We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting and unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simbambili Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Simbambilli for the last four days of our honeymoon and what an experience! When we arrived..we were initially the only ones at the lodge and during our stay more and more guests arrived. Throughout the entire time, it was always such a personalized and wonderful experience. From our amazing tour guide and tracker - Richard and Celebrate, to our butler and the rest of the staff, everyone was so nice and very accommodating. The game drives were incredible, we saw all of the Big 5 and so much more. Richard and Celebrate were on a mission to make sure that we saw it all, tracking prints, following up on leads, etc. We loved the variation of food throughout our stay, how we were always eating dinner in different locations (including a romantic dinner in our room on our first night), and just relaxing and staring at the gorgeous views and animals at the watering hole behind our lodge. This was truly an unforgettable and very special experience. This was our first safari and we would not have changed a thing!

Room Tip: We were in Lodge 1 which was perfect for us, because we were happy to be as close as possible to the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Simbambili Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We want to come back. This was the best part of our entire trip. Our tracker (Mumps) and Richard (ranger) were exceptional. On one day they managed to have us view all of the Big 5 as well as painted dogs. On another day we saw a cheetah. We saw both the black and white rhino as well as many elephants, hippos, zebras, wildebeest, impalas, birds and so on. Katherine in reception was always there to greet us after safari with a warm cloth to wipe off the dust. Meals were good, and the last one in the bona was great. We enjoyed trying the African dishes and found them to be very tasty. They surprised my spouse with a birthday cake and our cabin was decorated for the occasion. The wild ride to watch the leopard was something I will never forget. All in all an experience that one must do during their lifetime or you will miss so much.
If you want to have an experience ride in the back seat of the jeep. At times it can be an uplifting experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We flew from Johannesburg to a nearby landing strip where we were picked up by the lodge, so an easy commute.
The lodge is small - 8 suites, so an ideal size. Each suite is private from the others and has its own plunge pool on a large wooden deck. The rooms were spacious and well equipped.
Best of all was the service and professionalism shown by the staff. Reinas looked after the bar and catering and quickly learned our preferences, while our ranger Pierre and tracker Service, displayed excellent knowledge of the game and surrounds.
Meals were mixed between a boma, dry river bed and dining area opening out over the dry river bed. There was also a good mix of options for each meal. The food overall was superb.
Great all round.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a magic place. The trip was wonderful, the staff was perfect, especially our ranger. We saw all the big five and much more. The room was very nice, beautiful and confortable. At the last night they made us a surprise: a romantic dinner in the room, with flowers, candles and a champagne. The only thing that was not good was the food, it was OK, but I was expecting more. I do not recomend the walk safari. I did it, and I saw a black manba, the most dangerous snack in whole africa, it was just 1 meter beside me. Another thing: I took a 3 hours ride to get to the lodge and the road was not that good, but it worth.
I recomend! It was one of my best trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We loved Simbambili - the staff is wonderful, the food is amazing and the experience was one of the best we have ever had. We highly recommend this place! A special thanks to our ranger Pierre and tracker Service - they gave us a great experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy_Jamie296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

we are a family of six (all adults now) and had never been on safari. Our time at Simbambili was magical, from the moment we arrived and were greeted with vanilla-scented towels to wash off the weariness from our travels. It was luxurious from beginning to end - the rooms, the food, the staff - everything was exceptional. Our guide, Pierre, and tracker, Service, are the best - they made sure we saw all the animals that live in the area, even the elusive cheetah. It was just incredible. A trip of a lifetime.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank annecw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is one of the best game lodges I have stayed in - what a wonderful way to spend Christmas! The accommodation is superb, with each spacious air-conditioned room having it's own verandah with plunge pool and "sala". The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. The game viewing was quite the best we, as a family, had experienced - wild dogs with their pups within a few feet of the vehicle, a pack of hyenas, with small ones also next to our vehicle - one being curious enough to come up to the tyres and try to figure out how to eat them! We had elephants at the water hole in front of the lodge verandah and some very close and just opposite our room. The younger members of the family saw a black rhino on a walk in the bush with the Ranger, who was absolutely superb and so knowledgeable. Needless to say, we also saw all the other Big 5, and lots more. The staff were all wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. A fantastic holiday, and the only downside was the drive to and from the lodge. We were a family of 9 and were taken from Dullstroom to Simbambili by bus and the last almost 2 hours was on a very uncomfortable unmade road. We would love to go again, but I think it would be best to fly by small aircraft rather than have such a long drive. Well done everyone at Simbambili for being such wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are of the same very high standard.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
6.4 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
4.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
840 reviews
13.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
501 reviews
10.9 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbambili Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbambili Game Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,038 - £1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbambili Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simbambili Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbambili Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Simbambili Game
Simbambili Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing