We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lodge - Thoroughly recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Lodge - Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We spent part of our honeymoon at Arathusa (Nov 07) and came to the lodge with very high expectations based on previous reviews on this site. We were not disappointed and had an absolutely amazing time! If you are looking for an excellent lodge with personable, friendly staff in an idyllic location and want to see the Big 5 - this is where you need to come - we cannot recommend this highly enough.

Within 3 hours of being at the lodge we had seen all of the Big 5 and had repeated sightings during our 3 day stay. I expected to see most of them but at a distance through binoculars, so was pleasantly surprised when they were just 10ft away - awesome! The lodges are all positioned around a watering hole and during our stay we also saw both Elephants and Rhino come down to drink. The resident hippo were also fantastic.

The lodges are of an excellent standard, the staff (particularly the rangers & trackers (Jacques and Roy) are exceptionally informative and friendly and the hospitality is great.

The other thing that is not mentioned in their online "sales" pitch is that they have the authority to traverse an enormous amount of bush compared to their competitiors. This obviously gives them the advantage and is one of the main reasons why their sighting success rate is so high.

Arathusa in our eyes is not cheap but it is worth every penny and if you are considering going on safari in the Sabi Sands then you need look no further - book here and you will have one of the best experiences of your life.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Evening food
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SVBVDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    106
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
117
519
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

An amazing private game reserve. The accommodation was fantastic, very classy with massive en-suite bathroom / dressing room. Beds were comfortable and the furniture was all very much in keeping. Beds were turned down with flowers and chocolates each night, and made in the morning before we returned from our drives. The food was always good and the bar bill very reasonable.

The hosts, Brendon and Michelle, along with the rest of the team, really made every effort to make our stay as memorable and enjoyable as possible. We stayed for 4 nights (8 drives) and had the most amazing time. The knowledge from the rangers was spot on and with a good mix of people, both the driving and walking safaris were very enjoyable. We saw everything and more than we could have hoped for.

I would return to Arathusa in an instant. If you are wanting personal service, quiet game reserve, lots of animals, very comfy lodge and highly experienced rangers, at an affordable priceI wouldn't hesitate to recommend Arathusa.

  • Liked — Absolutley everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charley2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this lodge in September 2007. It was a truly magical time, all the staff were extremely helpful, well mannered and very attentive. Special thanks to our ranger Ryan and tracker Morris, both of whom made our game viewing a magical experience, seeing all the big 5 in only 2 game drives! We saw so many animals, more than we could have ever imagined, it was amazing, I cannot stress how wonderful our time there was, if you do get the chance to go on a safari you really must stay here! The lodge itself is fabulous, rooms are lovely, I really cannot say how much we enjoyed our experience it was truly marverlous, our hosts were lovely, the lodge stunning, being able to open the doors to our veranda in the morning and see elephants & giraffe to name but a few feeding at our lake was beautiful - highly recommended, would definitely go back. We stayed 3 nights though could have happilly stayed more - enjoy!!!

  • Liked — View of lake from our room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MrandMrs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

I have just come back from staying 17 days in southafrica. We stayed the last 2 days in Arathusa Safari Lodge. The location is wonderfull, the staff incredibly helpfull. I cannot say anything wrong because everything was perfect. even our vegetarinan food meet all our expectatives. Finally we could see leopards properly as in kruger park it is difficult to see them good as they hide very well. Although in sabi sand the game is less than in kruger park , the trackers and rangers go off road so maybe you see less animals but you see them completely and in a fabolous view.

High comfort, wonderful place,, sweet staff A DREAM!!!!!. We paid about 1500 rands per person per night. but I think the place deserves that.

  • Liked — everthing
  • Disliked — maybe they have to think about saving some water and energy, everything is so nice that they even change the towels twice a day, but for me it means that things like that cause damage to the environment and I think the hotel should let the guest know that they can save water and contaminate less if guest do not require this sort of things.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Everything about the Arathusa was amazing. The game drives were fabulous, the location was outstanding, the staff so delightful. Our ranger Ryan Johnstone made the whole experience unforgettable with his knowledge, kindness and great sense of humor.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

An eden in South Africa with unparalleled service,comfort.
Good value for money given pricier options nearby.
Game drives were the highlight with excellent rangers/trackers
and sightings of the BIG 5.
Definitely recommend this place

Arthi & Dharshan ,manchester

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2007

We spent 4 nights at Arathusa and can't possibly list all of the wonderful things about our visit. Accomodations were lovely. Recently upgraded bathrooms have walk-in showers and separate tubs. There are also private outdoor showers. Beds were comfy and the mosquito netting made for a romantic look, though not necessary since rooms have AC (much needed during our stay!) and we had no problem with bugs. The pool was a great place to relax and read during the day. There is a lake in front of the property which has resident hippos and crocodile, and lots of other animals visiting for a drink. It was amazing to watch 7 elephants come down one night for a bath.
Meals were excellent.

The whole point of our visit, the game viewing, was spectacular! Repeated viewings of the big 5. We were able to get soooo close to the animals. The ranger, Mike, was exceptional in accomodating all guest preferences and requests, making sure even those staying just a night or 2 had great sightings. I think the highlight of this trip was the leopard sightings. We saw leopard every day, including one dining on a young kudu it had dragged up a tree. The hyenas waited below for leftovers.

We may not return for a few years, but we will definitely be back!

  • Liked — The game viewing, and everything else
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank OnIslandTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
826 reviews
4.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
443 reviews
9.6 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing