is transferred to the school.

Everything is well organized. May be a advice : Because the safaris are in the morning at 6:00am and afternoon at 4:00pm it is may be advisable not to start the holidays with this part, because after a flight of 10 hours or more it could be a bit exhausting starting the next day at 5:30.
And another advise : Use a flight for transport from Johannesburg and not by car. The flight took us 1 hour, the car drive would take 6.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

From the moment we arrived at the reserve, we were greeted by Brett and his staff who were most welcoming. One immediately gets the impression they are going to experience something very special. The lodge itself is so tastefully decorated, the rooms beautiful and rustic at the same time. no tv's , no piped in music, just nature at its finest. The staff are warm, professional and made us feel important. Our waiter for meals, Ephraim, was kind and most helpful. the meals were all delicious!
The safari itself is not to even be imagined. Our guides, Craig and Zeb are a formidable team. Craig is such an intelligent, passionate young man with an enormous amount of knowledge. He was eager to share with us everything and we lapped it up. From birds, to chameleons , to insects, to driving us to a chase between a leopard and a poor impala( the leopard won!), to explaining the digestion of different animals, mating habits, vision , hearing etc, the adventure was thrilling! We actually saw another kill the next day between a lion and a hare. Craig explained that to actually witness a kill is very rare and we happened to get very lucky!!Craig and Zeb were as excited as we were!
Zeb is a fine man who has learned tracking from his late father. His senses are keen, precise and he was determined to make sure we got to witness some amazing things. Craig and Zeb only work together and to watch them communicate with one another is really something !
This was the trip of a lifetime for my husband and myself. Definitley put this in your bucket list!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzybvmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews