We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simbambili Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five Star”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This lodge was definitely luxury. The facilities were absolutely beautiful. The staff were lovely. The food was gourmet and absolute delicious with lovely choices. The game drives were excellent and fun. I saw all of the big five on the safaris. The tracker and guide were knowledgeable and fun. I can't say enogh about how pleased I was with every aspect of my stay. I would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    27
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
217
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed 5 wonderful days at this fabulous lodge. Very high standard of the facility, the rooms and especially the safari. Very big thanks to Liam and Mamps for fantastic safari. They have a very high knowledge of the animals and the area and a very large commitment. This made our safari unforgettable. Getting to see leopards during all tours were fantastic. For several days we saw leopards and lions were mated. The food was wonderfully delicious and varied. Sitting in the cozy restaurant and see the animals at the floodlit waterhole was wonderful. Will never forget the evening when we saw a rhino during dinner. All staff were very service oriented without being intrusive. This is a place we will come back to

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBGGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I styayed here for 5 nights for the first leg of our honeymoon. Given it was such a speical occasion we spent a lot of time deciding on the lodge. Firstly the Sabi Sands is first rate; it's private, managed well and is full of game we love (esp leopards). So, this was an easy decision to make - the next was the lodge. Simbambili was then the obvious choice in the area - it has first rate service, but no pretentions unlike the look of the other lodges. The loodge is beautiful, the rooms splendid, the food delicious and varied (we esp loved the lunch buffets) and the ebst part are the rangers and trackers. We had Richard and Celebrate and we can't rate them highly enough. They are both very connected to the land they live in and relish showing visitors the wonders of the animals, plant and birdlife round them.
The only thing we'd chnage would be more room to sunbathe as we had glorious weather!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putney_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Simbambilli and LOVED it. We were made to feel very welcome and the place had a relaxed atmosphere for a luxury lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the communal areas and rooms were beautifully decorated and well maintained. It was just a shame that the room balconies were on the wrong side of the rooms to get the sun as it would have been nice to lie out between drives - I imagine this could be a bonus in the head of summer though! The food was excellent and there was not a shortage of opportunities to try it. One night they did a group meal around the Boma (open fire) and another night we were to have a BBQ on the dry river bed but unfortunately high winds prevented this. The game viewing was great - this place is known for its leopards (and we saw lots - maybe to the exclusion of the some of the other animals if I am being really picky but I think this is just because it is what the rangers think the guests find more interesting). Our ranger and tracker were great - liked their responsible mindset and how they worked with the other lodge rangers to make sure the sightings don't get over crowded. Nice touch with the blankets and hotwater bottles on the truck on those cold mornings. Lodge is sat on a wateringhole so can watch the animals from the comfort of your deck. Hope to return one day..

Room Tip: We got upgraded to the waterhole (honeymoon) suite and it was amazing and vast! Huge decked area th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchestergirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Everything about Simbambili from the moment we arrived to be greeted by smiley faces to the moment we departed. Every single staff member went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable and we had everything we needed.... nothing was too much trouble. Every meal was a treat and the chef even made carrot cake after hearing that this is my wife's favourite... great attention to detail!!! The game viewing was priceless... Pierre and Service made a great team and they were always on hand to answer any questions we had regarding the bush... easy to note that they are both passionate about their surroundings. Pierre went beyond the call of duty by giving us a crash course on using our cameras to make sure we took really good pics... a wonderful touch!!! We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Simbambili and it was trully special... A memorable getaway... thank you to everyone for makign a special occassion memorable!!! Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Have done many trips to private camps in the Kruger and this was really my favourite by far. I read all the reviews before so was curious how it would be. Must say the staff were wonderful from our arrival. The rooms are lovely and spacious with the beautiful plunge pool, rather cold for that. Food was excellent, and well planned. We choose to do only the late afternoon/evening drives and skipped the early morning. First night to me was unbelievable what we saw, its that once in a life time experience. Had an excellent ranger and tracker (Pierre and Service) nice company. I like the fact that its a small lodge, so it feels very intimate. Will really go out of my way to recommend it..

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, there are only 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I really don't know where to start with this review. I guess I should probably start from the beginning. Simbambili was the first stop on our honeymoon. We arrived via a flight to Hoedspruit and road transfer to Simbambili. When we arrived at the lodge, we were greeted with fresh hand towels and virtually all the staff came up to the entrance to welcome us. It was close to 3pm and with the first game drive at 3:30pm, they immediately sat us down for lunch and our bags disappeared to our room. They insisted that we not miss the afternoon game drive, which we're very happy we didn't. There's nothing like introducing us to the African wild like chasing a leopard through the bush after dark.

We can't say enough good things about the staff and level of service at the lodge. Pierre, our ranger, spent countless hours talking with us about the different animals and their behaviors in the wild. He was also generous enough to teach me how to use my new Canon camera in manual mode, which made all the difference in the picture quality. If that wasn't enough, he also let me use his lens, which allowed me to capture incredibly close-up pictures of the wildlife. Our trackers, Service, Thomas, and Justice, were able to locate some great animals. I still can't figure out how they picked up on a footprint on the ground going 20 mph in a Jeep. The lodge arranged a private dinner for us in our room on our 2nd night there and our butler, Arnold, could not have provided better service.

For our first few game drives, my wife and I were the only 2 people in the Jeep. Even when a few other people joined us, it still felt like a very intimate setting. In terms of the animals, it felt like we saw everything. Multiple leopards (and leopard cubs), a pride of 7 lions walking right by the Jeep, rhinos, buffalos, elephants, hyenas (some of which woke us up in the middle of the night), monkeys (who ran across our deck), giraffes, zebras, eagles, wild dogs, wildebeests, a porcupine, jackals, hippos, and more impala than we could count.

We cannot express enough gratitude to the staff at Simbambili. They made our honeymoon truly unforgettable. A special thank-you to Pierre and Arnold for making us feel like part of the Simbambili family. We will no doubt be returning soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
6.4 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
4.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbambili Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbambili Game Lodge

Property: Simbambili Game Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbambili Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simbambili Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbambili Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Simbambili Game
Simbambili Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing