We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our First Safari and it was Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arathusa Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our First Safari and it was Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our stay at Arathusa Safari Lodge was wonderful. The accommodations were comfortable and quiet. The food was very good. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, the lunches and dinners were full meals, well prepared and tasty. The rangers and trackers were fun to be with and made our visit most enjoyable. We had multiple encounters with the “Big 5” and many, many other animals. We had a cottage overlooking the pond and were able to sit on our front porch and watch the animals. A wonderful trip.

Room Tip: The cottages overlooking the watering hole make for a great time sitting on the front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingM-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    99
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
484
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a first trip to Sabi Sand Reserve. We had a cottage overlooking the watering hole which was fantastic! There were always animals to view. The hippos tend to make some noise at night which adds to the bush experience! Rooms are very spacious, comfortable beds, ammenities and loved the outdoor shower. Large male elephant came charging across the watering hole area upon arrival. We saw the Big Five on our first game drive thanks to our great "double D team", Dries and Derrick. Seriously awesome guide and tracker and so much fun! They can find the leopards!!! All of our drives with them were fantastic and beyond expectations. They have an enthusiasm that is contagious. The food is excellent. Enjoyed the bush dinner and the bush breakfast. We had meals at different locations which was really fun. the staff had a birthday cake for a guest and everyone shared in singing and enjoying the cake. The staff are so warm, friendly and helpful. Winnie and Penny are great and I love the spa and my massage from Winnie. She is a gem! thanks to Vernon and the entire staff for a memorable bush experience!

Room Tip: I like the standard rooms that overlook the watering hole and are an easy walk to the main lodge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon in S Africa and started our trip by doing safari in Sabi Sand Reserve first for 2 nights. We stayed in the luxury room Jackalberry which is the closest luxury room to the main area (right next to the Spa). Heads up-the rest of the other luxury rooms are farther from the main area. It was fantastic- room faced the watering hole with its own pool outside the room. The room itself was large and quite nice -very comfortable bed! The food from breakfast, lunch and dinner was all VERY good. Booked a couple's massage at their Spa and it was so relaxing. The service and staff were top notch. The day we arrived in time for the late afternoon game drive then went on 3 more drives and got to see the Big 5 + many more. Our guide was Rein and tracker Professor. They were awesome. Rein is very knowledgeable and makes you feel very comfortable off the bat. We had some amazing experiences in the short time we were there thanks to Rein and Prof. Please say hi to Rein from Team America!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LB_0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lodge and rooms lovely and grand. Everything worked. Clean and comfortable. First dinner at the water hole. Rooms overlook the waterhole. First day saw male elephant charge the length of waterhole...on other side...thankfully. First game drive with Dee and Derrick we knew we were in good hands and for some thrilling drives. Leopards on all six drives. Dee and Derrick found mating leopards by their audio. They walked off in the bush, then Derrick continued to track to direct Derrick to exact location. Dee was willing to sit and listen to the bush. Dee is professional photographer so would set us up for perfect shots of animals. Saw the big five and so much more. First night hippos serenaded us as we stayed in standard rooms by the waterhole. Food was delicious and efficiently served. Had breakfast in bush, dinner in the bush ...wonderfully delightful experiences. Would often see multiple animals grazing together....zebras and wildebeests, impalas and giraffes....true bush experience. If I had any expectations they would have far exceeded them. Spa massage by Nicki was exceptional. She worked out my kinks and knotted muscles and relaxed me for a great night's sleep...not that I had any problems sleeping. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms with water hole view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifetimlernr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights ... Saw the big 5
Three separate leapord sightings , post kill and a baby baby leapord! Guides and trackers extremely knowledgeable and friendly Food , very good. Lunch quite late at 2 pm .
Accommodation : first night, rondevel 4 right beside bar area. Could be noisy but our main concern was staff talking as they passed by the walkway. We loved being by the watering hole. In the afternoons you have time just to sit and observe the animals coming and going to the watering hole. Nights 2-4 we had to move to luxury rooms, which are incredibly spacious and private in the bush but quite remote , over 5 minute walk away. Once you were escorted to your room you could not leave at night. Often it was by 830 pm . There is no Wiif out there . We did see Kudus and heard the hippos and leapords at night but wished we could stayed in the standard rooms .
Take toilet paper and hand wipes on the drives. We had some lovely surprise meals out in the bush. But alas no facilities and no warning of this!
Wear earth tone clothes , very annoying to see fellow guests wearing neon jackets and tops when we were meters from the wildlife , at tracking attention.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 56shazza56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our second trip to Arathusa and it was every bit as good if not better than the first time (partly because we brought friends with us this time). We stayed 5 days and saw the Big 5 twice over during that time. Our ranger (Debeer) and tracker (Professor) together with the other rangers and trackers did an excellent job of tracking down the lions as they kept wandering on and off the reserve. We saw lots of different leopards including a brief glimpse of a cub and a wide variety of other animals. The food was good and they varied the eating locations both in camp and out in the bush. The chef also catered for specific dietary requirements. I visited the spa twice for treatments which was very good. I've seen some negative reviews about the spa and yes it isn't 5 star but I would say it's 4 star and great value for money (certainly less than I'd pay in the UK for equivalent). We took the small plan option from Johannesburg arriving into Elephant Plains (Arathusa airstrip was closed for maintenance) and this was well worth the extra cost compared to the 2 1/2 hour taxi by road. It meant we arrived in time to unpack and freshen up before our first game drive. I would definitely recommend Arathusa and would visit again.

Room Tip: The standard rooms overlook the waterhole and provide a great opportunity for watching wildlife duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We loved our time in Arathusa, my husband still uses the book mark from our lodge. We talk about our stay there often. Everyone is friendly and goes above and beyond to make your stay incredible. Food was amazing. Guides were knowledgable and fun. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paisley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
18.5 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.3 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing