We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Experience!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christiana, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Experience!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

From the manager to the staff, everyone made our stay there an experience of a lifetime! Our Ranger, Roy and Tracker, Chris were exceptional in finding animals. I thought they must have eyes in the back of their heads. Everyone had a smile on their face all the time so they thoroughly enjoyed their jobs. The meals that were prepared for us, and sometimes served out in the bush, the chef excelled in his culinary expertise. The setting excelled anything I could have imagined for a safari. We weren't roughing it by any means but had to keep in mind that the animals roamed free and could and did sometimes come onto the property at night. They kept us safe and showed us the most wonderful experience, one I won't soon forget. Thanks for making a dream come true!!

Room Tip: The standard rooms faced the watering hole and had a view of the animals. The more expensive rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    102
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
113
502
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Easton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had chosen the luxury room and was well worth it, yes the walk was a little more but the quite was great ,besides after all the eating we do the walk was needed. The Chalet was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. The food was good the people fantastic our guide Rein and tracker DeBeers were great and loads of fun Saw the big 5 in 2 hours on one of our drives and in total 4 different times.Rein totally enjoys his job and makes you feel you have been friends for ever. If I can ever get back to South Africa Arathusa will be on my list of lodges Thank you to all.

Room Tip: luxury rooms are beautiful and well worth the walk we had waterbuck aroud our room most days
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJD180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The staff was the best. The chef excelled; he loved his job and the food was fantastic. Dinners around campfires and breakfast were served in the bush. I was privileged to have Sean and Rifus for a guide and tracker. They were the best at everything they did and made game drives thrilling. I saw more animals than I ever dreamed I would see. This stay was A #1 in every way possible.

Room Tip: The rooms around the lake provide the best view of animals, especially hippos and impala. We also s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

You couldn't make a better choice than Arathusa. We stayed three nights and not one of our six game drives was less than spectacular. Our guide and tracker, Sean and Rifos were great. It was an education just watching them working together to find the rhino or leopard or whatever was in the area. We stayed at another camp in a different reserve later in our trip. My wife compared those game drives to our drives at Arathusa as "the difference between tracking the game and just driving around looking for animals." Sean is like an Eagle Scout with all the good merit badges. He not only educated us about the animal and plant life but taught us a little astronomy on the evening drives.
And then there's the camp. Our "standard" cabin was actually pretty luxurious and we never tired of watching the animals across the waterhole from the windows. Food was quite good and the service was all you could wish for. We were sorry to go when our stay ended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Magical, amazing and fantastic are verbs describing the last 3 reviews before ours. Let us tell you that these do not fully reflect how perfectly this lodge delivers. Yes it is expensive but yes you get great service, great lodges, good food & wine, brilliantly knowledgeable game drives (thanks Rian and Adam) and good company from around the world (thanks USA Steve, Diane and Canadian Sue).

Try everything possible if you can; the drives, the walks, the food.....feed the catfish by the Hippos, watch the kingfisher diving by the Impala and WaterBuck, eat breakfast and dinner ( May need a 4 night stay to do this) in the bush at sunrise and sunset and then relax at midday with a beer by the pool.

I was ill after side effects from Malaria tablets but still was looked after like a King!

Room Tip: Choose standard lodges and you should be by the water hole as the luxury ones are quieter but a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Arathusa Safari Lodge is located in a private game reserve outside of the Kruger National Park. We stayed in a luxury lodge for four nights. These are more remote from the main centre and although without a lake side view are large, well equipped, private and surrounded by bush. The game drives, with our knowledgeable Ranger Roy and Tracker Chris, were absolutely magical. The morning drive in time quite often to see the Sun rise with the afternoon drives continuing into the darkness. We saw all of the big five and many more, driving off track and at times ducking under branches as we tracked the animals.
We really enjoyed the communal aspect of the drives and meal times. The food, which was quite often announced in person by the chef, was superb. We were fortunate enough to enjoy one evening meal away from the main centre, located in the bush with an open fire and lightning provided by oil lamps.
The Arathusa Safari Lodge provides an outstanding service and is highly recommended.

On a word of caution the security at Arathusa was excellent however if like us you take the connecting flight from Johannesburg to Hoedspruit and carry valuables in your cabin sized luggage. Ensure this is locked in case like us you are suddenly informed that this has to travel in the hold. No such restriction was made on the return journey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Arathusa for 3 nights in April, as a young couple. We were lucky enough to see leopards 4 times, as well as all the big 5. The game drives were by far the highlight for us. Our tracker Derek and guide D were great, very knowledgeable but also fun. You could tell they really loved what they were doing. It was great to feel like we learned something from them. We loved the intimate atmosphere, great service, food, and felt very well taken care of. Our room was also very nice. We also really enjoyed socializing with other guests at the pool and during meals. We chose a normal room so we would have a view, and just went to the communal pool. The superior rooms have private pools. The one thing that could have been improved was the quality of treatments at the spa. I got a facial, massage, and manicure, and my husband got a massage. The setting of the spa and the service were amazing though, so we didn't really mind. We flew from JNB to HDS and then had a car transfer. The transfer took 1- 1.5 hrs and was actually really interesting. We saw some animals, and a little of the country, and spent the whole time getting a history lesson from our driver. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
16.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
2.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing