We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

After an extremely long NY winter, Arathusa helped me find the spring within me. I'm refreshed and excited about life, fascinated by all life, intrigued by nature, and warmed by the kindness and welcoming nature of such beautiful former strangers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EStalzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    100
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
492
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for our first three night in SA. The journey from the UK was long and the 3 hr. drive from Nelspruit airport over potholed surfaced roads and poor condition dirt roads was exhausting. However, once we arrived it was all worthwhile. The staff were helpful, the food was generally excellent (we had one less good meal), the room was very good and the game drives were very productive.

Room Tip: get a room fairly close to the central dining area if you feel uncomfortable about walking through a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian675738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had put Arathusa at the end of our South Africa trip, save the best for last - and were rewarded by not only all the Big 5 but also Giraffes, Zebras, Hippos, Gnus, Impala (lots of them) and many many other beautiful creatures. Our ranger was extraordinary informative, and besides one of the nicest person you can imagine. So was his tracker, they do everything possible to give you the best adventure imaginable. Food and accomodation were amazing, stuff hospitable and polite. If there is a chance, I will go back. For sure. Thanks Sean, Rifus and the rest of the crew.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, book the luxury rooms at the far end of the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perchtoldsdorf, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This has been our third visit to Arathusa. After all the great experiences of the recent years we have become addicted to the beauty of the place, to the water hole in front of the very comfortable houses, to the professional staff. The absolute highlight, however, are the game drives. As before, we were introduced both to the flora and fauna of the bush on an extremely high level, special thanks to Sean and Rifos ! Again four unforgettable days, our expectations were fulfilled in every respect, hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Luxury Chalets are nice, however in remote location, it may take more than five minute walk to the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNikolics49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have just completed a fantastic four days with Vernon and the team. It has been a terrific experience - not just the excellent accommodation and food but great service and very friendly staff. There is an abundance of game to see and the Rangers and Trackers are extremely knowledgeable and experienced. The right balance of a true safari experience but in a great environment is wonderful. The passion for the guest experience is clear. Thanks to all the team and our great friends Dries and Derrick - we saw the Rhinos!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in arathusa and were very impressed with the very high standard of accommodation, food, service,location and friendliness of all the staff. Nelson certainly brightens your day at mealtimes, so helpful. Our first breakfast wasn't as it should be but I think that was a one off as all other meals and service were superb. Particularly loved eating in the ' Boma' and the lamplit dinner on the deck-magical! We did have a problem with another guest on our game drives which the ranger did not handle well but as soon as the manager knew of the situation he dealt with it promptly and sincerely and has made amends in most gracious way. I would love to return to arathusa and would recommend it as part of your South African safari experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great lodge with bungalows that have excellent views over the watering hole. Very large rooms and comfortable beds. The bathroom did have a constantly bad smell after one flush of the toilet but it wasn't such a bad smell that it permeated too far into the room but it was a little annoying. The front porches were such a nice place to have a drink anytime of day.

The common areas were very nice with a small swimming pool and nice library area.

The meals were very large and superb. I was very impressed with the quality of the food here but beware you have to be ontime as we were 15 minutes late for lunch one day and they had removed our chairs and utensils.

The game drives were superb with excellent guides and trackers. They really knew the property well and were extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife including the birds.

I don't think the luxury rooms provide that much more except for private pools.

If you are booking on your own make sure to ask about car and air transfers, as the small plane transfer was not that much more then the car and saved us a lot of time.

Room Tip: The room near the spa is very nice because it is on the end of the watering hole and at night only h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlesThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
16.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
2.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing