We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion Sands River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was by far the best service I have ever received while on vacation. The staff set the bar high for any other vacation I now take. Our waiter Jabulani was incredible, every person in the service industry should take a page out of his book. Our guide Mike was also a trip highlight. He knew everything there is to know about the animals, habitat and terrain. There were plenty of areas to relax outside the luxurious rooms, we wish we had more time to enjoy ourselves. We spent one night in the Chalkey Treehouse which was very nice as well. If you're a city dweller like myself be prepared to be a little uncomfortable at first because there are no man made sounds. Once the sun goes down it's just you, the stars and whatever animals decide to check out your area below. At no time were we threatened by anything except our own thoughts about what might be out there. I've never seen stars quite like that and I wouldn't trade the experience for anything. Amazing trip all around!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    48
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
442
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was an amazing experience! We had everything here. The lodge was very nice and very comfortable.
The food was excellent and you could try any hunt of the day.
While you weren't at the game rides you could go to the pools for relaxing or the spa.
Everyday you had 2 game rides for Safari were the first one was at 5:30am and the other one at 4pm. We saw lions, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, elephants, rhinos, crocodile, giraffe, buffaloes, and lots of anthilops. Our guide was Keneth and the tracker was Lenny, they were an excellent team. Whatever you want it to see the looked up for you!

Excellent choice!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quiet luxury with exceptional service and staff. Spent 4 nights and 5 days and wonderful safari lodge. My 6th safari over the past few years and one of the nicest experiences. Had reservations about being too commercial, but that was put to rest immediately. Sabi Sands is an amazing area with respect for all aspects of nature. Very comfortable with friendly staff and guests. A must to visit.

Room Tip: Small intimate lodge; quiet and relaxing. All rooms have amazing views and extremely comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at Lions Sands (2 River, 2 Ivory) and what a treat. It doesn't get better than this. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the staff are incredible and the game viewing in the Sabi Sands exceptional. Having a professional and exceptional ranger & tracker, Ferdie & Rector, made it all the more memorable and special. We've just left, and are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catswhiskers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you are looking for a little bit of luxury with a first class safari experience, you will love the Lion Sands River Lodge. The lodge is an airy, modern facility that still maintains a rustic, natural feel. The villas are are beautifully appointed and the public areas are welcoming--especially the bar area with its big, comfy sofas in front of the fireplace. The food was excellent, with a variety of menu choices. Best of all, the safaris themselves--WOW! The amount of wildlife we saw at such close range totally exceeded the expectations of our extended family group of 8, from ages 25 to 70. Our guides, Ferdie and Rector, were expert trackers and gave us some truly unique and unforgettable experiences, such as seeing a leopard up on a tree limb, feasting on his recent impala kill while hyenas lurked below looking for scraps. Breakfast in the bush was a truly magnificent experience. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamingo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I recently spent three nights and four days at Lion Sands River lodge at the end of a two week tour of South Africa and Zimbabwe. Lion Sands was hands down the highlight of the trip. Every aspect of the lodge was beautifully done, the food was fantastic, the service the perfect balance of attentive but never too intrusive, and the overall professionalism and class of Lion Sands was a joy to witness.

It was clear that every details had been considered to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Our Ranger, Landon and Tracker, Eddie were amazing - we were blown away at how many interactions we witnessed from every animal imaginable! We saw all of the Big Five on our first day - a combination of good luck and amazing skill from Landon and Eddie. Our butler, Abraham was wonderful, so sweet and hard working! The head chef Faith even greeted us upon arrival to find out the details of our food allergies, and then prepared meals to accommodate every single day.

I had said Safari would be a once in a lifetime trip - but I will definitely be returning to Lion Sands again soon!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We recently spent 4 days at the River Lodge. Everything was wonderful and far surpassed any expectations we had. Food was the best we had in So. Africa. Game frequently on menu. Service was great and everyone was super friendly. Wildlife was spectacular.

We would love to go back. It was the highlight of our wonderful trip to Africa!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raulakmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
17.3 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
16.6 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands River Lodge

Property: Lion Sands River Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | (Shaw's Gate Entrance), Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1933, this international award winning private game reserve spans across the world famous Sabi Sand Game Reserve and Kruger National Park. Lion Sands has four lodges; Lion Sands Ivory Lodge & Lion Sands River Lodge (Sabi Sand) and Lion Sands Tinga Lodge & Lion Sands Narina Lodge (Kruger Park). Each has a unique style, but is a reflection of Lion Sands' five-star signature of sophisticated interiors, unique experiences and service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lion Sands River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Sands River Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Lion Sands River Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing