We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Singita Ebony Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve(Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve)
US$2,483
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve(Inyati Private Game Reserve)
US$1,820
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,336
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$648
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$602
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,716
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ulusaba Safari Lodge(Ulusaba Private Game Reserve)
US$1,262
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$2,481
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands River Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,809
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Londolozi Private Game Reserve(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umkumbe Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Simbambili Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
198
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergame viewingextraordinary staffprivate poolonce in a lifetimesouth africaluxury safari experiencesabi sandsfield guideafrican experiencestaff went out of their wayluxurious accommodationpersonal attentionwatch elephantsan incredible experiencebeautiful roomevery respect
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days. I've been to nice hotels, including Burj Al Arab, Ritz Carlton. This was better. Amazing rooms... not rooms... houses. Food, location, staff and the animals. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_O_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at this fantastic place for 3 nights in March. I was on a 3 months cruise around the world and one if the excursions that was offered, was this.
I loved every minute if it and these 3 nights/4 days were simply the highligth of my trip.
I cannot put a finger on anything, that was not top class.
I got so much peace in my mind sitting in the Landrover just taking in all the beautyful nature.
This place is a must for everybody that are planning a safari. Here you get the best.
I will do my very best to comeback.
Thank you for making my trip so perfect!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Bearsfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After reading all of the reviews and doing your research, you'd expect an amazing experience. But what you can't imagine is how welcomed you will feel by the extraordinary staff. Everyone has a gentle, warm manner and it feels like all they want you to do is to have an incredible experience. There isn't anything forced or formal. It is quiet, casual and luxurious. Every detail from the layout of the gorgeous bungalows, to the bags that are kept next to your door for you to fill with your safari jackets. Every detail is thought out. The food is fantastic. You must pace yourself. You'll be tempted to try everything, especially the baked goods that are different each day.

But you are here for the wildlife and WOW, the wildlife is here waiting for you. Our guide Ricardo and tracker, Lawrence were INCREDIBLE. Not only did we find rhino, lions, cheetah, a leopard, and elephants and more....but it was done with such respect for the animals. We didn't stress them. As a matter of fact they usually didn't even look at us and we were often just a few feet away!!! And we weren't just looking....we were learning. The Land Rovers were so comfortable...even when going off road. (wow, was that exciting!)

Ricardo and Lawrence we spoke of you often during the rest of our trip. We so appreciated having you to introduce us to South Africa. We won't forget that wild drive that ended with us right next to the male lions who yawned and rolled over because their bellies were so full/ Or when you spotted that HUGE rhino and then said, "look two elephants" and we thought your were joking. And when we spotted the lion pride and the male took off after the female and we were speeding along with them! Wow! It was such an adventure.

Agnes, thank you for taking such great care of us. When we opened the bag with the surprise gingerbread we were so touched. Thank you for arranging that and thank you to the chefs and bakers who made us such amazing meals, but especially our private dinner in the library. We loved everything....but especially the spring rolls that we had requested!

And thank you to the sommelier who arranged for the wine tasting and allowed Elizabeth to surprise her Dad with such a special birthday surprise bottle of "Singita" wine.

I know this is a big trip. I know this is a very expensive trip. But there is nothing we have ever done that came close to the pure luxury, the excitement, fun, and memories that we made at Singita.

We thought this was a once in a lifetime trip. But I know we are going back. We have to! And there is no question that we will be staying at Singita. Best wishes to all of the staff and to everyone fortunate to experience Singita Sabi Sand.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lewis Suites. Two bungalows right next to each other closest to the lodge. Perfect for a family and complete privacy in traveling as a couple. Also, the troop of "cheeky" Vervet monkeys loved to hang out in the tree in front of our bungalow and even visited us while we were in our plunge pool! Keep your door locked. They want to raid the mini bar!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had our first African Safari two years ago and, when scheduling this trip, we knew we wanted to end it at Singita Ebony, only this time, we wanted more days there. We were spending three weeks in Africa and ended with 7 nights at Ebony. It didn't disappoint!

Accommodation-wise, Ebony is fabulous. It is decorated in a more old-time, colonial-type flair in oranges and browns, as compared to Boulders, where we had lunch, and Lebombo, where my daughter had just returned with pictures, which appear to be more modern.

The service sets all of the places apart, of course. Everyone makes you feel like you are the only one staying and always calls you by name. A couple of people were still at the Lodge from 2012.

At the airstrip, we were met by our new Guide, Daniella and our new Tracker, Walter. What a great team! Tom, the Lodge Manager met us when we arrived at the Lodge. We talked about our last visit - did he remember or was he making us feel welcome? Didn't really matter - it made us feel great! Then, our butler from last time, Robert, and his wife, Linette, welcomed us. We had requested them and were glad to have them assigned to us again! We couldn’t turn around without either one or the other of them helping to make our time AT the Lodge perfect.

We then met additional staff that would help make our stay marvelous. Chantal, Cheri, even Velma, the Sommelier we had met the last time, came to talk to us. We were taken to our room (which happened to be the same one from 2012 - #6) and then we went back to eat the first of the best meals you could have on Safari!

The Safari drives are as would be expected at a reserve in eastern South Africa. You see the Big Five but that is not what the experience should be about. [IMHO] It is about the beautiful country and people and, believe me, neither disappoint!

The lodge is in an active wild animal area, a sign reminds you as you walk in every day. I saw a Black Mamba with his head in a hole on the walking path to lunch one day. Leopards have walked through the Lodge, even been born under the rooms. Sometimes you see kudu and nyala relaxing on the paths.

The Lodge is also in an active malarial zone. It is essential to start malaria pills before you leave home (if you come from the US) and continue until after you return. DO NOT EVER FORGET THIS. While we were there, we heard about a brother of one of the Trackers, an anti-poaching Ranger at Kruger, who had contracted malaria while we were there, and four days later had died.

I don’t say these things to scare anyone because we have never been afraid when listening to the staff, our Guides and Trackers and reading materials and signs. But to not pay attention is to be stupid.

Room Tip: We have had #6 both in 2012 and 2014. It is a great room with a view of the Sand River. Can't comment on others.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalitaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you were the world's best cruise line...where would you send your guests? Crystal Cruises had several choices for safari locations in South Africa; this was their premier selection. My wife Carol & I loved it. The accommodations are sumptuous, the food epicurean, the staff personal and attentive... and the game drives couldn't have been more exciting and up close and personal. What did we see? Two prides of lions, three leopards, hippos, rhinos, herds of elephants, wildebeests, nyara, birds of all varieties, hyenas, water buffalo, giraffe, zebras. We took 7000 photos in 4 days. Oh, and the guides and trackers are savvy about photo shooting, as well as great naturalists. Plus there is an outstanding selection of items at their shops (unparalleled with anything else we saw in Africa), visits to local villages, evening events. Don't pass this one up. We'll come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews